We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view over the lake - a must”
Review of Monte Baldo

Monte Baldo
Ranked #1 of 25 things to do in Malcesine
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Skierniewice
Level Contributor
105 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great view over the lake - a must”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Great view over the lake, a must for me in Lago di Garda. Try to go there when the weather is clear, this is most important to see everything. If you are active you can go down by foot or by bike, very nice, recommended! Tickets are quite expensive but definitly worth of it. If you are up go to the end, the great view at north end of lake.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pawel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,749 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,803
    722
    146
    38
    40
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
251 reviews
155 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Malcesine Must Do”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Monte Baldo is a must for visitors to Malcesine. The cable car takes you up to the top, 1800m above sea level and you can take an easy walk to the highest point on the mountain. Lots of snow still there at the end of April but when the sun shines you can enjoy spectacular views of the lake and surrounding mountains. Take a picnic and sit on the grass which is stared with thousands of tiny crocus and just enjoy. Do remember that although it might be warm in Malcesine the top of the mountain is exposed to the wind and can be cold.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank April0304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful views”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We went to the top of Monte Baldo in August, so the temperature was perfect up the top! We ate up there but the food was nothing special at all and overpriced, you get that in tourist areas though. If we had more time we'd probably have walked down, but we did meet some people at the bottom who'd just done it and I was kind of glad we passed, they looked exhausted!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsT12_Aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Amazing trip”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Must be seen - great hikes, breathtaking views ... even a nice restaurant or two! We took the lift up which I recommend and spent the afternoon wondering. Be aware - the temperature is very different at the top - we came prepared but saw others enjoying the climate less!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Duke88190744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful views”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We visitors in mid April and were very lucky to have a sunny day for our trip to the top of the mountain. There was still some snow and the views were a little hidden by mist, but the experience was great and the €19 ticket price for a return cable car ride to the top was well worth it. We were very pleased to be visiting in low season as we have heard the queues in summer can be up to three hours long, but no queues in April!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Angie and James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monte Baldo also viewed

Malcesine, Province of Verona
Tremosine, Province of Brescia
 
Garda, Province of Verona
Riva Del Garda, Province of Trento
 

Been to Monte Baldo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing