We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful food, wine and service”

Al Bacio Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 101 Restaurants in Malcesine
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: We are closed from 16 October 2017 to April 2018. In each of their culinary creations, the chefs of the Restaurant "Al Bacio" - Hotel Castello Lake Front - reinterpret imaginatively some of the most delicious gastronomic specialities, always starting from the very best quality raw materials. The Restaurant Al Bacio is only available with the service "a la carte".Lunch is served from 12 to 2.30 and dinner from 7 to 8.30 pmIn case of booking the table is reserved for 5 minutes after the time booked, then it is considered to be free.
Romsey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delightful food, wine and service”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

We chose the delightful 5 course half board option. The restaurant is split level with a la carte and half board diners eating separately. Both restaurants faced the lake. The a la carte was on a terrace on the first floor. The half board restaurant where breakfast was also served, had full width concertina windows which slid back to give an al fresco feeling to the restaurant. Very warm welcome each night from the owner and easy going conversation. Delicious food with buffet salad bar. Good wine list, lots of advice on local good value wine. Excellent value for money.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hrjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
supertrek, Proprietario at Al Bacio Restaurant, responded to this review, March 8, 2017
Google Translation
Grazie per il feed back. Arrivederci a presto.
Matteo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    67
    14
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Food good, hospitality less so....”
Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

We joined some friends staying in the Castello several times for lunch and drinks during out stay on Lake Garda. Overall the food was excellent. Tasty, authentic and well presented. It wasn't the cheapest place to eat but it was good value. The other major positive was the view which was superb.

The thing that detracted from our experience was the attitude of some of the staff. Overall I got the impression they would rather we weren't there. I'm not sure if this was because we were a relative large (10) relatively young (30ish) group of couples but they didn't really do much to make us feel welcome.

For example we were told not to stand up in the restaurant whilst waiting to leave. They also told some children who were amongst the group that they could not use the small park attached to the hotel as they weren't guests then looked on disapproving as the children got bored in the restaurant.

It was a shame as this is a good restaurant that could be great.

Helpful?
1 Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
supertrek, Proprietario at Al Bacio Restaurant, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Google Translation
We thank the kind guest for the compliments on our cuisine and on the incomparable view of our terrace. We would like to clarify to the readers as well as to any future guests, the following points written in the review here above:
- All customers are welcome regardless age, gender, religion, race, etc. ...
It is not possible for LARGE groups of people to stop and stand up in the middle of the terrace during the service of lunch/dinner, to discuss with friends regardless of other people who dine in close proximity (in the case of this happening, we invite them to take a sit or to return when the service is completed).
Being friends, relatives, acquaintances, neighbors of guests from Hotel Castello does not give them the right to use the services of the hotel: they are of course welcome in public areas, but can not access the areas reserved to paying customers (ie : rooms, beach, car park, ....).
We underline that our insurance only covers guests (and their assets) STAYING in the hotel (not their friends, relatives or children of cousins) and therefore we do not allow, FOR EXAMPLE, people who pass by to play in the park of the hotel or enjoy other facilities reserved for paying guests (if a car is stolen or a child is injured, which has already happened, who would pay or who would be responsible?).
All this is not to be considered as poor attitude towards customers but the opposite: we are very attentive to the privacy of our guests and we always try to create the best atmosphere possible for all the people who have chosen us (both for the restaurant and the hotel).
For the same reason we do not allow anybody to transform the dining room into a playground: the respect of ALL the other customers for us is a must.
Matteo (father of 3 children)

Ringraziando la gentile ospite per i complimenti sulla nostra cucina e l'incomparabile vista della nostra terrazza facciamo notare, a tutti i lettori nonché agli eventuali prossimi clienti, le seguenti precisazioni in merito alle affermazioni/ipotesi sopra mosse:
- Tutti i clienti sono i benvenuti indipendentemente dall'eta', sesso, religione, razza, nucleo famigliare ecc...
Non e' possibile per i grossi gruppi persone fermarsi in piedi, durante il servizio del pranzo/cena, nel mezzo alla terrazza a discutere con gli amici incuranti delle persone che pranzano nelle immediate vicinanze (nel caso ciò accada li invitiamo ad accomodarsi oppure a ritornare quando il servizio e' concluso).
Essere amici, parenti, conoscenti, vicini di casa ….. di clienti del Hotel Castello non da ad essi nessun diritto sui servizi del hotel: essi sono naturalmente i benvenuti nelle aree pubbliche, ma non possono accedere alle aree riservate ai clienti paganti (esempio: camere, spiaggia, parcheggio, parco....).
Rimarchiamo che la nostra assicurazione copre esclusivamente i clienti (ed i loro beni) ALLOGGIATI in hotel (non gli amici, i parenti od i figli dei cugini) e quindi non permettiamo, a titolo ESEMPLIFICATIVO, ai “passanti” di giocare nel parco del hotel o godere di altri servizi riservati agli ospiti paganti (in caso un auto venisse rubata o un bimbo si facesse male -cosa peraltro già accaduta- chi pagherebbe o di chi sarebbero le eventuali responsabilità?).
Tutto ciò non è da considerarsi scarsa attitudine verso i clienti piuttosto il contrario: siamo molto attenti alla privacy ed a creare la giusta atmosfera per i clienti che ci hanno scelto (sia per il ristorante che per l' hotel).
Per lo stesso motivo non permettiamo di trasformare la sala ristorante in un parco giochi: il rispetto di TUTTI gli altri clienti per noi è d'obbligo.
Matteo (padre di 3 figli)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Beautiful food, shame about the waitress.”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

This is our second visit to Malcesine and the third time we went to this resteraunt. The food was as before lovely but on the first visit of this trip we found one particular waitress difficult. We put it down to a long day maybe she was tired. Her manner was rather brittle and made us both feel that she would have preferred us not to be there, although the resteraunt was far from full. I was referred to at all times, in a loud voice as "lady", all the other females in the room were addressed as "madam".We went back this evening and she was there again, yes she smiles but.... We ordered a single course each this time and as mine was a repeat of what I had had a few days before I assumed - foolishly - that it would be the same. However when it came the plate was loaded with Rocket leaves, which I cannot eat. I tried to explain to her in English as the time before she had refused to speak to me in Italian, she only wanted to speak to me in English or German. I know I am not a great linguist but I can work my way through a menu and order food. I had not a hope, fortunately a senior member of staff came along an helped, I was most apologetic and he said it was no trouble at all to change the dish. Our favourite waitress returned and in an horrendously loud voice exclaimed here you are "lady" I am very sure she wasn't labouring under the delusion that I was a member of the British aristocracy. An evening was ruined, I would never go there again. I have never written a review before that was less than complimentary and feel sad that a lovely little establishment with an obviously skilled chef has someone in their front of house with such poor social skills.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank troublesome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
supertrek, Proprietario at Al Bacio Restaurant, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear troublesome,
I would personally like to thank you for the compliments on the food and the establishment, together with the one reserved to our chef Salvatore, who gives his best everyday to guarantee an Italian cuisine at top level.
I am the owner of the restaurant and I am very sorry that you have written this review, as, together with all the staff, I always regard customer satisfaction as most important: I in fact changed the dish you have mentioned at once and with a smile. These misunderstandings with my waitress Aurica are due to her poor knowledge of the english language, certainly not a desire to offend our guests, who we love and are happy to serve.
Regarding the use of the terms “lady” and “madam”, Aurica did not mean for sure to be rude: for her it was normal to refer to german and french ladies with the word “madam”, to italian ones “signora” and to ones from all other nationalities with “lady”. This was certainly without wanting to be disrespectful to anyone.
I have now explained to her the difference between the two terms.
I hope to see you again in our restaurant
Best Regards
Marco Treccani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Excellent food wine and service. Overlooks the lake. Waiters knowledgeable about local wine. Would recommend.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ORoieley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
supertrek, Proprietario at Al Bacio Restaurant, responded to this review, March 8, 2017
Google Translation
Grazie per il feed back. Arrivederci a presto.
Matteo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Garda sunset”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

the view is to die for, so you almost do not notice the food and drink, but they are first class too. Service with a smile...

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank littleDJ2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
supertrek, Proprietario at Al Bacio Restaurant, responded to this review, March 8, 2017
Google Translation
Grazie per il feed back. Arrivederci a presto.
Matteo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Bacio Restaurant also viewed

Malcesine, Province of Verona
Malcesine, Province of Verona
 
Malcesine, Province of Verona
Malcesine, Province of Verona
 

Been to Al Bacio Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing