We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away”

Al Bacio Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 105 Restaurants in Malcesine
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: We are closed from 23 October 2017 to April 2018. In each of their culinary creations, the chefs of the Restaurant "Al Bacio" - Hotel Castello Lake Front - reinterpret imaginatively some of the most delicious gastronomic specialities, always starting from the very best quality raw materials. The Restaurant Al Bacio is available with the service "a la carte". Lunch is served from 12 to 2.30 pm and dinner from 7 to 9 pm.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We were drawn to this restaurant due to the beautiful location next to the castle with a lake view from a terraced balcony. The hotel looked good too. We were first met by a lady who seemed to be working on the hotel desk, and was very pleasant. She handed over to a male waiter, who was the worst waiter I have ever experienced. He was incredibly rude, unaccommodating, and made us feel very uncomfortable. We considered leaving after ordering drinks, but stayed on giving him the benefit of the doubt that he was having a bad day. Things went from bad to worse, however. My partner wanted to try the local trout, which came with a side of boiled potatoes. When asked if she could swap potatoes for pasta (arguably making the dish more Italian...?) she was told "I don't know why you would want to commit such a sacrilege"!! We were both astounded but he continued... "I don't know why you would do this?" he went on... When the food was served, it was simply ok. We had a side salad between us, which we didn't finish. As you can imagine, comments and facial expressions were made when he cleared things away. The restaurant was completely empty at the time, and it's no wonder that the others are full when you compare the service. Avoid the mistake we made after being seduced in with the location and go elsewhere.

1  Thank Will H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
supertrek, Proprietario at Al Bacio Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

What to comment ... sometimes we would also like to say to some guests "stay away", but since we are professionals and we love our work, we simply patience. In the specific case we leave you to judge the quality (cultural and educational) of our expert reviewer (trout with a side of pasta ... and why not a pizza?... it would seem even more "Italian"). Our waiters have never a "worse day" – they can’t afford it - our customers apparently yes.
P.S. Everyone is looking for the classic Italian cuisine: is supposed for enjoy it and not for alter it and make it exclusively touristic.
Matteo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (365)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

105 - 109 of 365 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2013

Outstanding restaurant – Good choice on the menu (allowed one choice from each of the four courses on half board), really exceptional/memorable food, lovely setting and ambience, and excellent service. Clearly a popular restaurant and deservedly so.

Thank luda616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
supertrek, Proprietario at Al Bacio Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2017
Google Translation

Grazie per il feed back. Arrivederci a presto.
Matteo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

My husband and I ate here in September with another couple and the food was delicious and excellent value for money. We all had two courses and a bottle of wine per couple. Afterwards we stayed in the hotel bar to watch a football match and ordered another three rounds of drinks. The cost per couple worked out about £70 which was excellent value, the staff were very friendly and the service was excellent.

Thank JBC72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
supertrek, Proprietario at Al Bacio Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2017
Google Translation

Grazie per il feed back. Arrivederci a presto.
Matteo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We ate two times in restaurant Al Bacio during our holiday in Malcesine at October 2012.
Food was really good and price was very reasonable. They had also great list of local wines. Restaurant was open only 2 hours in the evening.

Thank Reijo_V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
supertrek, Proprietario at Al Bacio Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2017
Google Translation

Grazie per il feed back. Arrivederci a presto.
Matteo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

My partner and I visited this restaurant one evening for dinner whilst staying in Malcesine. We were excited about the meal due to the fantastic reviews on TA, but we were really disappointed.

Yes, the restaurant does have lovely views and the service was great. The waiters are very attentive and made us feel very comfortable. We also really enjoyed the wine, although it was more expensive than the wine we had elsewhere in Italy.

However, the food was not a good standard and other meals in other restaurants in Malcesine far exceeded what we had at Al Bacio. Meat was tough, prawns were from frozen and the pasta was overcooked and swimming in oil. For us, it didn't really represent good Italian food. It seems a shame because we ordered 2 prawn dishes, one came with soggy prawns that had been frozen and the other with fresh king prawns... which shows that they may be capable. Only one of 4 dishes were okay. Although the dishes were slightly cheaper than some other restaurants, the price of the wine made up for this.

I really cannot understand the previous glowing reviews. Perhaps we visited on an off night? (But the couple next to us sent back their prawn dish because it was not up to standard...) Or maybe we were just looking for something different, chips were on the menu and that's not what we want in Italy. Not really an Italian classic...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank BSSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
supertrek, Proprietario at Al Bacio Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Dear Guest,

Further to your post and your stay at our al Bacio restaurant, let me express my most sincere apologies.

I am deeply sorry to read that you did not have a positive experience and I kindly invite you to contact me personally, in order to give me some more details of the negative incidents that have occurred.

Our guests' feedback is in fact an excellent mean for us to improve our level of service.

Despite this, I am happy that you liked our service and the views.

I just let you know that we usually buy one kind of prawns (fresh) and we cook the steak as required (rare, medium or well done). Finally, our pasta is home made (not the industrial one like "Barilla") and, if you are not used to eat it, it may taste "different".
Our winelist (200 different bottles of wine) is consider by the guests very competitive (check the reviews)...but everyone has for sure a subjective idea in what is cheap or expensive.

I send you my best personal regards.

Matteo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Bacio Restaurant also viewed

Malcesine, Province of Verona
Malcesine, Province of Verona
 
Malcesine, Province of Verona
Malcesine, Province of Verona
 
Malcesine, Province of Verona
Malcesine, Province of Verona
 

Been to Al Bacio Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing