We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, location and value”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Garden

Garden
Ranked #62 of 100 Restaurants in Malcesine
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Kessingland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
“Great food, location and value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

We found this hotel almost by accident on our first stroll around Malcesine on the evening of our arrival in the town. It's right at the bottom of one of the main streets in the old medieval town and perched right on the edge of the lake.
I was initially a little sceptical when my wife suggested trying it, because I suspected that, because of it's location in such a prime position, it might have been a bit of an overpriced tourist trap with food of dubious quality. I was most definitely wrong and during our time in Malcesine, we ate dinner at the restaurant on three occasions. On each of these occasions we had food of very good quality and value, served in generous portions, by friendly staff, on their lovely terrace, which looked out accross the lake as the sun set.
There are plenty of very nice places to eat in Malcesine and we tried a number of different restaurants during our stay. Unfortunately, because a large proportion of the towns population is made up of visitors on holiday, the vast majority of the towns restaurants have menus which are remarkably similar, therefore things like, quality of the cooking, friendly service, location and value for money become the factors on which the restaurants are judged. The Garden Restaurant came out with top marks for all of these and was therefore our favourite place to eat during our stay.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GandN896
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    21
    11
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Stalybridge
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Don't let appearances put you off”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

We stumbled on Garden and initially were put off as it didn't look as good as the other restaurants we'd seen in Malcesine...plastic chairs and table. However, the staff were really friendly and welcoming, the food was great. Its location literally on the lake is perfect. Appearances can be deceptive, this place is worth a visit.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank srt72uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012 via mobile

Excellent location, friendly staff. Let down slightly by plastic seating and average (though not bad) food. Overall a pleasant dinner.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wee-al76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire, England
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Stunning view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

We've been to Malcesine several times, and always make for the Garden on the first and many subsequent evenings. The food is good - especially the seafood - and the service friendly and attentive. The big draw, however, is that it is situated on the shore with only glass between the tables and the lake. Sitting at the windows in a thunderstorm as the lightening flashes across the lake and the water is hurled against the glass is an experience not to be missed!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Spingos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germania
Level Contributor
75 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2011

This was not the first time I've eaten there but was the last one, for sure.
First of all we couldn't seat closer to the lake because we had our son sleeping on the stroller (not possible to make some place...). Ok, as it was already late and we were not in the mood to go around, we decided to take a table closer to the entrance, where we "wouldn't bother" with the stroller.
The table was a big mess, wet and they just put some paper over it, which got wet too, of course. The food was not the best but was also not terrible. Actually we couldn't expect more for the price...
Was hard to find some waiter to ask for the bill, and they even passed by us, saw we were done but never came to ask if we wanted a dessert, a coffee or at least the bill...

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank brazitRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Garden also viewed

Malcesine, Province of Verona
 
Malcesine, Province of Verona
 
Malcesine, Province of Verona
Verona, Province of Verona
 

Been to Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing