We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible food and service ”
Review of Ristorante Re Lear

Ristorante Re Lear
Ranked #20 of 102 Restaurants in Malcesine
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Oslo, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Incredible food and service ”
Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

We visit second day after opening this season in easter. We choose the local menu based on seasonal and local herbs. A Big succes for us and lots tastes. Combined with local wines we had a perfect meal and night at this fantastic place.

Helpful?
1 Thank Pnyhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    19
    12
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hannover, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Quality food, similar to Michelin star standard! Also a nice change from classic pasta and pizza.”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Lovely restaurant hidden away in the cobbled streets! Exposed castle type brick work and arches inside, nice hosts and modern feeling to the place. Very small and intimate, perfect for a romantic table for two or four people.

Our bill came to 170 euros with wine for 4 courses, coffee and a cheap ish bottle of wine ( 21 euros) but it really was nice and worth a little extra for the ambience and quality of service and food. Lugana wine delicious for a white, try it. Very very Reasonable too!

I would highly recommend the lobster and like appetizer and also the steak main course, hubby liked the oxtail tagliatelle Second course and also the 3 combination surprise pudding.

Our best meal so far in Italy, would rival Michelin star restaurants in Antwerp, Bruges and Prague in my opinion.

Try it and enjoy it!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lulea, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Delicious and something different!”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We ate here on two rainy October evenings, being almost alone in the small restaurant. One night we tried the Harvest menu. The other night we let the waiter suggest a suitable mix. The meals were very innovative and tasty. We also took the suggested wine package and had some of the best combinations of wine and food we ever tried. Although the price was rather high, the food was way beyond everything else we tried in Malcesine. The staff were really nice, spoke English fluently and explained all about the food and wine.This is the place you really should visit when in Malcesine.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MatsELule_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“july 2013”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

This is an excellent resturant and the food is very up market and the quality of food is excellent.It worth a visit but it is up market and more exp[ensive than some of the local returants in the area.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank padraig T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Try the tasting menu with wine - it is excellent value for money and the portions are perfectly sized.”
Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Malcesine has lots of restaurants but our Marco Polo Lake Garda guidebook book singled this one out and recommended the tasting menu. So we did (we were tempted by the delicious-sounding dishes on the a la carte, but we decided to stick with the guidebook's advice). The restaurant is slightly more expensive than others in Malcesine but certainly not overpriced, and the quality is superb - good food, much of it local and seasonal, cooked respectfully, and a thoughtful wine menu. If you choose the tasting menu, take your time - make sure you have a couple of hours - and be sure to add the three wines.

My boyfriend and I are definitely foodies. We had both learned a little Italian before our trip but nothing advanced, so we were delighted that our waiter took the time to talk us through all 5 courses - the chef's first dish plus the four subsequent courses, plus three wines - in perfect English. We found his descriptions very interesting and informative - in particular, because we were keen to try some good local food and wine - and he answered all our questions very well.

The entire meal was great, but for me, personally, the highlights were the appetiser (a beautiful, indulgent dish topped with gorgeous, fat, juicy prawns) and the pasta course drizzled with the most delicious oil - the waiter returned to our table to find us mopping up every last drop of the oil with our bread! The pasta course was my boyfriend's favourite course too. All the courses were great but for us those were the stand-out favourites. We were initially daunted by the prospect of a 5-course meal but the portions were perfectly sized and we left feeling full but not stuffed. The wines were excellent too - I was surprised that they were all white, but they certainly matched the food well - but my favourite was definitely the last one, a robust white with plenty of soul!

The restaurant is nicely furnished and it has a very pleasant, chilled-out atmosphere. When we went, there was nice jazz music on, not too loud, and we thought it would be a brilliant place to go with family (probably not small children though) or a small group of friends. We went on a Monday evening so it was not at all busy, but I would recommend it to anyone with an interest in food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank skolithos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Re Lear also viewed

Malcesine, Province of Verona
Malcesine, Province of Verona
 
Malcesine, Province of Verona
Malcesine, Province of Verona
 

Been to Ristorante Re Lear? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing