We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food,lovely setting”
Review of Mignon

Mignon
Ranked #16 of 102 Restaurants in Malcesine
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Market Drayton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food,lovely setting”
Reviewed August 23, 2014

The food was lovely, fresh and interesting and the service was good,friendly in a lovely setting on terraces with fruit bushes in pots.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Karrot1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    69
    17
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greater Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Less is more”
Reviewed August 22, 2014

After eating well in other places we went looking for a good pizza establishment. We found the Mignon and had an easy meal of Caprese Salad and Tris Bruschetta which we split half and half and was very nice especially the Caprese. We both had Pizza's and the service was excellent and the pizza's very tasty. With drinks included a bill of €41.10 extremely good.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank paul_richards32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denbigh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Faultless.”
Reviewed August 18, 2014

I have no wonder the locals are always running and keeping them selves fit the meals were massive ...we shared our starter it was so big and the mains did not disappoint either. The price was ridiculously low for what we had and the food was excellent

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Wezchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kessingland, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
“One of our best evenings in Malcesine”
Reviewed August 17, 2014

My wife and I have just returned from two weeks in Malcesine. We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis at our hotel and were therefore able to sample lots of the restaurants and pizzerias in this charming town during our stay. We chose this particular restaurant for a meal with some friends and their child, mainly because we were attracted to the lovely restaurant terrace, which is raised in several stages above the cobbled street outside....possibly not the most scientific way to choose somewhere to eat, but a good choice as it turned out.

As most of the restaurants and pizzerias in the town tend to have similar menus and prices, the difference between a very good one and an average one can be quite small. It's often down to location, service and small variation in quality and attention to detail as far as the food is concerned.
This restaurant won on all accounts. The location, as long as you don't want a view of the lake, is delightful. The service was particularly friendly....and most importantly the food was superb.

The restaurant was busy when we arrived but the staff were very welcoming and went out of their way to accommodate us on the terrace even though it was quite full. Throughout the meal our waiter maintained a perfect balance of professionalism and friendliness which made us feel very much at home.

Whilst the menu was nothing out of the ordinary, the dishes, when they arrived at the table, had enough individual twists to make the quality and presentation just a little bit better than we'd had elsewhere....and we'd had plenty of very good food to compare it with.

This is our second stay in Malcesine and we've never really have a bad meal at all the restaurants we tried during our stays, but when we discussed which restaurants we'd enjoyed the most, we both remembered the evening at the Mignon as being one of our most enjoyable and I would certainly rate it as one of my two or three favourite places to eat in the town.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank GandN896
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anglesey
Level 6 Contributor
55 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Don't miss this wonderful restaurant”
Reviewed August 17, 2014

Came across this restaurant by chance, and we were not disappointed. Great laid back but efficient service, outside eating terrace, which was wonderful. The gnocchi, which I had was to die for. My friend had seafood linguine which he said was fantastic. We finished off with Lemon Prosecco sorbet. Virtually all the tables were reserved so we were very lucky to eat at this restaurant. Average prices and just wonderful food.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank kppixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mignon also viewed

Malcesine, Province of Verona
Malcesine, Province of Verona
 
Malcesine, Province of Verona
Malcesine, Province of Verona
 

Been to Mignon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing