We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well appointed, very clean, great owner”
Review of La Casa d'Amare

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Casa d'Amare
Ranked #6 of 31 Maiori B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 27, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Casa d'a Mare for a week. It was by far the nicest place we stayed during our 3 week trip to Italy. Rooms were first rate - the owner used to manage an executive hotel in Milan and it shows in the attention to detail and cleanliness. Breakfast was filling and nourishing. Location is one block from the beach and two blocks from the main business area. Room had a small fridge, balcony, air conditioning, large bathroom. The owner, sol io, speaks English, German and Italian. He was very helpful and arranged a car to take us to the airport in Napoli. I'd recommend the Casa d'a Mare to a friend.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Servator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (242)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 242 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2011

We thoroughly recommend La casa d'a...mare. The owners were very friendly and helpful and Silvio spoke good English.

The accommodation is a quiet 4th floor apartment split into 3 rooms and a breakfast room. The two rooms that we viewed and the one that we stayed in were top quality, each with access to a private section of balcony in a residential area. The location is very good, just 100m from the sea front with good access to shops, beach, restaurants and transport links. Breakfast was flexible according to your preference and was of very generous size.

We used the town of Maiori as a base for a 6-night stay and would recommend it to others for the following reasons:

1. It is a relatively quiet town. It is a friendly town where you can mix and eat with the locals as well as the tourists. The restaurant prices are cheaper than the many of the traditional destinations. There is feeling of space which is lacking in the rest of the coast and there is flat land here which is at a premium elsewhere.

2. The reliable and cheap bus and boat system means that you can easily access Amalphi, Positano, Minori and the villages of the coast

3. Many other hotels are located high up away from their villages and sometimes on dangerous noisy roads.

We normally hire a car but for a stay on the amalphi coast I would suggest using public transport. The roads are tiny and scary, most cars have dents and parking is sparse.

From Maiori, Sorrento, Capri, and Pompeii are reachable in the day via a public transport (study the timetables carefully and make sure you have up to date timetables). Similarly the greek temple at Paestum is easily reachable via public transport.

We travelled to Naples then train to Salerno and relatively short public bus trip to Maiori. From the airport there is also a direct coach service to Salerno. Check out the boat ferry services some of which are remarkably cheap especially the service from Salerno to Positano via Amalphi.

happy holiday
Chris Churchley Surrey UK

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ChirsCod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2011

I already felt the difference in how Mr. Silvio Savastano deals with his guests since I sent the request for room availability. As usual, I sent the request to several B&Bs but he was the only one who wrote me back with a very detailed e-mail and, moreover, he called me personally, to make sure that our needs where properly addressed! La casa d'a...mare did not give me the feeling of a cold place where you have no exchange (either cultural or even human) with the owners, it's like home, where Mr. Silvio tells you about the history of Maiori, where you can get good hints (he suggested us where to celebrate our first wedding anniversary), a wonderful breakfast (we'll never forget Mr.Silvio's wife's cake!) and a nice and relaxing environment. If you want to feel like being an inhabitant from Maiori, go there!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeaceT77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2011

Silvio and his wife run an exceptionally good B&B. Our room was very large, with a beautiful ensuite and a small balcony. Silvio was very helpful and gave us great ideas for our stay. He drove us to Revello and we had a great day exploring that area. Breakfast was excellent and the service great. The apartment is only two minutes walk from the waterfront, resturants and the Amalfi bus routes. I would definitely recommend La Casa d'Amare and Maiori to travellers.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2011

Dear Silvio,
Thanks a lot for hosting us in your lovely b&b. It was a real plesure and the best place we could find as a base for our trip in Amalfi coast and Campania. Your nice place near Maiori seashore and the Amalfian road, your very helpfull advices and your kindness made our stay realy good.
Tzipi & Haim.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tzha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2011

Silvio and his wife are wonderful hosts and made us fell most welcome at their delightful B&B.Rooms are large and spotlessly clean with lovely little balconies.
Breakfast was delicious with home made cakes,freshly baked rolls and pastries.
We would recommend this B&B without hesitation.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julieLyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2010

Without Tripadvisor we would not have found this gem. We had booked rooms four five nighs in October, 2010. My husband and I stayed in room 403 and a friend of ours in room 402. All of us are totally satisfied with this outstanding place to stay. The owners, Silvio and his wife, immediately made us feel like home. Our rooms were very comfortable and clean. We also had a big private balcony where we often took a glass of wine or a drink. This place is perfect for vacation. We enjoyed very minute of our stay at La Casa d'Amare. We only wish that we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ubkvist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maiori hotels
0 mi away
Hotel  De Rosa
Hotel De Rosa
#4 of 17 in Maiori
273 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residence Hotel Panoramic
0.1 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#1 of 17 in Maiori
1,672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
B&B Casa Mariannina
B&B Casa Mariannina
#5 of 31 in Maiori
201 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Casa delle Stelle
La Casa delle Stelle
#4 of 31 in Maiori
188 reviews
0.2 mi away
Acquamarine B&B
Acquamarine B&B
#13 of 31 in Maiori
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa d'Amare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa d'Amare

Address: Via Degli Orti 40, 84010, Maiori, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Maiori
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Maiori
Price Range: $67 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Casa d'Amare 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The B&B " La casa d'a...mare " , managed from Silvio and his wife Alphonsine Savastano since 2002 ( the first b&b's in Maiori) is located on the 04th floor in an edifice of recent built , served by elevator in the really center of the town . The Casa d'A...mare house has three large and comfortable rooms, entitled to some musicians ( Bellini, Rossini, Vivaldi ) , furnished with taste and equipped with private baths, hair driers, safety boxes, color TV, WI-FI, air conditioning ,heating and terrace . The ideal solution for a long vacation or a regenerating weekend in the Amalfi Coast during any season of the year... Breakfast is traditional, and include: coffee, tea, milk, assorted jams, honey, corn flakes, muesli, fresh bread or biscuits, yogurt, croissants, home made cakes, assorted salams and cheeses, all served with care and gentleness in the breakfast room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your La Casa d'Amare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa D'Amare Maiori, Italy - Amalfi Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing