We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time in Italy”
Review of Hotel San Pietro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel San Pietro
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Maiori
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed at the St Pietro as part of a holiday with Newmarket Holidays from June 8 to 15. We also had a view of the old buyilding but what do you expect in a town? The only problem we had was when we were shown to our room there was no balcony. It was sorted out in seconds and we were moved. The staff were brilliant and very helpful. Prices in the hotel bar and pool bar were a real surprise, we were told that Italy was very expensive but this was not the case. Meals were adequate and well served. The only down side was that we flew into Rome and had a 4 hour transfer both ways, with a 5.30 a.m. pick up coming home, but this did not spoil the holiday one bit. Well worth the trip and the weather was glorious. Would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank peter_matthews15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (212)
There are newer reviews for Hotel San Pietro
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 212 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2013

This is a good hotel but unfortunately the view is not good. We looked out onto an unused brick building which we later discovered had been a monastery. The hotel was spotlessly clean in all areas. Our arrival was delayed by a couple of hours but they laid on a good meal (Cold). The beds were comfortable, not hard as another reviewer said. The towels were strange! We had read that they were like tablecloths & intended to take our own but forgot. However in spite of them being very like linen tablecloths they did dry you really well.
The breakfasts were good. After hard rolls the first night we were concerned that the food would not be great but it was fine. The only downside was that there was little choice for dinner. If you didn't eat fish as one of our party doesn't, you had to have the meat choice, or choose from the a la carte menu - expensive. There was no choice for the sweets. But drinks were included at dinner.
The area is a little out of the way and we used the bus frequently. Once you get over the shock of the winding roads and fast bus drivers who seem to be able to drive whilst talking to and looking at passengers it's fine!
The village is about a15 min pleasant walk from the hotel. Being in a not very touristy area the majority of the shops closed at 1 o'clock for a few hours, even the supermarkets.
The staff were very friendly and helpful and I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms were quiet and if you wanted them dark the shutters could be pulled down. However it was t...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Manxie52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed in the 2* self catering apartments. These are basic, a bit dated but clean and spacious. The staff are very friendly. The pool is big for the size of hotel with a decent water slide for kids only (I should have read that notice before I used it!). Useful to know, swimming hats are required when using the pool, there is a Netto supermarket 5 minutes walk away. The best restaurant in town was Dedalo. We did not eat in the hotel restaurant but lunchtime bar snacks were OK and reasonably priced as were drinks. 4€ panini, 3€ beer. Free WiFi in hotel lobby area and also around the pool.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Griffidj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We had a great week from end April/early May 2013 with Newmarket Hols. in this hotel. Our twin room was comfortable and clean, shower room superb. Breakfast buffet was generous and varied and dinners adequate, not haute cuisine but fair enough and we were on a budget break.
Despite brilliant weather we did not brave the pool though it is a lovely one and some hardier mortals survived a dip.
The scheduled transport (free of charge as was wifi) between the hotel and sea front was helpful.

Room Tip: The hotel also has apartments.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 24PatB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Where to start? The hotel is so dated, it really needs a makeover. It doesn't even have character, it's just old! Its located quite a few blocks away from the beach, so you don't have a view of anything but an old seemingly abandoned, dilapidated building next door. The showers are cramped and do not drain! The towels are "traditional" Italian towels and they are more like the material of a tablecloth. That was very different! Not necessarily bad though, just different. The bed was like a rock. Even the pillows were hard.

The most trouble I had was when I complained about the air conditioner not working (and it was 95 degrees outside) and the owner basically shrugged his shoulders at me and wouldn't do anything, not even apologize.
I would not stay here again, there are many other places to stay on the Amalfi Coast. Not to mention ones with beautiful views of the Sea!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Garden_Isle_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Hotel San Pietro is just off the main square in Mairoi a short walk to the main street. Due to it's location sleep quality is excellent! The rooms are very clean, standard of housekeeping is way up there....

The food was very good, great choice of breakfast buffet - Italian style, so don't go expecting English Breakfast.... The half board choice made by myself and my friend, proved to be value for money. We didn't have need to eat out any night which was fabulous. The dining area is beautiful, if you are a lady who likes to put something nice on for dinner then you wouldn't feel out of place, but by no means is this expected. It's a relaxed atmosphere and the waiting on staff are really lovely people.

The pool is fantastic, quite large with adequate sun lougers around. The garden area too is very nice, couple of swing chairs to take you away from the heat of the midday sun if you are fortunate enough to be visiting in a heatwave such as we were. Again the outdoors areas of the hotel are also well maintained and very very clean.

The staff are very helpful, willing to encourage you in any basic Italian you may speak...once you get over the nerves of giving it a go!

Overall we would both recommend this hotel to anyone who loves Maiori and wants to stay off the sea front but still within easy distance of all the main restaurants and cafe bars.....

Room Tip: Stay in this hotel is enough of a tip.....
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tenila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Our trip
We were a couple on a Thomson holiday staying half board for 2 weeks in first two weeks of september 2012.

Why 4 stars?

As other reviewers have said, all the staff were very friendly especially the waiters. We were able to change our meals from the evening to lunch which was helpful although you do end up with the same full 3 courses for lunch. However the waiters are very accommodating and sometimes we just had the pasta. Free Wifi is available at the hotel and is best in the reception and bar area. We had a very weak signal in our room but were on the second floor. Ask at reception for the password. The bedroom shutters were good making the room nice and dark and help as you can leave windows open but fairly secure from bugs (note: you have to have all the windows/doors closed for the air con to work). There is also a free safety deposit box in the room - ask for the key at reception. The bathroom has a hair dryer and was kept spotlessly clean as was the room with fresh towels every day. Towels are supplied for the pool, just ask at reception or there may be some on a stand by the snack bar. No problem getting sun beds. The pool is over 3m deep to 1.05m deep from end to end. The depth is the reason why you have to wear a swimming cap (men and women) and is 2.50 euro from reception. The tennis courts are very good quality. Book at reception, 10 euro per hour. Breakfast is 7-9.30, lunch 12.30-14.00 and dinner 19.30-21.00. The hotel is used by tour groups but they sit at the other end of the restaurant. Waiter service was always very prompt even when the big groups were in so you don't need to worry. You get your own table which is yours for your stay and has your room number on it which we liked. They will keep opened bottles of wine and water for you between meals which is helpful.

We were also rather smitten by the old red setter who's not got much sight or hearing but is very sweet and always up for a tummy rub. You'll find him at the entrance by reception having a kip.

Why not 5 stars?

Balconies vary size from medium, sufficient for two people, small with one chair and table (which is what we had) or tiny with just a chair (although to be fair I think these were for single guest rooms). We requested an extra chair to make use of our small balcony and two additional pillows which were brought within the hour. Our air con packed up on the third day, but was fixed two days later. There is a ceiling fan in the room and it was cooler at night so this was not a big problem. The towels are very thin and are akin to tablecloths - I'm not sure if this is an Italian thing, but they did work ok. The food was reasonable if not outstanding. Breakfast was a little limited in choice which we started to really notice in week two. If you are used to the mini bottles of shampoo, shower gel etc then you'll be disappointed. You get a shower cap, soap and shampoo sachet, but I would bring your own stuff. The rooms are rather seventies in style but are functional and very clean. There are no tea or coffee facilities in the room although there is a mini bar.

Overall we enjoyed our stay at hotel san pietro in minori. Not being positioned on the front means it was quieter although inevitably no sea views. We didn't find the walk back to the hotel onerous and its mainly on the flat compared to some other hotels. We felt maiori was for us the best choice of resort, being bigger than minori, but with far less visiting tourists (especially compared to Amalfi and ravello). It has more of an italian feel compared to the other resorts.

Tip. Travel sickness tablets are well worth having to ensure relaxed coach and boat journeys.

Other information
Capri
The cheapest way to get to Capri from maiori is with Capri de lux - 36.50 euro pp. including Capri tax. The only difference to other trips is that they dock at marina piccola on the other side of Capri rather than the main port, marina grande. You then need to get a bus into Capri town or can walk ( 25 mins uphill, 15mins down). They leave at 8.10 from the far end of the marina in maiori (past all the posh motor cruisers) and arrive at Capri at 10.10, departing Capri at 16.20. Note the boat is not docked permanently in maiori so don't be surprised if you are waiting at an empty quayside. We preferred this route as there were massive queues for the funicular train going down to marinia grande at around 15.30 the day we were there. To reserve a seat on the boat (which is recommended) you go to the blue snack bar kiosk at the end of the sea front before the marina in maiori. The snack bar will reserve you a spot but you pay cash on the day you go when you board the boat - no cards. The advantage of an organised tour is the you don't have to bother with the buses which can get very crammed and will probably involve standing - they are frequent though (every 10-15mins) and most journeys are only 15mins. Tickets are 1.80 euro one way, pay on the bus or at the ticket office if there is one. We took the bus to anacapri which you catch from the main bus station which you will find walking into the town centre past the taxi rank and parking. Queuing to get onto the bus is organised in capri. For further information see www.capri.com which has the bus timetables and tips, walking times etc. The walk to villa jovis is pleasant to get away from the crowds and takes about 1.5 hours return. Villa jovis is open 11.00 - 15.00 and costs 2 euro pp. If you go in allow about 20-30mins to look around and add that to journey time. They also have free toilets. Overall we had a great time on Capri and far preferred doing it independently, allowing time to do longer walks such as going to villa jovis.

Tourist office
The maiori tourist information office was very helpful with plenty of maps of local walks, bus timetables etc. It's staffed by a very helpful lady from london! It is found on Corso Reginna the main street in Maiori, on the left after the paisa restaurant.

Walks
The walk to minori (avoiding the road) is very pleasant with great views but quite hard work. The start of the walk is up the steps to the right of paisa restaurant. It took us about an hour to get to minori but it's only 15mins when you walk back on the road - keep to the sea side and you'll be fine.
As other reviews have mentioned, the walk up to the castle in maiori is also well worth doing, if only to meet the owner/guide of the castle. It is a tough climb which took us about 45 mins to get up. The owner is extremely friendly and welcoming with his mixture of english/italian so don't be timid. The views are of course excellent. Took less than 10 mins to walk back down!

Beach
The beach is pleasant but Italian in style (not unreasonably!) which means it is packed full of sun loungers, some owned by hotels, others by beach bars. There is relatively little public beach space. Cost for two loungers and an umbrella for the day seemed to be between 20 - 25 euro depending on how close you were to the sea i.e. whether you were on rows 1 or 2 or rows 3 or 4. However this does give you easy access to toilets, food and drink and in some cases changing facilities. I think the price may drop after 14.00.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Crispin_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maiori hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#1 of 17 in Maiori
1,634 reviews
0.4 mi away
Reginna Palace Hotel
Reginna Palace Hotel
#9 of 17 in Maiori
387 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pietra di Luna Hotel
Pietra di Luna Hotel
#3 of 17 in Maiori
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Club Due Torri
Hotel Club Due Torri
#2 of 17 in Maiori
619 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Miramare
Hotel Miramare
#14 of 17 in Maiori
232 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Botanico San Lazzaro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Pietro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Pietro

Address: Via Nuova Chiunzi 147, 84010, Maiori, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Maiori
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Maiori
#5 Luxury Hotel in Maiori
#5 Romantic Hotel in Maiori
Price Range: $82 - $1,084 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Pietro 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel San Pietro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Pietro Hotel
Hotel San Pietro Maiori, Italy - Amalfi Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing