We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mattresses old”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pietra di Luna Hotel
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Maiori
Certificate of Excellence
Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mattresses old”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

The best thing about the hotel is the beautiful location across the street from the sea and its proximity to many good restaurants. Hotel food was fair. The quaint bathroom did not bother me, but I think travelers have the right to decent mattresses. Everyone on our tour complained of sore backs and hips from the thin, old mattresses. We put a blanket underneath ours for padding.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bogeywoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonso I, Manager at Pietra di Luna Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Madame,

thank you for taking the time in letting us know about your experience at the Pietra di Luna Hotel. Guest’s comments and suggestion are of great importance to us as they help us in maintaining and improving our standards and the services on offer. Although I agree with your comment “Travellers have the right to decent mattresses”, I am obliged to point out that our mattresses are not thin and neither old. The mattresses were changed recently, and they are all between 18 and 21 centimetres high. I agree with the fact that our mattresses might be a bit hard, and when our guests let us know we do take action. Should you decide to stay again at the Pietra di Luna hotel, please let us know in advance with your sleeping preferences.
Sincerely,

Alfonso Imperato
(Hotel Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    121
    60
    9
    15
See reviews for
108
206
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreat, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed three nights in May, 2014. We were part of a Trafalgar tour group. Our room was very comfortable, king-size bed, balcony with a view of the Med Sea. The decor is dated, but clean and functional. Really, you don't come here to hang around in a hotel room! The staff were very accommodating, especially the manager, who freely gave us good advice on restaurants and activities. We ate at the Hotel restaurant two nights, and the food was good. Maiori is a wonderful little town with gobs of atmosphere and charming streets and shops. The Hotel is in the perfect location to take advantage of it all. I would stay again, no question. The sound of church bells chiming was quaint, not at all bothersome, as some reviewers have complained.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonso I, Manager at Pietra di Luna Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Bill,
thank you for letting us know of your experience at the Pietra di Luna hotel and in Maiori. I have appreciated your comments and they will be of great help to us. I look forward to be able to welcome you back on the Amalfi Coast, and hopefully with the “chiming sound” of the church bells.
From all the staff and myself, thank you very very much,

Alfonso Imperato
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for our honeymoon in 2012. We are going back this year for our second anniversary. I cannot praise this hotel enough. The location is fantastic - its just a short walk into the main town but far away enough that its quiet. The beach and pool were glorious. The decor is a bit chintzy but i feel it adds to the charm of the place. The rooms are spotless, comfortable and spacious enough (some Italian hotel rooms are tiny even for a four and five star). The food is out of this world with lots of choice. If you dont fancy whats on the menu they always accomodate you. Raffelli the Maitre D is ever so charming and all the other staff go out their way to be friendly and welcoming. They are very genuine in doing so - we met many of them in the town when they were off duty and they stood for a chat.

They price of beer and wine in the hotel is very reasonable. There are lots of things to do near by such as visits to Amalfi, Positano, Pompeii etc. The Emerald Grotto is great fun. The man who runs the tour is a real character. There's boat tours you can take from the harbour and you can hire boats and canoes too. The next town over in Minori and its well worth taking a walk over the hill into this little town. Its just like Maiori but smaller and nice for a change of scene.

All in all, we cant wait to get back there!

Room Tip: The first rooms on the side of the hotel are best as you get a view of the sea from one balcony and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma1979Glasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonso I, Manager at Pietra di Luna Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Emma,

thank you very much for taking the time to express yuour feeling about our hotel, and above all for booking your holiday again with us. Here at the Pietra di Luna we are looking forward to welcome you back, and make sure that you will spent another memorable vacation with us.
Best regards from the Pietra di Luna family,

Alfonso Imperato
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 17, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 3 days,and the minute you walk into the lobby onto the front desk you are greeted by a friendly,very helpful staff !!! They answered every question we had(and there were many)to giving us very useful information. We had a sea view room & fell in love the minute we stepped onto our roomy balcony, sat in our lounge chairs & took in the spectacular view of the ocean… Even in the evening watching the sun set it felt peaceful!!! This hotel is a very clean hotel & has a wonderful breakfast selection (cakes,croissants,cheeses,ham & the great waiters,besides bringing you as many cups of coffee/espresso or cappuccino that you want,also offer to bring you scrambled eggs etc if you want.) The view is also wonderful while enjoying your breakfast !!! There is also plenty of parking available & you don't have to walk far to the front door. This hotel is perfectly located across from the beach,has a market a few feet away & you are able to leave your car & walk around the town to it's shops & restaurants if you'd like. The pool area looked amazing & clean (wished it was warmer out to use) but no doubt in my mind it must be great in the summer!!! The Pietra Di Luna Hotel is also a great home base for venturing out on day trips to Vetri,Salerno,Tramonti,Minori,Ravello & Amalfi as well. We want to thank Giovanni for his excellent hospitality & the wonderful girls at the reception desk for making our stay wonderful & enjoyable!!!! We hope to return again one day in the near future….

Room Tip: If you can,go for the sea view!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonso I, Manager at Pietra di Luna Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Dear Mike,

thank you very much for taking the time in letting us know about your experience with us at the Pietra di Luna Hotel, and Maiori. Your words are the best reward for all the staff and myself.
We all look forward to welcome you back in Maiori.
Regards from all of us at the Pietra di Luna Hotel,

Alfonso Imperato
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Superb position overlooking the sea, just a short walk into the town, a "locals" town with a real Italian feel to it, not touristy at all. I would recommend the walk (up many steps) from the Church through the lemon groves to the next door town of Minori. (Just as beautiful, but smaller)
The best thing about this hotel is the quality of ALL the staff, from the manager down to the room maids, everyone was so friendly, welcoming, professional and genuinely helpful. I would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonso I, Manager at Pietra di Luna Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Dear Julie,

on behalf of all the staff opf the Pietra di Luna Hotel, I thank you very, very much for coming and staying with us, and for the time in letting us know about your experience with us in Maiori.
The comments and considerations of our valued guests mean a lot to us.
I look forward, with all the staff, to welcome you here again.
Sincerely,

Alfonso Imperato
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014

At the last moment, we decided to take a quick trip to the Amalfi Coast. We were fortunate that our niece was able to book the hotel, and it was everything promised. We had a beautiful view of the beach across the street and out over the coast line. It was beautiful, dramatic & relaxing. We were able to sit out on our balcony and view the world, where there was plenty of activity and sights, but it was quiet and peaceful at night. Dinner and breakfast were wonderful, the staff were helpful, fully multi-lingual, warm and welcoming. We thought it was quite reasonable for the area. Thank you to Chiara for booking us into such a great location, and thank you to the Pietra di Luna for being such welcoming hosts. It was a little early to use the pool, but it looked beautiful, and I'm sure in even a few weeks it will be in full use. Book early & enjoy yourself.

Room Tip: If you can, get one of the rooms overlooking the ocean. It is fully worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
5 Thank Deb D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfonso I, Direttore at Pietra di Luna Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Ms. Deb,

thank you very much for choosing the Pietra di Luna Hotel for your visit on the Amalfi Coast, and for taking your time in letting us know your appreciated comments.

All the staff, and myself, woud be really happy in welcoming you back at the Pietra di Luna Hotel.

Sincerely,

Alfonso Imperato
(Direttore)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

We just love this hotel!! We have just booked to visit again in summer 2014, having visited every year for the last 10 years. The hotel is in an ideal location looking across the road and the wide promenade to its own beach and over the Bay of Salerno, with views up to the beautiful Ravello and along the coast to Salerno and beyond.
Maiori is a pleasant town, smaller, quieter and less touristy than Amalfi and is an ideal location to explore the Amalfi Coast and other places of interest (Pompeii, Herculaneum, Vesuvius, Paestum, Capri, etc) – or just to stay local to chill and relax.
The hotel is a pleasant looking building. You arrive at Reception in a large, airy, pleasantly furnished entrance hall. (Free Wifi is available in this area too.) Air-con keeps the hotel nice and cool. Rooms are on four floors which are all served by lifts and stairs. We feel it is worth paying the extra for one of the sea view rooms, which are large and spacious, with king size bed, spare bed, chairs and table, large wardrobe, hairdryer, TV, balcony, also with chairs and table, and there is also a good size bathroom (some with walk in shower and some with bath and shower over). Bedding and towels are changed every day and rooms are kept spotlessly clean – as is the whole hotel. The hotel has a wonderful front patio overlooking the promenade and the bay. It is so pleasant to sit and relax here under the canopy if you prefer the shade, or in the sun, at any time of the day or evening. In the summer months, the hotel provides evening entertainment on the patio, usually once or twice a week.
Our half board arrangement enables us to take the buffet breakfast (a good spread, including a choice of fruit juices, water, cereals, fruit, bread, croissants, meats, cheese and spreads, as well as cooked breakfast, on request (tea and coffee is served to your table) and we can opt for lunch or evening meal, both of which have a new daily menu (which is displayed early each morning) offering a good variety of choices of starter and main courses, all with waiter service. Fruit, ice cream or sweet of the day are offered as dessert.
Lunch, drinks and snacks may be ordered from the patio or pool throughout the day and can be charged to your room account. A mini-market is very close to the hotel and other shops, supermarkets, bars, cafes and restaurants are a short walk away. Buses to Salerno, Naples and local resorts stop close to the hotel (don’t forget to purchase your bus ticket in advance, with the exception of the Red Bus).
The hotel also boasts a very large swimming pool which also looks across to the seafront (and a small children’s pool) which is immaculately clean, with a good number of sun beds and umbrellas. Beach/pool towels are available free of charge for guests to use, on request.
Saving the best till last, the hotel’s biggest asset is its staff. Without exception, the staff are so friendly, cheerful and helpful. Francesca and her team front of house, Giovanni and his colleagues in the bar, Rafael and his team of waiting and catering staff, not forgetting Peppe and his pool and all the cleaning and maintenance staff – all only too happy just to greet you or to help. The overall feel is of a cosy, friendly, family-run hotel, with the personal touch.
There are many guests who return each year, who now are friends, and we cannot think of another hotel in Maiori where we would rather stay (we can’t all be wrong!) which is why we are returning again in July. Can’t wait!!!

Room Tip: We feel it is worth the extra to have a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maiori hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#1 of 17 in Maiori
1,506 reviews
0.1 mi away
Reginna Palace Hotel
Reginna Palace Hotel
#9 of 17 in Maiori
360 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Club Due Torri
Hotel Club Due Torri
#2 of 17 in Maiori
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Botanico San Lazzaro
0.5 mi away
Hotel San Pietro
Hotel San Pietro
#6 of 17 in Maiori
193 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Miramare
Hotel Miramare
#15 of 17 in Maiori
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pietra di Luna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pietra di Luna Hotel

Property: Pietra di Luna Hotel
Address: Lungomare Gaetano Capone 27, 84010, Maiori, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Maiori
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Maiori
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Maiori
#4 Luxury Hotel in Maiori
#5 Family Hotel in Maiori
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pietra di Luna Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the beautiful Maiori's promenade, just 30 meters from the sea, the Hotel Pietra di Luna is a modern and functional structure, able to satisfy every need of the customer who chooses the Amalfi coast to spend his holidays, lulled by the sweet sound of the waves and the fresh sea breeze. Located in the center of the town, it enjoys a stunning panoramic view of Maiori's bay, between the Norman Tower, on the east side, and the Miramare Castle, on the western one, surrounded by beautiful terraced hills, cultivated with vines and lemon trees. A wide selection of services and modern comforts, in addition to the renowned hospitality of the locals, the excellent gastronomy and an unique natural landscape, will make your stay on the Amalfi coast an unforgettable experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Pietra di Luna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pietra Luna Maiori
Pietra Di Luna Hotel Maiori, Italy - Amalfi Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing