We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel,beautiful views”
Review of Hotel Panorama

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Panorama
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Maiori
Certificate of Excellence
Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel,beautiful views”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

My friend & I have spent the last 2 weeks here & we have found the staff to be very helpfull & friendly.We were central to all the amenities & across the road to the beach.
The room was adaquate, the bathroom was somewhat dated. The hotel was very clean & tidy.
The breakfast was excellent with a wide variety, the only downside was that there was only 1 coffee machine which always led to a queque.
The evening meal was second to none with a very good choice each night.The service was very prompt at every sitting & nothing was too much bother to the most friendly staff.
The views from our balcony were stunning & to wake up every morning to the sound of the sea was amazing.
All in all i would highly recommend this hotel for any age.

Room Tip: Sea view is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alipali60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    861
    449
    139
    46
    36
See reviews for
365
799
37
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I have spent two weeks in this hotel and have been impressed by the quality of the food and the staff. The receptionists are always smiling, welcoming and eager to assist. The bar staff and restaurant staff work extremely hard and are professional. The rooms are cleaned daily by staff who are friendly and helpful. The hotel is gradually being refurbished but this does not retract from the quality of food and service. Yes there is waiter service in the restaurant of an evening but this is excellent and even if you do wait between courses this is good for the digestion and is the 'Italien way' which I particularly enjoy as there is nothing better than to relax and enjoy good food and wine. Breakfasts are buffet style and are excellent but an additional coffee making machine would enhance the service. I did not find this a problem however as I am a tea drinker

Joan

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

HOLIDAY HOTEL
On arrival – not given any information about what times the meals are or where to find the dining room etc. No information in the room either.
Dinner is just a waiting game – it takes sometimes an hour and a half for them to serve the meal. It goes – arrive, wait, and wait for menu, choose what to eat - and wait and wait for the waiter to come back and take the order – wait and wait for the wine, water, whatever you are drinking to arrive – wait and wait for the starter – wait and wait for the main course – wait and wait for the sweet. Dinner starts at 7.30 – which is too late for me anyway, I can’t eat that late, and by the time you get out its 9pm. Never been to a Hotel where dinner is served like this and would never do it again. The dining room is run by a man I have affectionately named ‘Herman Munster’,he seems to be a complete control freak, he brings the menu to all the guests as they come in and there are a lot of people to get round, it is him who comes back, eventually, to take your order so he gets lost with who is next and (so people who came in long after you - have finished and gone while you’re still waiting), after that the other waiter on your section takes over bringing the water and food, who until then has been stood watching and waiting for ‘Herman’ to go round with menus and then go back to take the order, the whole thing is a sham, I just feel like I want to shake them all up.
They make the most lovely pasta but you only get a small serving for a starter it’s never served as a main course – why not, it is Italy for goodness sake, that’s partly why we, the people go there, disappointing! The food, when you get it, is lovely, so, my compliments go to the chefs and kitchen staff.
Breakfast is self service and is very good there is everything you could want, cereal, bread, toast, lovely scrambled eggs, fried potatoes, sausages, beans, tomatoes, tea, coffee, and beautiful fresh fruit. If you can’t live without your tomato ketchup you will have to take your own, there is none at this Hotel.
The staff are all very nice and when you ask them a question they are helpful but they don’t volunteer basic information that a guest needs to know. Some guests I met who were going home the next day hadn’t found how to operate their air conditioning, we were able to tell them how to do it and for their last night they had air con. The Hotel is, like others have said, very dated but very clean, the towels and sheets are changed regularly no complaints there.
The sea view rooms are alright but the noise from the traffic is terrible, there is no double glazing and every sound from outside can be heard and believe me there is a lot of noise. The Italian drivers just love their horns, hooters, revving up their bikes etc. There are thousands of scooters and loud farty mopeds going past constantly. I am told that the back rooms are quieter but the view from the windows is ugly dirty old buildings, not good.
There is no entertainment at all at this Hotel, the evenings are really, really boring, there are no English channels on the telly, only sky news. Internet WI-FI is very good at this Hotel.
The Thomson rep is quite friendly but I found the ‘next morning meeting’ so long and laborious, she goes on and on, you can’t take in all she is saying and quite frankly a lot of what she is saying would be much better put down on an information sheet and handed out, things like buses and tickets and what day and time she is going to be at your Hotel, what parts of the beach can be used for free and how much you have to pay for the private bits and what you get for your money, etc. Taking your passports with you on trips because you may get free entry or reduced entry. The opening and closing times of the Supermarkets would be very useful, we got caught out because of ‘Siesta time’. The opening times of museums. All the things that it would be good to be able to refer back to instead of trying to remember everything. We were given a Thomson ‘Welcome Pack’ with very little in it. Our rep said she had been living here in Italy for 22 years so she should know all the little things that would go to make our holiday plain sailing. There is no ‘Thomson Noticeboard’ at the Hotel and it is very difficult to find the ‘Information Book' which has a lot less information in it than the other Tour Operators Books.
I would not recommend this Hotel for children or teenagers, there is absolutely nothing for them to do, and dinner, as I said before deosn’t start until 7.30, so any children that were in the Hotel while I was there (only about 3) were miserable and crotchety by that time.
The Amalfi Coast is absolutely beautiful and the trip to Capri was a wonderful day as were the trips to Positano and Pompei.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
powys
1 review
Reviewed September 29, 2012

just returned from a week at panorama hotel my friend and i choose this for a special holiday what a good choice we couldn"t fault it at all .Excellent location beach across road, a small swimming pool with sun beds, shops close although there weren"t many but then when you go to a place as beautiful as amalfi coast you dont want shops. Lots of sight seeing to do . The hotel was clean,rooms cleaned everyday including sundays and the food was excellent we went half board well worth it breakfast was served on roof top bar amasing views. Evening meal was in dining room on 1st floor waiter service which was excellent . Staff went out of there way to help you also very friendly. Pay extra for a sea view room its worth it .Only thing was the road was very noisey,

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christine d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

The hotel is indeed in a good location on the coast of Maiori. But that is where the positive things end... The room we were given was definitely not like anthing in the pictures. It was very old and run down, the bathroom was in terrible shape with the water taps difficult to open and close and the room did not have a working air conditioning. Furhermore the room we had was badly decorated and even the wifi internet signal was very weak. And even a plug to charge a phone was not readily available, I had to go under the desks and find the plug used by the tv to disconnect this and charge my phone. When we complained about our room, even offered to pay extra for a better room, the staff was very unhelpful and not in any way sorry.

This is definitely not a 4 star, not even a 3 star. We stayed in bed and breakfast rooms much better than this. not worth the price and definitely wrongly advertised as modern and clean.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Seyahatname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

7 days before we were due to fly out I got an e-mail advising that there was a problem with a part of the hotel we were due to stay in and that they had arranged to put us up in their 'residence' apartments. I was a bit sceptical given the time-scale, however, when we got there I found service was impeccable. Although we felt a little 'out of it' by not being in the hotel, the apartment we were put in was very large and we had the additional benefit of having self-catering faciltiies although getting a 'hotel' service. Unfortunately, we were at the back of the apartment block so didn't have anything of a view. That said, the hotel staff were very helpful and friendly and we were given free access to the private beach. The hotel reception staff were brilliant and helped us organise our trips to Capri and Herculaneum as well as our taxis to and from the airport.

Room Tip: strongly suggest a 'sea view' room although no point asking for one if you are in the apartm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We went on a Thomson package and on arrival found we had a rear room with no balcony. I expect this is because they keep the best rooms separate for non package guests. Anyway we asked about a sea view room and there was one available from the following night at an extra €20 per night which was fine and well worth it. We repacked that morning & they moved everything for us so we were very happy. I have nothing but praise for the food. Our trip was half board and breakfast was fine, even hot food available if you wanted, and the evening meal was a delight. 3 choices of starter & mains with choice of 2 desserts, everyone catered for with a vegetarian, a fish & a meat main. All were prepared and presented exceptionally and under the control of an excellent dining manager and staff. Also good wines at reasonable prices. Most nights we drank upstairs after the meal which was very comfortable and the staff good. The rooftop pool area was good & thankfully no towels until people used the seats - of which there were always enough. Pool was "bracing" or very cold, depending on your view, small but adequate for September.
The common grumble was the cost of the beach and actually we never bothered to go. It really didn't seem worth it with the public one down the road a bit. The beach is OK, but its not really what the Amalfi Coast is about.
I have seen remarks about the staff being surly, but our experience was exactly the opposite, they could not be more polite and helpful. In my view it might have something to do with the way people treat them. The adage of treat people as you would like to be treated yourself is something I agree with.....
Anyway with trips to Pompeii & Vesuvius, as well as tourist bus to Amalfi & Ravello, we thoroughly enjoyed our week there. Thanks to all.

Room Tip: Definitely worth paying a supplement for sea view room....
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveH2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maiori
0.5 mi away
Hotel Club Due Torri
Hotel Club Due Torri
#2 of 17 in Maiori
577 reviews
0.1 mi away
Reginna Palace Hotel
Reginna Palace Hotel
#9 of 17 in Maiori
367 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pietra di Luna Hotel
Pietra di Luna Hotel
#4 of 17 in Maiori
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, BW Premier Collection
0.3 mi away
Hotel Botanico San Lazzaro
0.7 mi away
Villa Romana Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Panorama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Panorama

Property: Hotel Panorama
Address: Via Santa Tecla 8, 84010, Maiori, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Maiori
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Maiori
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Maiori
#1 Family Hotel in Maiori
#2 Romantic Hotel in Maiori
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Panorama 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right opposite the beach, which in the early 1950s was an antique storeroom designed for the stock and trade of "Sfusato" Lemons (typical local variety, IGT certified). Today the Hotel Panorama is a modern and efficient four star hotel establishment made up of 80 rooms, the majority of which boast an enchanting view of one of the most beautiful glimpses of the Amalfi Coast and its sea. Facing directly onto the promenade and a few steps away from the touristic harbour, it is situated in the town centre, the Panorama is an ideal place to enjoy a relaxing stay by the sea and thanks to its central position also a great starting point for all excursions and trips on the most beautiful coast in Italy. Amalfi, Capri, Ravello and Positano are just a few of the places easily reached from the Hotel Panorama which also provides, on request, guided excursions to Pompei, Ercolano, Sorrento and to all the main touristic, naturalistic and archeological attractions of the Campania region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Panorama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panorama Hotel Maiori
Hotel Panorama Maiori, Italy - Amalfi Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing