We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“King of the Castle” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castello di San Nicola de Thoro-Plano

Castello di San Nicola de Thoro-Plano
Ranked #1 of 18 things to do in Maiori
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“King of the Castle”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

Sr di Martino is charming. He gave us a friendly and informative tour of his castle. I asked him who was doing the renovations to which he replied: "I am. I am the King of the Castle." It was so peaceful up there and well worth the climb.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ams662013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    32
    8
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very nice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

Worth the walk, beautiful views, very interesting place to see, would be a shame to to make the effort

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank bundy1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“If in Maiori - don't miss this!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

We visited when the Castello was not due to open for an hour, but Signor di Martino appeared at the gate and ushered us in. As the previous contributor said, he has no English and we had no Italian, but that just wasn't a problem. He showed us the exhibits with such enthusiasm, and there were enough words and phrases to catch on to, that we knew exactly what he was describing (there's also a helpful leaflet). He is a genuinely kind and generous person, proud to show off the history of the Castello di Thoro-Plano - and what a history it is! Etruscan; Roman; Byzantine - and countless artifacts to prove it. A refuge against the attacks of the Lombards and the Saracens, where the townspeople could come up and take refuge within the walls (the enormous clap of thunder while we were there certainly heightened the atmosphere!).

Because of the personal attention and the tour he gave us, we could relate to it even better than to Pompei. It's a bit of a climb, but the views and the experience, and meeting Signor di Martino, made it the highlight of our holiday.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank BobC186525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Magical”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

I arrived just as Signor Crescenza di Martino was opening up. He gives you a personal guided tour of the castello, telling you about the herbs, picking bouquets, and pointing out the views and suggesting what might make a good photo. I was the only visitor and between my not very good italian and his not very extensive English we seemed to understand each other very well. He was an excellent guide and it was a quite magical visit.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank cajwatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south wales
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“huge climb!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

Hard work up all the steps in the heat, and great views, unfortunately we arrived with an Italian family, who got preferential treatment from the guide, in Italian, so we didn't wait around to be shown the battlements.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank debfisherj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castello di San Nicola de Thoro-Plano also viewed

 

Been to Castello di San Nicola de Thoro-Plano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing