We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (326)
Filter reviews
326 results
Traveler rating
277
28
7
5
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
277
28
7
5
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmichelin starevery eveninghalf boardmountain viewaperol spritzincredible viewsthank you very muchwine listfabulous stayhotel is lovelyrooms are comfortablequiet locationrestaurant staffdelicious foodski tripenzobarbara
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 326 reviews
Reviewed January 8, 2017

It was our second time at this truly magical hotel, and I was debating writing a review as I selfishly would like to keep this gem just for ourselves! After having stayed here in the February 2015 half term holidays (initially found via Alastair Sawdays recommendation), we decided to come back with our two younger children (17 and 12) for the week of New Year. The views were unchanged and breathtakingly beautiful to the Brenta Dolomites, both from our rooms and from the luxurious Spa area. The food seemed even better than last time, a fantastic four course meal, with every dish a treat on its own, but - especially after the Christmas-day feast back in the U.K. - without making you feel "stuffed" - amazing. The staff of this family-run small hotel are all lovely, from the young waiters to the maitre d', yet sufficiently relaxed that it creates a friendly, not stifled atmosphere. Enzo and Giovanni drop you off and pick you up wherever you fancy skiing, and take care of your hired equipment at the end of the weak - very nice!
On New Year's Eve we had a lovely celebration, having been placed next to a very nice and interesting family from the US, enjoyed lovely regional Spumante, oysters, scallops and other treats before another delicious, fantastic meal, followed by more Spumante, dance and party. If you are looking for a really wonderful treat in a lovely, mostly Italian resort (very few English, Germans, Dutch or others - it really seems a 'national gem'), then look no further. It was a real treat, and worth every penny! We will definitely come back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with mountain-view. The two junior suites offer amazing space and breathtaking, uninterrupted views to the Dolomites.
  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Jofel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2016

We spent a week at the hotel at the beginning of September - it was our third stay in 5 years. We have always found the Maffei family and their staff to be very friendly and extremely helpful. The rooms we have stayed in have been really good, comfortable with great views of the Brenta Mountains. Food has been excellent. It's probably our favourite hotel of any we have stayed in. The area is lovely: Madonna di Compiglio is a great little town (good location, very clean and tidy, great facilities, easy access to the mountains, good shops and cafes). Fantastic area for walking during the summer. We will return!!

Room Tip: Ask for mountain views
  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2016

Advertised as 4 star Superior in reality a 3 star Inferior

We had booked a room for a full week based on the promising Hermitage internet site pictures, info and high booking.com ratings, but were surprised when we checked into our room and noticed the room, terrace, bathroom were in a very old dilapidated state with use of cheap, half broken materials … rather a 3 star inferior than the advertised 4 star superior. We were not willing to spend more than 1 night in this room. The hotel owner proposed us a different smaller room which was better despite being smaller, but still nowhere near a 4 star rating hotel level. We stayed from Sunday evening until Wednesday morning and eventually checked in into a much better similar price real 4 star other hotel.

Read more if you want to avoid getting ripped off:

Pros:
-quiet area
-free parking
-great view on the mountains for rooms with panorama view
-wifi (relatively fast)
-fresh juice during breakfast
-Max, the good restaurant Maitre d’Hotel
-pet friendly
-clean
-restaurant seating (only if and when seated in nice area)

Cons:
-rooms rather 3 star inferior
-old run down state of bedroom furniture, sofa
-Terrace furniture ugly (see photos)
-bathroom outdated with use of cheap, half broken materials (cheap plastic stool, cheap magnifying mirror, cheap toilet brush, broken soap dispenser in continued use, bathrobes hanging on a Do-It-Yourself hook with chain, shower light coming out of ceiling and not according to safety regulations, towels at the end of their lifecycle, …)
-bathroom amenities: soap, shampoo and body cream in refillable bigger old bottles. The body cream actually had a dirty feaces smell!
-no fruit available during breakfast
-no free of charge afternoon cakes offered, contrary to many other hotels in this area
-restaurant seating (when seated in dark rear area)

Restaurant (dinner & breakfast):
-restaurant has two areas: a very nice area near big windows with great view outside and a dark rear area with no view at all. You don't want to sit in the rear area
-The dinner dishes we got served were very classic and nicely executed but lacked creativity and therefore were good without having impressed us.
-Dinner comes with 2 choices for each dish, but on two occasions 1 of the 2 choices was no longer available. On 1 occasion a main ingredient got replaced by an alternative ingredient and on another occasion the desert advertised with exotic fruit sorbet ended up being served with vanilla ice cream. When we informed the competent maître d’hotel about this he elegantly remediated this.
-wine was good at reasonable price
-breakfast was nice despite the lack of available fruit

Overall we felt having been ripped off as a result of the misleading pictures and information on their internet site not corresponding to the reality we got. When this hotel was managed by the previous generation it probably was a gem and most of the positive reviews on booking.com and tripadvisor date back to 2012. It feels like the current owners and management wants to surf on that past reputation, without wanting to continue to invest in renewing the rooms and is cutting down on expenses, resulting in milking off the customers. We were not happy about the poor value for money when comparing with what we’ve got elsewhere during prior years and shortly after having checked out from this hotel.

Check the photos and save yourself a disappointment. It is not difficult to find better deals elsewhere like we did.

Don’t forget to vote this review and pictures as helpful if it was.

Room Tip: Avoid Stella Alpine room, avoid this hotel
  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank LarryLAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hermitage_10, Proprietario at Bio Hotel Hermitage, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2016

Dear guest,
We are sorry you were not pleased with our hotel. We try our best to satisfy all the desires of our guests.
Our hotel has been remodeled in a mountain chalet style and we have used the timber to built it as wood is an important material in our regional architecture. As timber is a natural material, it takes time to age naturally. Our guests love the alpine style of our house.
We offered you some alternate hotels in Madonna di Campiglio which look more contemporary than ours but you decided to stay in our hotel. We are glad to know that you have enjoyed our services.
It’s very important that our breakfast offers fresh fruit and home-made cake is free of charge in the afternoon for guests (I cannot write this without any answers from other guest if this is wrong). For dinner we always offer three choices for both the first course and the main course.
All weak points present in your advice are for us strong points because in our vision wood is an essential component of the mountain charme.
We thank you for your suggestions.
Regards
Famiglia Maffei

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2016 via mobile

Thank you for a great holiday with you in your beautiful hotel.
The food and hospitality was first class
Thanks again for your understanding when we changed our booking at last minute.
We look forward to seeing you and the staff next time
Kind regards Brad and Joanne

Stayed: April 2016, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Brad W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2016

Lovely family run hotel with fabulous views to the mountains. Great food, relaxing spa- (pool area has a great view) and good service. Just outside village but very efficient shuttle minibus drops/collects from ski lifts and village centre so no need to walk with skis/snowboards/shopping/small children..We travelled as a family with x2 kids (12 and 14) plus another family with x3 kids (12,15,16). Worth it's 4 star rating.

Room Tip: Worth paying a bit extra for mountain view rooms. Room sizes vary so check on booking if possible.
  • Stayed: March 2016, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lils123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews