We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Grifone

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Grifone
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

All of the reviews about the friendly staff are true - thank you to Diego & the family at the front desk who always helped us with anything we needed. Now you can serve espresso martinis and think of me! A special thanks (and sorry!) to the poor night porter who would have to answer the doorbell when we arrived from having too much fun at night! This is a good location hotel close to a primary lift to skiing - it's a 10 min stroll up a slight hill in ski boots + carrying equipment so book closer if this is a bit much for you. Some thoughts - The Junior Suite is simply a room with a sofa so don't get excited by this description. Decor should be upgraded - especially in the pool area. The large pool was a nice to have but I'd prefer a much larger jacuzzi and one that is warm. It was flat out cold when I visited. The frosted glass doors on the spa changing rooms & toilet don't provide much privacy! The spa relaxation area is nice but I'd turn the lights down and provide cushions on the chaises. 15 euro to use this area is a bit much for a bathrobe. All in all, it gave us what we really needed which was restful sleep and nice hosts - thank you again for everything including the breakfast in our room!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krissytravelkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    44
    21
    8
    4
See reviews for
53
34
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
amsterdam
Level Contributor
120 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

I expected a quaint little mountain hotel, clean, cosy. What we got was a hotel that once we entered did not feel at all that we were in the mountains. The decor was a mix of 60's, 70's 80's and made no sense whatsoever, it hurt just to look at it. My room (Junior suite - not cheap) was absolutely spartan, small and once again, horribly decorated. The service in the breakfast room was good (staff friendly) the reception staff was less welcoming that they should have been, or make you feel at least. I was not tempted to spend 15 euros to go to the spa seen how the rest of the hotel felt and looked like. Frankly it was a place I tried to only use to sleep since I did not enjoy being there at all which is a pity.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexTedje2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

I stayed at this hotel in December 2012. It was fantastic. The room was perfect for a solo traveler and would have been fine for a couple as well. It had a comfortable queen size bed and plenty of closet space. There was also a balcony with a beautiful view of the mountains. I had the half-board which included breakfast and lunch or dinner. I highly recommend this option. The food was amazing, which is not usually true in hotels in Italy. Breakfast included every item you could possibly want -- eggs, cheeses, ham, yogurt, cereal, cakes and other sweets. Each lunch and dinner started with a salad bar that had the freshest vegetables, as well as first and second course and dessert. The service was impeccable -- from the front desk staff to all the people working in the dining room. The hotel is conveniently located for skiing, snowboarding and other winter activities. There is also a spa and gym if you want to take advantage of those. You can reach the hotel by public transportation as there is a bus to and from the Trento train station. The ride is amazing with fantastic views of the dolomites and Lake Garda.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London at the moment
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2010

Love this hotel. The staff are *incredibly* friendly and go out of their way daily to ensure you have a good stay; hard to describe just how warm and helpful these people are!

Location-wise its a few minutes walk from the main piazza in Madonna di Campiglio which is a great ski resort town (more details here: http://www.snow-forecast.com/resorts/Madonna-di-Campiglio). The hotel is about 200m from the nearest ski-lift that goes up to one of the main peaks.

We found out about this hotel through Italian friends, and the place is predominantly Italian guests (albeit from all over - Romans, Tuscans, Sicilians). There were some other international guests besides us - the staff speak English and German (and I think French as well).

Its a very "Italian Resort" experience as a result - most obviously with the five course meals every night (salad, starter, pasta, meat/fish, dessert/cheese). The food is very high quality and the restaurant staff are an intrinsic part of the charm of the place - attentive, efficient and friendly - after a day of skiing and a hot shower their service really hit the spot. The Maitre d'Hotel (Diego) in particular was brilliant - eg: I'm vegetarian and he always had considered alternatives for me each night. The same staff serve breakfast which is buffet spread, and they'll also prepare eggs. We had a full board stay but we didn't want to return at lunchtime so they prepared us a packed lunch (including chocolate! fabulous!). Also they mixed up the evening service so it wasn't monotonous - some nights a pianist played, one night was candlelight dinner, there was two evenings of pre-dinner drinks/snacks as well. After dinner, you can get coffee in the bar just upstairs from the dining room (again, the barman is delightful!).

The rooms themselves are nothing particularly special (will post some photos) but are contemporary and clean. We didn't spend much time in ours. We came back from skiing each night about 4:30pm and then either showered and went to the town centre or used the hotels "relaxation rooms" - jacuzzi, sauna, steam room and pool. Dinner was at 7:30pm and afterwards we hung out in the bar lounge but there is also a large television room/ piano bar downstairs, and a games room as well. There's also a large lounge area as you enter the hotel if you want somewhere quieter to go. The whole hotel is heated so that you can comfortably walk around in a t-shirt/shirt - the air is very dry but that's anywhere at this altitude.

If we had to list cons: there are closer hotels to the ski-lift, but we walked it in our skiboots without complaint. Also, Italians can be a lively bunch so its not that subdued in atmosphere but it was quiet during 'sleeping hours'. I found the beds on the firm side but not too much so.

Pros: one of the most friendly hotels we've ever stayed in, we were immediately comfortable from the moment we checked in.

A long review, but really had a great holiday here!! We'll stay again :)

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank roving_jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madonna Di Campiglio hotels
1.1 mi away
Golf Hotel Campiglio - ATAHotel
Golf Hotel Campiglio - ATAHotel
#16 of 54 in Madonna Di Campiglio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
0.2 mi away
Spinale Hotel
Spinale Hotel
#8 of 54 in Madonna Di Campiglio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
1.2 mi away
Panorama Hotel Fontanella
Panorama Hotel Fontanella
#22 of 54 in Madonna Di Campiglio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Garni Palu
Hotel Garni Palu
#38 of 54 in Madonna Di Campiglio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alpen Suite Hotel
Alpen Suite Hotel
#26 of 54 in Madonna Di Campiglio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Bertelli
Hotel Bertelli
#28 of 54 in Madonna Di Campiglio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grifone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grifone

Property: Hotel Grifone
Address: Via Vallesinella 7, 38086 Madonna Di Campiglio, Pinzolo, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Pinzolo > Madonna Di Campiglio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 54 Hotels in Madonna Di Campiglio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grifone 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is situated south of the lake, away from the main traffic routes. It is located in a sunny spot, just a short walk distance from the town centre, shopping area and Spinale cable-car is very nearby (200 m). During Winter, aside the hotel there is the stop of the SKI BUS that link, free of costs, all the departing point of the cable cars of the ski area Madonna di Campiglio - Campo Carlo Magno. It is a typical Alpine building - elegant, functional and comfortable at the same time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Grifone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing