We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food but the service, the hell of Dante!”

Rifugio Chalet Fiat
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food but the service, the hell of Dante!”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We went in a group of 12 to this well recommended restaurant in the slopes of Spinale, Madonna di Campiglio, to find an aggressive maître, who attends by the name of Dante. Although we were not in the mood of drinking wine, he insisted at least three times in bringing bottles to offer us, and distributed the wine list to many people in the table. Pushy as a trader, he announced that he would bring to us a special entree combining the offers of the menu. We order then 11 first dishes and one steak, drank beer and mineral water, just to be surprised by an account which included 20 entrees! When questioned about this obvious (dishonest?) mistake since how could he charge us for 20 entrees if we were 12 people, he (Dante) said we had an abundance of food and should pay for that. The bill accounted for 50 Euro per person to have a lunch on the slopes. The food was good, but the service, "Il Inferno di Dante". Beware of this Dante!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jorge S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,029 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    474
    408
    101
    29
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Lorenzo in Bibbiano
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Different”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Located at the top of one of the many ski runs this chalet offers good value with regard to light refreshments. The exclusive dining area looked very elaborate, however, the main public area was more like a school dining room ( not good). Staff were very polite and cheerful.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank ContadinoDiVino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A MUST!”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

An instritution, and no MdC trip is ever complete without a long late lunch at Chalet Fiat. Ski like a teenager in the morning and roll up to the peak of Spinale ( a run down the Schumacher run is essential priot to lunch) and go to Chalet Fiat at 2pm and let your self go at the hands of Dante the Great! Such a joy! Good Luck getting down although the gondola is an option too..NOT!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AndreasNicolett... P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
“Best place for lunch or après ski in Madonna!”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We had such a great experience dining at this wonderful restaurant during our vacation this year. Dante is a real star chef, he kept surprising us every day with delicious dishes. I highly recommend this restaurant for families and couples. The place has friendly staff and a stunning view as well as an impressive wine list.
Alexey Chernyshov and my family and friends

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alexey_Chernyshov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quite possibly the greatest mountain restaurant. FACT!”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

This was our second trip to Madonna and both times we have eaten at Chalet Fiat in both the restaurant and the al a carte restaurant and have never been disappointed. The food is outstanding. The staff are so friendly even over the New Year when the restaurant was heaving they still couldn't do enough for you. Dante in the Al a carte restaurant is very special man and invited us up for one of the dinner eveings. After a short cat ride up the mountain your greeted with aperitve's followed by 4 courses of amazing food, wine, coffee and dancing. We were then driven back down the mountain in a fiat panda with tractor wheels. An eveing I will not forget. Roberto the owner and his staff should be very proud of Chalet Fiat. We are hoping to be back again before the end of the season.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JustineCampbellJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rifugio Chalet Fiat also viewed

Madonna Di Campiglio, Pinzolo
Madonna Di Campiglio, Pinzolo
 
Madonna Di Campiglio, Pinzolo
Madonna Di Campiglio, Pinzolo
 

Been to Rifugio Chalet Fiat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing