We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Wonderful food and accommodation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Auberge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Auberge
Ranked #1 of 1 Yaxley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and accommodation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

A friend had recommended the food here, so we decided to try it out for my partners birthday and make a night of it by staying over. It was truly wonderful. The room complete with comfortable four poster bed and Chaiselonge was very tastefully decorated to a high standard. It was large and spacious with air conditioning but also extremely quiet and peaceful. The bathroom was a good size with a wonderful double shower, fluffy towels and full size toiletries.
The food was excellent quality and included in the stayover deal. My partners steak was cooked to perfection and my skate was really tasty. We opted for a bottle of Champagne to celebrate the evening and were pleasantly surprised at the £35 cost.
Breakfast the following morning was delicious having made our choices the night before.
Everything was truly delightful and we will be back for another visit.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alison Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    27
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
72
2
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

We attended an 18th birthday party at the Auberge. They opened specially and provided a set menu with a good choice including veggie and gluten free options. The food and service were excellent, the staff worked hard to ensure we all had a good time.

There is a good wine list and rooms although we were not stopping over.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Butlerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

Went here for lunch with friends, such a welcome greeting, had Salmon in white wine for main with lovely fresh vegetables and mashed potatoes, and for sweet I had a lemon sponge with a pot of cream which was just to die for, I loved it.

Very reasonable price, lovely service, cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

It is very difficult it seems to find a decent restaurant in East Anglia. We ate for the first time there last Saturday evening and found the food and the service to be excellent and can say it is the best restaurant we have found in East Anglia. The Maitre d' has some French influence having been taken to Reims and Epernay as a child and it does show.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cooperman503907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

We happened across this absolute gem thanks to google and trip advisor. Couldn't have been happier. Great room, amazing food and brilliant hosting. We had a tip top meal (and rather tasty bottle of house malbec) and came away happy and full! Don't hesitate, just book!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gemma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

Went with three friends for dinner, had a lovely time. Very friendly welcoming staff with a very professional attitude, and nice not over fussy decor. Nice area to have a pre dinner drink and dining room very cosy. Food served in good time and all of us had different options and all delicious with no complaints other than I should have gone for a bigger steak as it was so good. Had not been for over 9 years and the last time it was great also and it still is today. Thank you, see you soon.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephandb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orsett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

What a stunning find. I am almost loath to submit a review in case too many people find it and we can't get back in ourselves. This place is amazing. My wife, Jill, and I and Jill's sister, Sue, and her husband, Jim, went up to Suffolk for a few days, partly to visit the Bressingham Steam Museum, part of my Christmas present, and for a short break. Jill looked on the internet for a suitable hotel close by and The Auberge popped up. She read the reports and the great things said about it and we decided to book. What a beautiful bijou hotel in a beautiful bucolic setting. The accommodation, with wonderfully comfortable four poster beds, left not a thing out. Spotlessly clean rooms with comfortable pristine furniture. A bathroom to die for. The shower was big enough for four, although we didn't actually try! The shower head's first setting had a massive square rose that was monsoon like in efficiency. The second setting was four smaller roses that pulsed a really invigorating massage spray and the third setting was a Niagara like wall of water coming out at right angles to the wall to thoroughly drench. High class soap and shampoos, and towels big enough to wrap round twice and thick enough to loose oneself in. High quality tea, coffee and chocolate, packets of biscuits, Harrogate bottled water, bowls of sweets, packets of peanuts - all complementary - and a 32inch flat TV were the very thick icing on the cake.

So amazing accommodation. What about the food. It reached the same dizzy heights. Breakfast was without flaw. Fill in the form and hand it in on the previous night for food cooked, plated and served with no delay and even more importantly piping hot and served as it finishes cooking. Limitless juice, cereals - including wonderful porridge - and a cooked choice that will cater for any taste - the smoked haddock (un-dyed) was superb. Limitless toast. Limitless tea and coffee. Dinner was so good that contrary to our plans to eat out at different restaurants during our three night stay, we dined at The Auberge every night. Their chef is a maestro. The four of us tried so many different starters, main courses and desserts over our three nights, it is impossible to highlight any one, and in fact would be incredibly unfair to do so. The food was amazing. Beautifully cooked, beautifully presented and all cooked to order. Vegetables cooked to just right, and no more. Nothing could be faulted. The chef and kitchen staff are superstars. Like the rooms the little extra touches meant so much and gave a feeling of clients being wanted and cared for. Each table in the dining room had a bowl of fresh lemons and limes! Thick linen napkins. There was a limitless supply of delicious bread coupled with a limitless supply of butter. Free water was supplied in spring topped bottles, that were replaced as soon as they approached empty. Only tap water but that is all I ever want at my restaurant table. I don't want to pay a ridiculous price for some pretentious bottled water, but so many restaurants are not too happy to supply tap water, and I have been charged for it in the past! This was supplied without the need to ask, and kept coming. A thoughtful wine list rounded off the excellent menu. A choice from a very good house to some high end vintages, but without pretension, and not cripplingly expensive, plus a very well stocked bar. The individual lovely white fluffy hand towels in the toilets, again added that little extra that you perhaps don't miss if it's not there, but so appreciate when it it. Wonderful food with outstanding service with wonderful, friendly staff.

This is the longest most effusive review that I have ever written, but The Auberge, and John and Dee, the proprietors, deserve every accolade going - and more. As I said at the start, 5 stars aren't enough for this outstanding hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Les B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yaxley
2.9 mi away
The Oaksmere
The Oaksmere
#1 of 1 in Eye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
2.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Brome Grange Hotel
19.1 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Hintlesham Hall
Hintlesham Hall
#1 of 1 in Hintlesham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Park hotel
The Park hotel
#1 of 4 in Diss
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
17.7 mi away
Satis House Hotel
Satis House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yoxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Auberge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Auberge

Property: The Auberge
Address: Ipswich Road | Eye, Yaxley IP23 8BZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Yaxley
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Yaxley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Auberge 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Auberge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing