We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the Best”
Review of The Auberge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Auberge
Ranked #1 of 1 Yaxley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 4, 2013

A bit wary first of all, as after parking our car and made our way towards the hotel/restaurent we found the door was locked and there were instructions to ring a wall mounted phone for someone to come and take us to our room. But within a minute john came out and showed us to our room (no.11). From then on we have nothing but praise. The room was excellent. Air conditioning, a large four poster bed with top quality linen, a chaise longue, a great shower room with good quality soaps etc. As others have said, although next to the a140 there was no noise. In fact i forget to set my alarm and we were late for breakfast!!! As expected from a quality establishment this was not even mentioned. We had two different breakfasts ( with extras that you can request that were not on the menu card). We were offered cereals in addition to what we ordered. All in all a great hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BenEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (177)
There are newer reviews for The Auberge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 177 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2013

Stayed here on a dinner, bed and breakfast deal. The room was very nice with surprisingly little traffic noise - being next to the busy A140 - excellent showers (no bath in our room at least), aircon, decent tv, huge bed and nice bits a pieces (peanuts, biscuits, sweets etc).
Breakfast was very good, especially compared to the previous nights hotels buffet style affair, being all freshly done with a good choice.
Recommended and would go back but only on the above deal or it might be a bit pricey.
Fit a bath, slightly cheaper and move the A140 and it would be 5star!
See separate review of dinner at The Bull at The Auberge.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank princewobblebottom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights as we were attending a friend's wedding in nearby Yaxley Hall. The owners and staff all very friendly and welcoming. John helped us carry out luggage and showed us up to our room and how to use the air-con etc which was a welcoming touch.

We had room 10, large room in the separate block, with en suite bath. Air con very good. Hairdyer, kettle with tea and coffee and toiletries available in the bathroom. Also there is WIFI in the rooms

The bed was hugh, four poster and very comfy.

Breakfast is served 7.30-9.30, and they do ask that you are prompt to breakfast if you choose to arrive at 9.30.
A menu card with breakfast options is given to you on arrival, to complete and return.

Good choice of cereals, fruit compote, yogurt, good breakfast, and an option for anything else you would like ( a friend did ask for a bacon sarnie, and indeed she did get one!)

lovely rural location, and they have their own chickens in their garden, so the eggs must be very fresh!

we would recommend the auburge, and we would stay again if we were in the area again.

Room Tip: room 10 - corner room- upstairs (2 flights) but spacious with four poster bed and en suite bath.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ktnpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We chose The Auberge for our daughters combined 18th and 21st Birthday celebrations. What can I say? Absolutely excellent. Wonderful rooms, food, service and breakfast. The staff from the owners down to the housekeeper were so attentive, friendly and very eager to please. We will certainly be returning. This is a gem.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bubbykins01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

I had emailed to check we had a quiet room after reading a couple of road noise reviews I was a little worried as my husband is a ridiculously light sleeper and having a night away from the children, peace and quiet was what was needed. I was assured that we would have a quiet room and it was (room 6). The corridor outside carries a lot of noise but this is hardly the sort of place to attract revellers! The air con, blackout curtains, and the enormous and wonderfully comfortable bed make for a very relaxing stay. My only criticism is that none of the rooms have a bath, and whilst the rainforest showers are nice, I do like to lounge in the bath when I get a break. The family are very hospitable as everyone else has said and the dinner was very nice too...but the breakfast was amazing. A very comfortable stay and somewhere I would have no qualms in recommending.

Room Tip: We saw in a few rooms in the back building where we stayed and our room, room 6 looked the biggest a...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank claire h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

My wife and I celebrated our wedding anniversary here and opted to stay the night. The restaurant is a cosy old beamed pub, the food superb, the service exception. Our room was very nicely decorated and the en suite good. Breakfast was also superb. We had a very enjoyable meal and stop over. Only slight issue was our en suite did not have a shower.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrandMrsICHBI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Needing somewhere to stay near Eye we were delighted that we chose The Auberge. Excellent hospitality from the family owners, spotlessly clean room and bathroom, and the food and service could not be faulted. Unfortunately my husband and I are both light sleepers and slept badly because of traffic on the A140 which is the main North/South artery through East Anglia. However this may well not disturb other people and from our point of view was the only small downside to our visit.
Having an AA 5-star Gourmet Restaurant Award the restaurant is always highly popular and table booking is essential.
Dee, Jon and John, and all their supporting staff will make you feel really welcome and I would have no hesitation in recommending The Auberge.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aphrodite01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yaxley
2.7 mi away
Best Western Brome Grange Hotel
2.9 mi away
The Oaksmere
The Oaksmere
#1 of 1 in Eye
470 reviews
17.9 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
1,210 reviews
19.1 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
17.9 mi away
Hintlesham Hall
Hintlesham Hall
#1 of 1 in Hintlesham
1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Auberge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Auberge

Address: Ipswich Road, Yaxley IP23 8BZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Yaxley
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Yaxley
Price Range: $124 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Auberge 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Auberge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing