We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Auberge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Auberge
Ranked #1 of 1 Yaxley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A wonderful weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

My husband and I stayed there on the 29th September for his birthday and were made to feel really welcome. The service from start to finish was very professional and friendly and both dinner and breakfast were truly scrumptious. Our room was spacious and have everything you need with a great walk in power shower. It was a real treat and we hope to return again soon.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    29
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
80
2
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

This was our second stay at the Auberge and once again John, Dee & family excelled themselves. We stayed for two nights and requested the four-poster room in the new building which is furnished beautifully and has a great shower. We also ate in the restaurant on both nights and the food and service is 1st class. The family certainly go that extra mile to please their guests. When we were visiting Norfolk on a couple of occasions we have gone out of our way just to have lunch at the Auberge and have never left disappointed. It feels like we have an extended family and were nicely surprised when we met the new addition to the family. Congratulations to them for winning the best restaurant with rooms 2012 they really do deserve it. We will definitely return again.

Room Tip: We have always stayed in the new building four poster room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SHill_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Having just spent six days at The Auberge, I can safely say there was nothing more John, Dee and Jon could have done to make our stay any better! The warm and friendly welcome was complemented by the courteous consideration given to my husband's mobility needs and made our stay stress-free and relaxing. The location of the disabled access room is ideal, with a dedicated parking space immediately adjacent to the entrance - perfect.

Add to this the good food and its central location in East Anglia and I don't think you could find anywhere better.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

We stayed for a family wedding on the 8th and 9th September. The rooms are large and lovely, the food is excellent and the service is 1st class - what else can you want. John, Dee and their son are very welcoming hosts. One word of warning; do NOT order everything on the breakfast menu unless you have the appetite of a horse.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StirlingDoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stayed overnight and ate in the restaurant. Our room was beautiful - the furnishings and drapes were very tasteful. The bed was large and comfortable and the linens were white, fresh and a joy to lay on. A lot of thought, love and pride has gone into the decorating of the rooms. The food and service were also excellent. Well done and thank you Dee and John.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linda n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

We were welcomed by John and shown to our room which was in the new building. We were very pleased with the size of the accommodation which had a Four Poster bed, free wi-fi (its very important for me to have wi-fi in order to keep in touch with my businesses) there was a very large shower room and a large 'living' area, the room was immaculate and overlooked the rear garden.

We stayed here for two nights, and ate in the Restaurant both evenings. The second evening being Valentines meant the restaurant was very busy, but the service from the staff and the quality of the food was exemplary, as it had been on the first evening.

We will be returning to The Auberge soon and look forward to another few nights in the company of The Stenhouse Family.

Congratulations on your most recent award - Gourmet Britains “Best Restaurant with Rooms in the UK” - very much deserved!

Room Tip: The Four Poster Rooms are lovely and excellent value for money, as is the Restaurant so try both and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy_and_Jane_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night on business. rooms were great, the bathrooms are stunning and the bedrooms were very spacious. We ate here as we didn't want to go out, the food was very good and excellent value for money. Breakfast was very good. If you get a chance - try it !

i liked it so much, i'm staying there again tonight !

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fatcat153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yaxley
2.8 mi away
Best Western Brome Grange Hotel
2.9 mi away
The Oaksmere
The Oaksmere
#1 of 1 in Eye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
19.1 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Scole Inn
Scole Inn
#1 of 1 in Scole
3.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
24.7 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sudbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,038 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Park hotel
The Park hotel
#1 of 4 in Diss
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Auberge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Auberge

Property: The Auberge
Address: Ipswich Road, Yaxley IP23 8BZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Yaxley
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Yaxley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Auberge 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Auberge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing