We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A week skiing in Livigno” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel San Giovanni

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel San Giovanni
Ranked #7 of 79 Hotels in Livigno
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A week skiing in Livigno”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

We booked a week skiing through Neilson last minute, specifically wanting to stay in Livigno. After reading other reviews of San Giovanni we thought it seemed a fairly reasonable price for half-board.
The location was good for ski school and nursery slopes however quite far from the main resort the nearest bars being Marco's and a few others. There is a bus stop directly outside and an easy nursery slope behind the hotel.
The hotel was warm, welcoming and clean. Our room was small but cosy and warm most of the time, with a daily maid service, clean towels etc. The hotel has a nice lounge and bar area with Wifi plus a ski and boot room downstairs.

We stayed half board, the majority of meals were normal home cooked food which was very nice however a couple of evenings we were a little disappointed i.e. chicken curry. The breakfast was limited to a continental with bread, jam, ham and eggs with no fresh fruit; however halfway through the week another guest requested this and the next morning a big selection was laid out croissants included. A hot breakfast selection such as omelettes would be great idea and maybe a toaster?

In summary we had a fantastic time in Livigno skiing, we enjoyed our holiday at San Giovanni and feel it is a good value hotel to stay in. We met some great people and we also got engaged!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pixie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    76
    12
    1
    5
See reviews for
129
45
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vodskov, Denmark
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

I have visited this nice hotel many times, and everytime I leave....I want to go back. Staff is excellent and the restaurant serves italien cuisine at a very fair price. Don´t forget to visit Armando in his "little" wineshop behind the bar. The Hotel is situated in a quit location with a ski lift 50 m away. Ski bus i right outside the door. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who would like til make a stay in Livigno.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MadsMarklund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

Here you get very thing from the always happy staff. You get good service, great food og wine. All so a nice bar and a very good wine shop. The hotel is just next to a lift and from here you can easy come around in the ski area. The bus also stop next to the hotel. Every thing is just perfect. We will be back :-)

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lone M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clones
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

Just back from our annual trip to San Giovanni, everything about this hotel makes Livigno our favourite holiday destination. This is our home from home, staff, affordable food, accommodation and location to the carasello lift, de fox ski hire and the local supermarket makes this hotel my #1 hotel in Livigno. I think this is our 11th time in Livigno and our 10th time in San Giovanni and can only say we are looking forward to visiting next year. If you like family run hotels, hotels that care about their guests then this is the place for you.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank adamsonross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swadlincote
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

We have been skiing in Livigno for around 22 years, most of which we stayed in the San Giovanni. Having watched Livigno grow and hotels like the Lac Salin being built we ask ourselves each year why we go back to this small, older hotel. The answer is simple. We see old friends. This includes the staff, owners and many many guests that we see year in and year out. This speaks for itself. The hotel would not have so many repeat guests unless the atmosphere, comfort and food was good. After all, it's a skiing holiday not a laze around the pool five star beach holiday.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jugsaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

We booked this hotel as part of a Neilson holiday, following recommendation of friends. It was a great place to stay, we had a large room which was very clean, the food was very tasty and the large social area was a great place to meet other guests. The staff were attentive and very friendly and we loved the attached wine shop which was a treasure trove of goodies at great prices! The nursery slope was just round the back of the hotel and with a bit of poling we could ski back in at the end of the day!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank redchocolatecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

We have stayed at San Giovanni's 3 years running, it is a charming hotel and we always receive a warm welcome. There is a bus stop right outside meaning easy connection to slopes and shopping etc. The rooms were impeccably clean and very comfortable. Breakfast buffet had a great continental selection and restaurant staff were delightfully cheerful. Meal portions are generously sized (especially the pizzas!Yum!) with a fantastic choice of local dishes (we would recommend the onion soup ;-) From the quality of the rooms and food, to the friendliness and personal service each staff member offers, we do not believe you will find better value for your money anywhere else in livigno! We cannot wait for next year!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Livigno hotels
1.0 mi away
Charme Hotel Alexander
Charme Hotel Alexander
#20 of 79 in Livigno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Sonne
Hotel Sonne
#1 of 79 in Livigno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lac Salin Spa & Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Concordia
Hotel Concordia
#8 of 79 in Livigno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Spol - Feel at Home
Hotel Spol - Feel at Home
#13 of 79 in Livigno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Baita Montana
Hotel Baita Montana
#3 of 79 in Livigno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Giovanni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Giovanni

Property: Hotel San Giovanni
Address: Via Florin 40, 23030, Livigno, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Sondrio > Livigno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Livigno
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Livigno
#7 Family Hotel in Livigno
#20 Romantic Hotel in Livigno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Giovanni 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel San Giovanni is a three- star family-run , Alpine-style with warm and welcoming atmosphere . Situated in the San Rocco area , at the start of the ski lifts of the ski CAROSELLO 3000 , and 1.5 Km from the pedestrian zone. The track pedestrian , bicycle and cross-country skiing are just a few meters from the hotel. Connected by a free bus service , both in winter and in summer. Directly on the ski slopes for those who love to ski ; green in summer for those who want to walk or play sports. The rooms are very warm and welcoming , they are all equipped with private bathroom , hair dryer , LCD television with satellite channels , free WIFI, safe, terrace or balcony. At the Hotel San Giovanni stands care for the kitchen directly supervised by the owners, which has among its specialties and international dishes , also wood stove for those who love pizza. Breakfast is served buffet style while dinner choice of 3 menus. The hotel has a small living room, bar, restaurant, Ski rom heated parking , FREE WIFI . Outdoor terrace with a children's playground and free use of bicycles for both children and adults. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel San Giovanni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Giovanni Hotel
San Giovanni Livigno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing