We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“avoid at all costs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alpen Village Hotel
Ranked #11 of 79 Hotels in Livigno
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 5, 2011

Livigno is a wonderful resort and we were blessed with epic snow and sun,but the San Carlo is a nightmare,the food is my main concern,disgusting would sum it up and being Italian i knew what I was eating,the hotel is generally clean and tidy,the rooms were kept spotlessly clean,but the noise from the corridors is unbearable and one night a group of at least 20 guests were having a party in the corridor,I complained and to be fair it was dealt with on the spot;location is fairly good with the excellent free resort buses,will return to Livigno soon but not to the San Carlo.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rava666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,023)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 1,023 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2010

Hotel Villaggio San Carlo is situated in Livigno which is a fabulous resort for begginers and intermediates. The slopes are fantastic as they are wide and the snow for April was great. We had a lovely ski instructor who was extremely friendly. The nightlife in livigno is not huge although the town has many restaraunts.

The hotel itself was average. The room was good, fairly small but how much time do you spend in your room on a ski holiday? There were school trips there for the first two nights and there was lots of noise outside the room although it quietened down after that but others had said that there was an extremely loud group in their part of the hotel that partied until 4am one night. The staff are friendly and helpful and their English was fine.

The food was okay; pasta was lovely which was on the menu most nights. Veel was also on the menu most nights so if your a fan of veel in every size, shape and form this is the place for you. One thing we noticed was that there was very little for vegetarians which wasn't a problem for us but i wouldn't recomend this hotel to a vegetarian as some nights all there was was a pasta starter and mixed salad from the bar.

The lobby and bar wasn't very bright and the bar was deserted most nights but we found that the intermonti across the road was brighter and someone told us that the food was great. The ski resort is a 20 minute walk into town although a bus stops just outside the hotel every 10-15 minutes which takes about 2 minutes into town. There is a black run outside the back of the hotel which i wouldn't recomend for beginers but isn't too hard to give a go for intermediates. There is a ski room at the back of the hotel for skiing on the motelino side of the valley and for skiing on the other side the ski hire shop let us leave our equiptment there which was very handy.

The skiing itself was great but there are just enough runs for about 10 days and advanced people might not find the skiing very challenging although we met people that were fabulous skiers that had been going to livigno for over 20 years.

Shopping was also great as livigno is a duty free area and alcohol was extremely cheap.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pipsy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2010

After reading all reviews here, I was not sure what I can expect. However the staff was really friendly and helpful, services were good, location excellent.
The spot on the service level was a fact that we had a vegetarian among us - and they were not able to resolve main food (which has been always a choice of two kinds of meat). Funny enough - there were almost always some vegetarian starters, lots of possibilities to get pasta, spaghetti, pizza ... just name it. But for the main they were just able to bring assortment of cheese (we had these 3 times - and it’s nice to have it after the wine, but not quite for the main), luckily we had two times omelet - but again, I cannot believe, that this was the first vegetarian to be served. On the plus side - the deserts were really nice.
Other minor thing is that the hotel has got swimming pool - but unless you have swim cap with you, you are not allowed in. No caps at the spot.

The room was close to reception – but that has been not quite an advantage – lots of noise from the bar and basement location without view.

Overall our stay there was well; the staff was trying their best, so with just few improvements it could be rated very good.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vakim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2010

This is good 3 stars hotel. Rooms are clean, warm, and tastefully furnished; yes they are small, but you don't stay in room during ski holiday. Swimming pool is ok, restourant is ok, food is AWESOME! Ski bus stop is near hotel. Hosts are nice. View is fantastic...

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank apricotess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception A, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Alpen Village Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2015

Dear apricotes,

thank you for your review! We are very glad that you spent good time in our hotel. About the rooms, the hotel has 180 rooms and there are different types: in few weeks the new suites will be ready and we are waiting for you to try the new accomodation!

Greeting from Alpen Village Staff!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2009

I won a holiday and was informed that i have to stay at Hotel San Carlo. After i read the previous reviews on this site, i was terrified, but once i arrived there i was totally amazed. The service i received was excellent from all the staff members, both those at the reception, the waiters and even the cleaners. They were very friendly, always prompt in saying good morning and were always there for a chat.

The food was also great, we had fresh food for breakfast every day, and with regards to dinner we had a 3 course dinner. If we (or other people) did not like the desert we were offered something else. With regards to the seating at the restaurant, they were not set in groups of 10 or so, but i sat alone with my partner, and so did the other guests.

If i had to say something negative about the hotel, i would say that we did not have enough free space in the room for our luggages and ski stuff, but it was always clean with the towels being changed every day and the beds were "normal" beds and not camping beds.

On the contrary to what the majority of the people wrote on this site, i would suggest this hotel to a lot of people. One may say that the hotel is not in the centre of Livigno, however, there are busses (which are free) till 7.30 in the evening. Then if one would want to go to the centre later on in the evening, you have to take a taxi and the service from them is also great. Don't forget if you go to another place, you will have to pay for the transport all throughout the day.

Other people at Livigno said the same thing about the hotel, so please don't be mislead by the previous comments.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lex310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2008

Stayed in this hotel for one night after six nights at the lovely Hotel Meeting-and what a comedown! Having come through the Spanish Inquisition style check-in I had the audacity to ask for my key-only to be told my room would not be clean until four p.m. (it was 10.30 a.m.) Was suffering from 'stomach flu' so had to beg another member of staff for a clean room and was given one within the half hour. Trundling down the spiral staircase with a case full of ski gear is no mean feat, and actually dangerous when you consider the weight of such a case(there are no lifts in this joint). The room was poky and the bed had only two thin covers,the extractor fan in the en suite was definitely housing some insect in its dying hours and the noise from the corridor outside was constant and multi-lingual.
Chancing my luck in the 'restaurant' I found I was not welcome as I was on a b and b basis-fair enough(was willing to pay extra) but was told it was full when clearly loads of free tables available. Returned an hour later for some 'famine' soup and pink chicken leg-wasn't even offered a drink. The factory canteen style decor and bowls of withered salad added insult to injury.
Need I say more-this place is foul-foul staff, you need a debit card to buy goods in the minimarket or drinks in (booming) bar, and foul stairs everywhere. After about 7.30 p.m. a taxi ride to the village is six euro one way-and believe me you will not want to spend any of your precious evenings in Hotel San Carlo. Avoid.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank livigno08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2008

Just Back from Hotel Villagio San Carlo in Livigno and really enjoyed the stay. It was a 3 star hotel. It was clean, the food was good, a nice family atmosphere. It also allowed us to ski directly to & from the hotel (not suitable for beginners, but not too difficult).

Like previous postings, I would agree that some of the reception staff did not appear to smile, but were more than willing to help out in any way once asked.

It is important to request for your group to be seated together in the restaurant, but once we requested this, they had no problem to accommodate us. Also, don't be shy when loading up the cash card for the bar - they will refund you if you have money left over at the end, or it can make a nice tip.

Like all hotels, you cannot choose your neighbours, but in general it had a lovely atmosphere and was well supported by the Italians - always a good sign. It is a bit out of town, but the bus service is good and leaves from just outside the door.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank odeski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Livigno hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Astra
Hotel Astra
#24 of 79 in Livigno
340 reviews
0.1 mi away
Charme Hotel Alexander
Charme Hotel Alexander
#19 of 79 in Livigno
324 reviews
0.4 mi away
Baita Montana Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Spol - Feel at Home
1.0 mi away
Hotel Amerikan
Hotel Amerikan
#7 of 79 in Livigno
453 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Francesin
Hotel Francesin
#17 of 79 in Livigno
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpen Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpen Village Hotel

Address: Via Gerus, 311, 23030, Livigno, Italy (Formerly Hotel Villaggio San Carlo)
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Sondrio > Livigno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Livigno
#39 Family Hotel in Livigno
Price Range: $80 - $399 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alpen Village Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alpen Hotel Village, a 3-star hotel in Livigno, is on the border of a centuries-old wood and offers you a charming view of Livigno. It is an ideal place for those who want to take a break surrounded by nature, pampered by our staff and with the comforts that the hotel offers. The complex is made up by a central building where you will find the reception, a welcoming bar, a nice restaurant and a quiet lounge, and an area with a swimming pool, outdoor saunas and a wellness centre, and 7 connected chalets where the rooms are. This fall the Galli family has taken over the management of the Alpen Village Hotel. Our family has been working in the tourist business for 3 generations and our philosophy has always been that of offering quality holidays to our guests: cheerful, welcoming atmosphere, excellent services, comfort, wellness, activities in the surrounding area, delicious dishes and a good value for money. In winter as well as in summer, it is an excellent starting point for bike rides, excursions on foot or on skis thanks to Mottolino skiing facilities that you can reach also on foot. For us every guest is part of the family! His or her satisfaction is our joy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Alpen Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Carlo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing