We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay at Hotel San Carlo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alpen Village Hotel
Ranked #12 of 79 Hotels in Livigno
Certificate of Excellence
Tarxien
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Stay at Hotel San Carlo”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2009

I won a holiday and was informed that i have to stay at Hotel San Carlo. After i read the previous reviews on this site, i was terrified, but once i arrived there i was totally amazed. The service i received was excellent from all the staff members, both those at the reception, the waiters and even the cleaners. They were very friendly, always prompt in saying good morning and were always there for a chat.

The food was also great, we had fresh food for breakfast every day, and with regards to dinner we had a 3 course dinner. If we (or other people) did not like the desert we were offered something else. With regards to the seating at the restaurant, they were not set in groups of 10 or so, but i sat alone with my partner, and so did the other guests.

If i had to say something negative about the hotel, i would say that we did not have enough free space in the room for our luggages and ski stuff, but it was always clean with the towels being changed every day and the beds were "normal" beds and not camping beds.

On the contrary to what the majority of the people wrote on this site, i would suggest this hotel to a lot of people. One may say that the hotel is not in the centre of Livigno, however, there are busses (which are free) till 7.30 in the evening. Then if one would want to go to the centre later on in the evening, you have to take a taxi and the service from them is also great. Don't forget if you go to another place, you will have to pay for the transport all throughout the day.

Other people at Livigno said the same thing about the hotel, so please don't be mislead by the previous comments.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lex310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

740 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    285
    86
    38
    30
See reviews for
272
196
15
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2008

Stayed in this hotel for one night after six nights at the lovely Hotel Meeting-and what a comedown! Having come through the Spanish Inquisition style check-in I had the audacity to ask for my key-only to be told my room would not be clean until four p.m. (it was 10.30 a.m.) Was suffering from 'stomach flu' so had to beg another member of staff for a clean room and was given one within the half hour. Trundling down the spiral staircase with a case full of ski gear is no mean feat, and actually dangerous when you consider the weight of such a case(there are no lifts in this joint). The room was poky and the bed had only two thin covers,the extractor fan in the en suite was definitely housing some insect in its dying hours and the noise from the corridor outside was constant and multi-lingual.
Chancing my luck in the 'restaurant' I found I was not welcome as I was on a b and b basis-fair enough(was willing to pay extra) but was told it was full when clearly loads of free tables available. Returned an hour later for some 'famine' soup and pink chicken leg-wasn't even offered a drink. The factory canteen style decor and bowls of withered salad added insult to injury.
Need I say more-this place is foul-foul staff, you need a debit card to buy goods in the minimarket or drinks in (booming) bar, and foul stairs everywhere. After about 7.30 p.m. a taxi ride to the village is six euro one way-and believe me you will not want to spend any of your precious evenings in Hotel San Carlo. Avoid.

  • Disliked — steep stairs
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank livigno08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2008

Just Back from Hotel Villagio San Carlo in Livigno and really enjoyed the stay. It was a 3 star hotel. It was clean, the food was good, a nice family atmosphere. It also allowed us to ski directly to & from the hotel (not suitable for beginners, but not too difficult).

Like previous postings, I would agree that some of the reception staff did not appear to smile, but were more than willing to help out in any way once asked.

It is important to request for your group to be seated together in the restaurant, but once we requested this, they had no problem to accommodate us. Also, don't be shy when loading up the cash card for the bar - they will refund you if you have money left over at the end, or it can make a nice tip.

Like all hotels, you cannot choose your neighbours, but in general it had a lovely atmosphere and was well supported by the Italians - always a good sign. It is a bit out of town, but the bus service is good and leaves from just outside the door.

  • Liked — Ski in / ski out
  • Disliked — bar entertainment
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank odeski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2007

Felt obliged to add my own experience, as have now stayed in Livigno twice and several other ski resorts prior to this. By far the worst hotel I've stayed in. First, the reception staff could not care are less if you existed or collapsed in front of them. Second, if you in any way deviate from you allocated meal table - even if you've just arrived and don't even know you have one - be prepared to be treated in the most ridiculously rude and childish manner! Food at times was OK, but the enormous restaurant area felt like school dinners and waiters arguing with each other openly was pathetic. Aas well as making a mess of simple food - e.g. all bolied eggs, at one breakfast, must have been 100+, completely raw!! Possibly cooked for 30seconds!! Many people smoked in the rooms and corridors which led to a pretty bad smell. The double bed, for myself and partner, was a badly constructed affair of two single beds that enjoyed a canyon down the middle like the San Andreas fault by the start of each new day. The bar area had regular cabaret acts and sort of DJ type entertainment that I cannot fully do justice to - but would not suggest you stay to experience!! Also, you can't just buy a drink at the bar, you have to get some sort of card that you add cash to and then pay hgh prices, comparativley, to those in town. All in all - just avoid this place it doesn't deserve your attention.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CAM66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia, UK
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2007

Having read the other reviews of this hotel, which I didn't find until after I'd booked our holiday, I was rather worried (especially as I can understand German). However, I was pleasantly surprised with the standard of the hotel overall. Our bedrooms were newly furnished and decorated, and always spotlessly clean, and all four rooms (we were a group of 8) had balconies, which we weren't expecting. The en-suite bathrooms were a little dark and pokey, but extremely clean and we were given piles of fresh towels every day.

Contrary to what a previous reviewer has written, we were made very welcome at the reception desk when we first arrived. However, I must admit that during the week we noticed that the female employees on the desk never seemed to smile, but the males were always charming!

The food wasn't great, with a tendency to rather bland main courses, but there was plenty of it and the waiters were all really friendly and helpful. The dining areas were huge, but divided into several rooms, and although it was always very busy, we liked the fact that it was informal and weren't at all bothered by younger children eating at the same time.

We were all happy with our experience at the hotel and definitely felt it represented very good value for money (we booked a package holiday through a ski company and it was about the cheapest I have found for several years).

  • Liked — The rooms and views
  • Disliked — The food
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank paulaEastAnglia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bath
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2007

25th /2 /2007...
l love italian food.... well this isn't the place to go, its just such a big hotel, its school dinners all round... but the worst is the people on the front desk, almost go out of there way to make you feel unwelcome.. get a hotel down in the town..small hotel on the slope .. great place area though... peace..

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank elvisBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2007

The San Carlo is possibly the worst hotel I ever stayed in. We were supposed to stay in it's sister hotel the Intermonti but they managed to double book us and moved us to this hotel telling us it was practically the same, just the bedrooms were a little smaller.

There was no problem with the size of the rooms we got but the beds were awful, they were camp beds pulled out from a wardrobe in the wall!! The were extremely uncomfortable and also vert short - at 5 ft 4 inches I practically reached the full length of the bed!

The bathroom and shower were fine but the rest of the bedroom had many problems. The walls were paper thin and everything from all the rooms around you could be heard. This tends to wake you up on an ongoing basis thoughout the night. Our room happened to bave a locked kitchenette in it for people who have it on timeshare. This must have contained a fridge or freezer of some sort as you could hear the loud noise of it starting up every so often and we weren't able to turn it off.

The hotel is a series of chalets and turrets conected by corridors. In order to get from reception to our room we had to go up and down a few flights of stairs (some of which we narrow spiral). When you consider that people going skiing will have a lot of luggage for a week it is ridiculous to expect them to carry this through the hotel themselves. There was no lift or porter to help.

In general the hotel was pretty grotty looking inside. The only plus it had going for it was the view from the balcony. The bus and taxi service from the hotel was prompt and hence it's location away from the centre of the town didn't really cause that much inconvenience. I would not go back there again.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — The noise and the beds
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't go there!
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
11 Thank Aedamair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Livigno hotels
0.1 mi away
Charme Hotel Alexander
Charme Hotel Alexander
#20 of 79 in Livigno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Spol - Feel at Home
1.0 mi away
Bivio Hotel
Bivio Hotel
#5 of 79 in Livigno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Intermonti Hotel
Intermonti Hotel
#65 of 79 in Livigno
3.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Baita Montana
Hotel Baita Montana
#3 of 79 in Livigno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Chalet Village
Park Chalet Village
#2 of 79 in Livigno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpen Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpen Village Hotel

Property: Alpen Village Hotel
Address: Via Gerus, 311, 23030, Livigno, Italy (Formerly Hotel Villaggio San Carlo)
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Sondrio > Livigno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Livigno
#39 Family Hotel in Livigno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alpen Village Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alpen Hotel Village, a 3-star hotel in Livigno, is on the border of a centuries-old wood and offers you a charming view of Livigno. It is an ideal place for those who want to take a break surrounded by nature, pampered by our staff and with the comforts that the hotel offers. The complex is made up by a central building where you will find the reception, a welcoming bar, a nice restaurant and a quiet lounge, and an area with a swimming pool, outdoor saunas and a wellness centre, and 7 connected chalets where the rooms are. This fall the Galli family has taken over the management of the Alpen Village Hotel. Our family has been working in the tourist business for 3 generations and our philosophy has always been that of offering quality holidays to our guests: cheerful, welcoming atmosphere, excellent services, comfort, wellness, activities in the surrounding area, delicious dishes and a good value for money. In winter as well as in summer, it is an excellent starting point for bike rides, excursions on foot or on skis thanks to Mottolino skiing facilities that you can reach also on foot. For us every guest is part of the family! His or her satisfaction is our joy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alpen Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Carlo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing