We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quite poor...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alpen Village Hotel
Ranked #9 of 79 Hotels in Livigno
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 5, 2011

We've spent there one week skiing. And i couldn't say any positives about this place...
Claustrophobic room, Stinky bathroom... The whole building needs renovation.
There is only one advatage. You can start skiing directly from hotel, and come back on ski to.
But slopes round there...the best i've ever seen.. wow!!!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Wojtek K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,028)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 1,028 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for a skiing holiday.
The hotel is quit old and needs to be revovated but the rooms are nice and very clean, food was good better than other 3 star hotels that we have stayed in. the location is also very good as you can ski down to the hotel from the Motolino.
The restaurant is not nice with to many tables pushed together and very noisy.
Some of the reception staff are rude and can not answer questions. There was a thin young man who could not tell us when the ski bus started in the morning and the last one in the evening. We asked the exchange rate for dollars and he told us to come back in the afternoon so we had to go to the bank. There was only one well built very nice man who was very helpful but he was only at the reception twice during our stay.
Our main problem with the hotel was the noise outside our room at night, other guests were drinking and shouting in the corridor, we phoned the night manager who did nothing, after 2 nights we asked to speak to the manager, this was impossible, we were told every day he was skiing and we never saw him in the evening, we asked to change our room and the girl at the reception said it was not possible. My husband spoke to the guests himself about the noise and it was better after that but the manager should have done this. We spoke to other guests who had the same problem and were not happy.
We will return to Livigno next year as we enjoyed very much the skiing, at the end of March the snow was still perfect but we will not return to this hotel.

Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
4  Thank Irina3572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2011

We spent 3 days in Hotel and we are sure we are not going to repeat it. We moved to another hotel for last two days of our stay. First hotel receptionist called us and made arrangement for us to have dinner althought we were late for kitchen working hours and we found that very nice and careing but everything else during our stay made us feel unwelcome. Generaly staff is polite but managing rules are not tailored for guests to feel pleasant. Eg. you cannot have a drnik in restaurant unless you by some prepaied card on the reception desk. Hotel swiming pool is not opened during written regular opening hours (saturdays is closed althouth there is no info about it). Bathroom amenities are not refiled during your stay (no shampoo or bath gel).

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marinamara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2011

Me and my friends recently stayed at the San Carlo Hotel which had to offer the worst service that we ever experienced. Reception staff was very friendly and helpful, rooms were cleaned daily and swimming pools was available to use. However when the dinner service started the madness had begun.

Menus in different languages floating between the tables, disorganised waitresses running like headless chickens and hungry guests disappointed that nobody took their drink orders.
Strange system is in place for orders and next days orders but each evening orders are being taken again....? Absolute waste of time!

Once you will get hold of the menu in your language you'd be surprised to see dishes such us: sour kraut with mash potatoes and cheese, a deer, a cock or a crow! I don't need to add here that quality was lacking.

Morning service was running a lot smother as guests are provided with a buffet. Small coffee machine with a seed of a turtle prepares hot drinks. There is not much of a variety of food (ham, cheese, cereals, jam) as everyday same food is being served.

If you don't mind this kind of service and don't care what you eat this is place for you

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hajfa_1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2011

Livigno is a wonderful resort and we were blessed with epic snow and sun,but the San Carlo is a nightmare,the food is my main concern,disgusting would sum it up and being Italian i knew what I was eating,the hotel is generally clean and tidy,the rooms were kept spotlessly clean,but the noise from the corridors is unbearable and one night a group of at least 20 guests were having a party in the corridor,I complained and to be fair it was dealt with on the spot;location is fairly good with the excellent free resort buses,will return to Livigno soon but not to the San Carlo.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rava666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2010

Hotel Villaggio San Carlo is situated in Livigno which is a fabulous resort for begginers and intermediates. The slopes are fantastic as they are wide and the snow for April was great. We had a lovely ski instructor who was extremely friendly. The nightlife in livigno is not huge although the town has many restaraunts.

The hotel itself was average. The room was good, fairly small but how much time do you spend in your room on a ski holiday? There were school trips there for the first two nights and there was lots of noise outside the room although it quietened down after that but others had said that there was an extremely loud group in their part of the hotel that partied until 4am one night. The staff are friendly and helpful and their English was fine.

The food was okay; pasta was lovely which was on the menu most nights. Veel was also on the menu most nights so if your a fan of veel in every size, shape and form this is the place for you. One thing we noticed was that there was very little for vegetarians which wasn't a problem for us but i wouldn't recomend this hotel to a vegetarian as some nights all there was was a pasta starter and mixed salad from the bar.

The lobby and bar wasn't very bright and the bar was deserted most nights but we found that the intermonti across the road was brighter and someone told us that the food was great. The ski resort is a 20 minute walk into town although a bus stops just outside the hotel every 10-15 minutes which takes about 2 minutes into town. There is a black run outside the back of the hotel which i wouldn't recomend for beginers but isn't too hard to give a go for intermediates. There is a ski room at the back of the hotel for skiing on the motelino side of the valley and for skiing on the other side the ski hire shop let us leave our equiptment there which was very handy.

The skiing itself was great but there are just enough runs for about 10 days and advanced people might not find the skiing very challenging although we met people that were fabulous skiers that had been going to livigno for over 20 years.

Shopping was also great as livigno is a duty free area and alcohol was extremely cheap.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pipsy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2010

After reading all reviews here, I was not sure what I can expect. However the staff was really friendly and helpful, services were good, location excellent.
The spot on the service level was a fact that we had a vegetarian among us - and they were not able to resolve main food (which has been always a choice of two kinds of meat). Funny enough - there were almost always some vegetarian starters, lots of possibilities to get pasta, spaghetti, pizza ... just name it. But for the main they were just able to bring assortment of cheese (we had these 3 times - and it’s nice to have it after the wine, but not quite for the main), luckily we had two times omelet - but again, I cannot believe, that this was the first vegetarian to be served. On the plus side - the deserts were really nice.
Other minor thing is that the hotel has got swimming pool - but unless you have swim cap with you, you are not allowed in. No caps at the spot.

The room was close to reception – but that has been not quite an advantage – lots of noise from the bar and basement location without view.

Overall our stay there was well; the staff was trying their best, so with just few improvements it could be rated very good.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vakim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Livigno hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Astra
Hotel Astra
#22 of 79 in Livigno
343 reviews
0.1 mi away
Charme Hotel Alexander
Charme Hotel Alexander
#20 of 79 in Livigno
326 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#25 of 79 in Livigno
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Baita Montana Spa Resort
2.1 mi away
Hotel Bait de Angial
Hotel Bait de Angial
#35 of 79 in Livigno
129 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lac Salin Spa & Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpen Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpen Village Hotel

Address: Via Gerus, 311, 23030, Livigno, Italy (Formerly Hotel Villaggio San Carlo)
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Sondrio > Livigno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Livigno
Price Range: $112 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alpen Village Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alpen Hotel Village, a 3-star hotel in Livigno, is on the border of a centuries-old wood and offers you a charming view of Livigno. It is an ideal place for those who want to take a break surrounded by nature, pampered by our staff and with the comforts that the hotel offers. The complex is made up by a central building where you will find the reception, a welcoming bar, a nice restaurant and a quiet lounge, and an area with a swimming pool, outdoor saunas and a wellness centre, and 7 connected chalets where the rooms are. This fall the Galli family has taken over the management of the Alpen Village Hotel. Our family has been working in the tourist business for 3 generations and our philosophy has always been that of offering quality holidays to our guests: cheerful, welcoming atmosphere, excellent services, comfort, wellness, activities in the surrounding area, delicious dishes and a good value for money. In winter as well as in summer, it is an excellent starting point for bike rides, excursions on foot or on skis thanks to Mottolino skiing facilities that you can reach also on foot. For us every guest is part of the family! His or her satisfaction is our joy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Alpen Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Carlo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing