We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but maybe better options”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Piccolo Tibet
Ranked #48 of 79 Hotels in Livigno
Certificate of Excellence
North Caroilina
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good, but maybe better options”
Reviewed September 24, 2010

I was here for a one-night stay and this hotel filled my needs. Overall, it was a pleasant stay, but there were a few hiccups. First, the hotel is a bit far from the main part of town and is up a slight hill (about 2km). It's not too far, but if you are tired or have lots of luggage, you may not want to walk to the hotel. Second, the lighting in the hotel was poor. Like many hotels in Europe, they have motion sensors to turn lights on/off and conserve electricity. However, this didn't work in the stair cases near my room and I tripped / nearly fell a couple of times.

On the positive side, breakfast was very good and my room was spacious and clean. So, overall, not a bad experience. There may be better options closer to town, though.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank java3882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    59
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
26
76
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
MIAMI
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 7, 2010

Piccolo Tibet is a small hotel, I didnt have much expectation from what i saw in pictures, but this place and the people receive very high marks. We were late arriving (a few detours on the way - and a nice ride through the moonlight mountains only got us there at 6 am). We were uneasy about waking up thethe hotel owner, but Ercule greeted us with a smile that was genuine and lasted the whole week. (His parents raised him with some extroidinary strength in the hospitality field), Livigno offered fine food and fun boarding, world class shopping, and very hospitable service all around town. We were happy to call the Piccolo Tibet home for the week. The hotel itself is very clean, comfortable, good breakfast, excellent little bar (try the local blackcurrent Grappa), convenient ski room, comfortable sauna, the staff was accomodating and kind. I will go back for sure! my only complaint was the pillows.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank momoches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2009

Very nice small hotel with very kind staff. the location is not superb but it is o.k.
Breakfast is great. children friendly

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jurnalistus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2009

Warm welcome and friendly staff
Very cosy and nice hotel
Clean rooms
Good continental breakfast
Free ski locker
Free sauna
Free Internet access
15 minutes away from the centre (by walk)
Bus stop 25 meters away
Nice bar
Restaurant 10 meters away
Ski Services, Rental, & School are a walking distance away

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RCV-MT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2009

Want a super ski holiday with great accommodation then go to Livigino and stay at the Hotel Piccolo Tibet.
A very big THANK YOU to Ercole, his good lady wife,Diageo the bar manager and not forgetting the rest of the hotel staff for looking after all our needs when we stayed again at this great hotel.
Keep up the good work guys, hope to see you all again very soon.
Regards From Ant,Pauline,John,Caroline,Rob & Elaine (Ireland)

  • Liked — The Great Welcome and Service
  • Stayed January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Gaslight R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2008

Just got back from a five night stay for 7 adults and 1 child in three varied sized rooms. Hotel was very comfortable and spotlessly clean. A good continental breakfast was provided including bread, croissants, cold meats, cheese, jams, eggs, toast, juices, coffee, tea etc to start off the day. Also a free ski locker and sauna was provided by hotel. The location is a 5 min walk to the centre and the free shuttle bus service stopped only a short walk from hotel. We had a couple of minor problems with key cards and a lack of hot water a couple of times, but the owners soon rectified this. The hotel owners were very accommodating.

Probably the best thing about the hotel is the 3 course evening meals which are provided in Mario's Restaurant a very short walk from the hotel. We started with bread sticks, delicious bread rolls with olive oil, balsamic vinegar etc, then there was a choice of three starters (including soup or pasta), a choice of three main meals followed by either a dessert, fresh fruit salad or ice cream. Both the food and the service was extremely good.

The only thing that would put us off going back to Livigno was that we felt there were not enough shuttle buses provided. When a bus did arrive at a stop, there would be a big surge of people to get a space on the bus, and inevitably this would cause some anger and problems especially when some people who had just arrived at the stop would push in front of those who had been waiting patiently. To be fair however, our hotel owner did say the problem may have been due to the fact that we went in low season. However, this problem did test my patience to the full when I was attempting to get a space for my 10 year old daughter, myself and our ski equipment!!!

Overall I would say Livigno is extremely good for intermediates and provides good wide red runs. The lift system worked well without many cues, and the slopes were very well maintained.

  • Liked — The food was great
  • Disliked — Better if a bath was provided to relax in after a day of skiing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madowninguk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2008

You are sure of first class communications, and excellent accomodation at the Piccolo Tibet. Ercole and Cynthia will do all they can to ensure you have a happy stay. The rooms are excellent, and if you can book one of their suites, they will give you plenty of homely luxuries and superb views, some with massive balconies.
Best advice I can give is to make sure you book the Half-Board option, as you will eat at Mario's Restaurant, next door. This is the second best rated establishment in Livigno, and when you know that only the Concordia is better, you better believe how good the food is there. Antonio will look after you well.
Location means that all your walks into town, will be downhill, even in ski-boots. Only about 200 metres from Galli's if you must, but try Daphne's for a wild evening in the opposite direction.
Great place, great people, great food. Do you need more?

Neil Brown
[-]

  • Liked — Size of rooms
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Shortvehicle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Livigno hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alpi
Hotel Alpi
#21 of 79 in Livigno
254 reviews
0.4 mi away
Charme Hotel Alexander
Charme Hotel Alexander
#20 of 79 in Livigno
305 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Galli
Hotel Galli
#15 of 79 in Livigno
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Alpina
Hotel Alpina
#22 of 79 in Livigno
515 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Alba
Hotel Alba
#44 of 79 in Livigno
193 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Bucaneve
Hotel Bucaneve
#41 of 79 in Livigno
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Piccolo Tibet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Piccolo Tibet

Property: Hotel Piccolo Tibet
Address: Via Rin 420, 23030, Livigno, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Sondrio > Livigno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Livigno
#23 Spa Hotel in Livigno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Piccolo Tibet 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the historic hotels in Livigno, has been renewed in years to keep abreast of the times, while maintaining: hospitality and typical warm of mountain tourism and a family management. Located near the center of Livigno, just outside the limited traffic zone, in strategic position during the winter season because of the proximity of slopes and those for the practice of cross-country skiing. In the summer starting point for excursions to fantastic exit mountain biking or a relaxing walk on the beautiful completely flat promenade that runs along the Spol river and the lake of Livigno. All outdoors, an active and healthy holiday, of relaxation. Three types of rooms: Suites, Superior and Standard. Car-park, lift, sauna, bar, ski room with dryer, deals with the best restaurants in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hotel Piccolo Tibet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piccolo Tibet Hotel
Piccolo Tibet Livigno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing