We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We would definitely recommend this lovely hotel to anyone else!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel La Montanina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel La Montanina
Ranked #52 of 79 Hotels in Livigno
Certificate of Excellence
Malvern
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“We would definitely recommend this lovely hotel to anyone else!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2010

Having been to Livigno many times over the past 20 years and stayed in a variety of hotels, we were all very impressed with the family run Montanina. Our group ranged from 7 to 72 years old and all 9 family members loved the hotel. It is a great location, only a short walk from Lift 23 and the ski school meeting place. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the food of a good standard and cleanliness standards high. The hotel has a very friendly, family run feel to it and is cosy and rustic in it's feel. Miky's bar is located in the basement - great if you like a bit of lively apres ski. We heard no noise from it at all during our stay, so any prior concerns we had about the noise were completely unfounded. We would not hesitate in staying there again and recommending this lovely hotel to anyone else.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paella_Cooling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    56
    16
    6
    3
See reviews for
56
36
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
malta
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2009

This is a very cosy and central family run hotel, staff are very friendly and it is just on top of Miky's pub which has to be the best pub in town!

  • Liked — The staff and the bar
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank odeassdd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2008

The hotel is in a good position for the ski ski and ski hire only a 5 minute walk so avoided the crowded free buses in the resort.

The rooms were clean and comfortable (pillows needed a little bit getting used to - hard or lumps of concrete as my daughter described them but not a real problem).

Good buffet breakfast to stock up on before hitting the slopes, available from 7.30 - 9.30.

We booked half board - evening meal available from about 7.30pm - 4 courses each evening with 3 choices for the 2nd and 3rd course, a selection of deserts available each evening.

Staff very welcoming and wanting you to enjoy your stay. One of our group was given different meals depending what was on offer with no problems.

Several of the staff speak English well enough to help us with our extremely limited Italian.

This is a family run hotel with all the rustic charm but with all the necessary comforts for a holiday, whatever your age or needs.
I would definitely recommend ...providing you are not looking for an ultra modern base.
I would love to go again and be more confident of my ability on the slopes!!!
I would book this hotel again - (our group consisted of 3 23 yr olds and 1 50 something!!)

  • Liked — Location and standards
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsmc57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2008

We chose the Hotel Montanina for our 2 week honeymoon and had a fantastic time. The rooms were small but adequate with TV (if you need that), hairdryer, ample wardrobe and a small balcony. As we were skiing it was more than enough for us to keep our stuff and sleep there.

The breakfast is self service with plenty of choice and the evening meals were fantastic, what I would describe as typically Italian, home cooked and delicious with local dishes a regular occurance. Although we weren't told about the cheese board and salad bar so make sure you ask if you want them!

We were made to feel more than welcome on arrival (with Champagne as it was our honeymoon!), Mama (the hotel owner) speaks no english (although we think she knows more than she lets on) and spoke to us in Italian or German for the whole 2 weeks. Not that we understood either language. However 2 of her daughters also work in the hotel and are both english (and german) speaking with one of her sons running the kitchen and another running Mikys bar which is a very popular evening haunt for those that want it. Some of the rooms on the first floor can experience noise at chucking out time.

It was lovely to see the whole family in and out of the hotel, eating at one of the corner tables and still managing to keep the guests happy. It's obvious that people love this hotel (we met 3 couples who had been going there for years and they all receive a huge friendly welcome from Mama in particular) but if you want anything more than typical Italian, rustic and homely then this isn't for you.

The only grumble I have about the hotel is the rock hard pillows and the sandpaper towels. And we would NEVER fly to Innsbruck airport again after such awful journeys there and back. The other 3 couples mentioned above had all driven down and it took them less time than it did for us to fly and transfer by coach. Although Innsbruck is only 3 hours, if you have any early flight you won't make the tunnel, if you get diverted and end up elsewhere you are looking at a 5-6 hour transfer. Not pleasant. We will definately drive next time.

As honeymooners we felt we were able to spend time on our own or join in with other guests in the bar (which can get busy with card players and football on the TV) as we wished. As we got married on leap day this year, we have vowed to return to the Montanina on our first anniversary in 2012, if not before!

  • Liked — Its location to the lifts and the town
  • Disliked — Hard pillows and sandpaper towels!
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Daisyboo1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2007

This hotel is clearly more geared toward the ski season - it is not really well suited for visitors outside of that period. We stayed in this hotel during July while on a biking trip to the Dolomites. The good points were as follows : they have an underground garage which provides good security for bikes but I don't think it was locked in the evenings. They also have a drying room which is vital for wet gear (this is important because it rains a lot in the this area). The staff in the hotel were (mostly) pleasant although we met one or two who could use a lesson in basic good manners.
As to the negatives : the food in the hotel is medicore at best. Breakfast is basic and dinner is of a poor standard and you must choose from a very short set menu. I would strongly recommend that you do not opt for half or full board because you'll do far better eating in the many restaurants in the town. The hotel bar is small and quiet and they were not too happy about serving us beyond 11PM. We tried Micky's Bar but we were the only people there for the entire night. The bedrooms are very small but aedquate.
While there we also encountered some other bikers from Germany who were very loud and less than friendly to us which gave us a bad impression. My overall advice is to look elsewhere is you are planning a trip outside of the skiing season.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Food and quality of service
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gulliver077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin_Ireland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2007

Stayed in Hotel for 1 week from 24th Feb 2007. As a family taking our 1st skying holiday [2 adults, and 14, 19, 21 yr olds ] , we found the hotel was very centrally located in the village and approx 250 metres from sky lift 23 [ which was the meeting point for our lessons].
The hotel is a small 3 star family run venture which 1st opened in the 50's. Cosy and old style are the words I would use to describe the atmoshpere in the hotel.
The bedrooms were basic but comfortable, what one might expect for a 3 star hotel. However, the rooms were so hot that it was necessary to leave the window open during the night, even with the radiator turned off.
Breakfast was good [self service] and evening meal excellent with efficient and friendly service.
Immediately next door is Mickey's pub, which is a lively and very popular spot for drinks, while he hotel bar itself is very quiet - if that's what you want.
In summary this 3 star hotel was friendly, comfortable and ideally located for our holiday.

  • Liked — Family Friendly Centrally Located
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cyril M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2007

GOOD FEATURES:

Breakfast, Supper, and superb location (in the village center), with a private parking.




BAD FEATURES:

We booked a half-board stay. The difference between half and full-board were 10 Euros. They told us that if we wanted to have Full board, we had to tell them in the morning, at the breakfast time. So my friends did. But at the moment of paying the bill, the landlady charged them more than 10 euros, pratically charging them the price of a tourist menu. The contrary of what we were told.

In our bathroom, like most hotels, there is a sticker which says that due to spare water (an important resource) they suggest to keep using the same towels until you consider they have to be changed, putting them on the floor and they will change them. I kept using the same towels for 5 days and than put them on the floor, so to have clean ones but they only picked up them ad put again on their hooks. So no towel were changed at all during my stay (1 week).

We were 4 people sharing a family room. At the beginning of our stay they put in the bathroom 3 very little bottles os bath foam (hotel format). We used them on the first day, considering that, as usual, they will put new ones the following days, but they didn't. So I had to buy my own bath foam at the convenient shop (not far from the hotel) "Cooperativa di Consumo".

The same thing happened with soaps. We found at the beginning 4 little pieces (hotel format) of soap which hadn't been replaced during our stay.

For one day we had also the fear to finish the igienic paper, as there were only the roll in use.

No hairdryer in my room but in another my friends found it.

The bed were terrible. They were far too hard. The mattress were wool ones. Do they not consider allergies? My wife, for instance, suffers of asthma and has to absolutely avoid wool mattress.

The landings were dark. All light-points contains 2 bulbs but
in every one of them only 1 bulb worked. Surely it had to be due to spare eletricity.

With the half-board, breakfast is included, but my friends needed hot milk for their baby and with great surprise it had been charged on the bill like an extra. That's absolutely incredible: charging a little hot milk for the biberon.

To sum up, try something else.

  • Liked — food
  • Disliked — service and bathroom cleanliness
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LLULL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Livigno hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alpina
Hotel Alpina
#23 of 79 in Livigno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
0.2 mi away
Helvetia Hotel
Helvetia Hotel
#66 of 79 in Livigno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#22 of 79 in Livigno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#37 of 79 in Livigno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Duc de Rohan
Hotel Duc de Rohan
#32 of 79 in Livigno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Krone
Hotel Krone
#63 of 79 in Livigno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Montanina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Montanina

Property: Hotel La Montanina
Address: Via Pienz 58, 23030, Livigno, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Sondrio > Livigno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Livigno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Montanina 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel La Montanina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Montanina Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing