We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel with friendly staff”
Review of Hotel Galli

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Galli
Ranked #20 of 79 Hotels in Livigno
Certificate of Excellence
Winchester
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel with friendly staff”
Reviewed March 8, 2012

Rooms were clean and good-sized with comfortable beds: my room, unfortunately, overlooked the next-door bar mentioned by other reviewers - but it was only noisy on Saturday night. The restaurant (Il Cenacolo) is good and reviewed separately: breakfast was a typical continental buffet with tasty charcuterie and lovely fresh rolls. The wellness centre is a little small but fortunately was never crowded during our stay. Special mention for the staff - everyone was friendly and helpful, making our stay thoroughly enjoyable. You can take a drag lift from 200m away which lets you ski to the nearby Carosello gondola, and ski back to a point just across the road, where the ski bus also stops. Galli is in the San Rocco area and a good 15-20 minutes walk from the main Livigno town centre and shops.

Room Tip: Avoiding the rooms overlooking Marco's bar seems to be a good idea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    106
    20
    4
    3
See reviews for
88
78
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 17, 2012

I would like to recommend this hotel as a good place for a decent money. Very friendly staff, helpfull. They have really nice hotel restaurant with delicious italan food. For skiing is a perfect location, because you have to go to slope nr 18 (across the street), and than you have to ride left and go straight away to slope which will take you to Carosello. You can leave your ski equipment in a special lockers. After skiing you can use sauna and gym for free, for an aditional fee you can take a variety of massage. There is no free WiFi, but it's not a big problem - we paid something like 3EU for 5h (it's always better to spend more time with family and friends than in Internet:). We also had access only to Italian TV, but we didn't spend a lot of time in our room, so it wasn't a problem. In general good standard and location, plus people who can help you with anything you want.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexAndriA28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2012

The rooms are a decent size and well equipped for self catering. The rooms are directly above Marcos bar which has good value pub grub and very friendly staff, Marcos gets very busy from midnight and can be very noisy. The smoking terrace is the entrance to the self catering appartments so there is always a hint of tobacco in the air. The bus to all other areas of livigno is directly outside the bar and the ski school is run from the lift directly opposite. Great location! Perfect for groups looking for fun on the slopes and après ski!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mexic07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
venray
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2011

Very friendly people at the reception. Spoke more languages. Rooms are in real south Tirolean style with lots of wood decorations. Rooms were clean and bathroom very well equipped. Restaurant serves very good food. WiFi available in the rooms.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank otten4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2011

We (father and daughter) didn't book this hotel but were moved to it by Neilson Ski when they cut their allocation at the San Giovanni further along the valley. It was a great move as far as we were concerned being a better location and better quality.

Overall the hotel was clean and tidy with a good atmosphere and a very good location being opposite the ski school meeting point drag lift, from where you can ski to the main Carosello 3000 or to the drag lifts in Livigno centre. If you want to ski on the other side of the valley or in the main centre, but don't want to ski there, then all three bus routes stop outside the hotel (two at the front and one at the back of the hotel - both only seconds walk away from your bedroom).

For non-skiing activities San Rocco is not as much out on a limb as we expected. It was a pleasant 35 minute walk from the hotel to the far end of Livigno which we did most nights, not because there was nothing in San Rocco, which has everything you would want, but to walk off the evening meal.

Food was of very high quality and plentiful - the first ski holiday I have actually put on weight - with a buffet breakfast and a choice of three dishes for each of the three courses for the evening meal. On a couple of nights we had the full evening menu available to us at no extra charge instead of the package holiday menu, the quality was identical, but the quantity was even greater! The restaurant and breakfast staff were excellent and friendly and the bedroom cleaning girls were very efficient and helpful.

So why not 5 stars for everything. Well the rooms were far too hot for us. Obviously this is difficult to get right as everyone likes different bedroom temperatues. We turned off the radiator, opened the balcony door and bathroom window for a few hours each day (in minus 6 degree temperatures), but the duvets were extremely warm so my daughter even took the duvet out of its cover and used just the cover. OK so having written this I have put the rating back up to 5 as we could, and did, do something about it and it seems rather petty to deduct a star for making us warm, so thank you Hotel Galli, 5 stars all round.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MichaelSkier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 7, 2011

We have been to Hotel Galli in Livigno two years in a row now and its been a great holiday every time. The staff are very friendly and helpful and rooms very clean and comfortable. This hotel has everything you need for a good skiing trip. Breakfast is good and there is friendly athmosphere in the place.
Sauna and steam room might be a bit small, but are great for the after ski relax.
Livigno has great shops, and great bus links across the village. And the buses are free. Slopes are amazing and cater for all levels.
We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evulka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2010

We went here for the 2nd christmas 2008 & 2008 and the hotel is like home form home, very friendly and supeb food and nothing is too much trouble for the Brother & Sister owners.

Great fun,Great Food, Great accommadation. *****

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jj1955_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Livigno hotels
0.4 mi away
Alpen Village Hotel
Alpen Village Hotel
#10 of 79 in Livigno
825 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Astra
Hotel Astra
#26 of 79 in Livigno
316 reviews
0.4 mi away
Charme Hotel Alexander
Charme Hotel Alexander
#21 of 79 in Livigno
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alpi
Hotel Alpi
#17 of 79 in Livigno
260 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Federia
Hotel Federia
#61 of 79 in Livigno
168 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Francesin
Hotel Francesin
#14 of 79 in Livigno
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Galli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Galli

Property: Hotel Galli
Address: Via Saroch 569, 23030, Livigno, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Sondrio > Livigno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Livigno
#16 Family Hotel in Livigno
#21 Romantic Hotel in Livigno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Galli 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Galli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galli Hotel Livigno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing