We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great value and a friendly service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Baita Cusini

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Residence Baita Cusini
Ranked #51 of 78 Hotels in Livigno
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great value and a friendly service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2012

Baita Cusini is a small family-run (and oriented) hotel located above Livigno on the Mottolino side. Our group consisted of two adults and two kids, we asked for adjacent rooms. And we got them. Both rooms 5 and 6 boast beautiful views of the opposite mountain range and the town. The rooms are smallish but adequate, I was especially pleased with the efficient housekeeping throughout our stay. While the rooms are far from being brand new, they are definitely well kept.

Half-board included breakfast and dinner where a 4-course meal was served. While the hotel only offers one set dinner menu, they were happy to accommodate any requests for alterations if someone was not happy with the offer. Food was very good, included some local specialties, and prices of drinks were reasonable. The service, provided by the owners themselves, was unobtrusively friendly and even if the hotel is quite small, it still offers a sense of privacy and respect. Various board games were available for children to keep them busy before they went to bed while the adults could take a drink or two at the bar. This was our second stay in Livigno and I’m sure that this two-star hotel is one of the best choices in its class that Livigno has to offer.

Room Tip: No. 5 for the best views and a terrace.
See more room tips
Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Tyntyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    28
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
25
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London - UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2011

Found this little hotel on Tripadvisor and I was surprised that, as a 2 star hotel, it was in the top 10.
Booked and stayed for a week with my family in the only apartment they have but with half board
Very welcoming hotel, run by the Cusini family. Adelmo and his wife are very kind and helpful.
The hotel is very clean with good food.
Quite location but still close to the centre. Fantastic views from the hotel. Outside playarea for children and close to walks.
In a phrase, it is a hotel that has everything you need when you are on the mountains.
We booked arleady for next year !

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank atlot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2010

We booked our stay for a skiing trip at this hotel based substantially on reviews on this site. We stayed half board at the hotel from the 16th -23rd January. The rooms are very clean and warm. The bathroom as noted in other reviews is small but no real issue, plenty of warm water at all times.
There is a separate TV area and small bar (much frequented) and a dining room, WiFi is available at €2/hour. The breakfast is substantial and fresh daily with cereals, bread, meats, cheese, scrambeld / boiled eggs etc.. The half board dinners were excellent, 4 course, different every night, with extra portions offered each evening, food prepared and served by the owners, we ate in every night as they were so good.
The hotel isn't in the town, but there is a frequent ski bus stop very close to the hotel and later in the evening the taxis are €6 any journey, so everywhere is easily accessible. The Teola lift is with walking distance (or 1 stop on the bus if you don't like walking in your ski booots) and Mottollino main gondola 2 stops in the other direction.
All in all a great hotel that I would have no problems recommending to anybody.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mprg2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2009

First use of tripadvisor and SCORE!!! Forget two stars!!! This family hotel with amazing food, large and clean rooms, 2 mins walk to black slope. Simply great value, it is not in the centre of livigno, but its not far, close to skibus station (5 minutes to the centre). You can park for free front of the hotel, I would highly reccomend the room number four for family with young child, cause it has terrace with children playground. Food is amazing but unfortunately since this year they serve the dinner at 7.30 pm which is too late for small children, cause the dinner lasts for 2 hours and more (3 - 4 courses). And wifi is for free. The owner is very kind guy, prof skier, could advise best slopes. His bro has ski rental and shop so you can get discount there.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jankovsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2008

This hotel is situated 5 minutes walk from chairlift (black run back down) and a short ride on the free bus to the main gondola (blue/red back down) on the Mottolino side of Livigno.

Its out of town location suited us fine as we're not into the nightlife so much, but you can get into town in 10 minutes on the free bus up to 9pm and a cheap taxi back only a few euros. The drinks were cheaper in the hotel bar than in town anyway.

The room was comfortable, big enough and warm enough, though the shower room (no bath) was pretty small and dated, but always plenty of hot water. We had no balcony but a nice view of the town (no high rise) and Carosello/Costaccia mountain.

Food was fantastic, no buffet meals here (except breakfast, which was a nice large continental spread with hot eggs). Great salad bar, fresh starter, mains and dessert served to table, quite often they came round and offered seconds.

Most of the other guests (12 rooms in total) were English with same tour operator (Airtours/Panorama) plus a few from other countries.

The family who own and run the place were really nice, made our stay very enjoyable.

  • Liked — Good value
  • Disliked — Small bathroom
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank anaesthetic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 29, 2008

We stayed at the Baita Cusini in Feb 08 for a ski holiday. Super friendly helpful family run hotel offering great (and we mean great food). You will not go hungry here. Loads of variety and as much as you can eat. Rooms comfortable, clean and warm. Everything you expect from a ski destination. Ski locker at the hotel (there is also one in town at the ski school if you get fed up of carrying your kit home). The bus is a few minutes walk and the buses are frequent and free. We would highly recommend this place. We had a lot of fun. The other guests were really nice. Baby Rudi was very cute and so happy. Livignio itself - more spread out than any other ski resort we have stayed at. Lots of great shopping ! Take your visa card ! Plenty of pubs and nice places for lunch if you get time. We didn't have a meal out at night because the hotel food at Baita Cusini is so good. Don't book your ski kit on the transfer !!! The hotel owners brother runs a shop in town which offers 10% discount to hotel guests - his kit was great. Highly recommended. We would love to return one day !

  • Liked — The food
  • Disliked — Nothing - it was great
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BrownieandWibs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2008

What a charming, well managed, family run hotel!

I can not praise this hotel enough, nothing was ever too much trouble!

Although we booked Half Board, we did plan to eat out a few nights to sample Italian Cuisine, however there was no need as the out-standing food on offer was enough to tempt us to stay in, freshly cooked Italian Food .... Squisito!

You had a freshly prepared salad bar and fresh roll first, then we sampled sumptuous starters, magnificent mains and DELICIOUS desserts!

The breakfast choice was plentiful especially for a day on the slopes and whilst having breakfast you could review the evening dinner on offer, fresh grilled trout, home made torttalini, risotto and so much more ... and all freshly prepared by the owner who is also the chef.

If you did not like what was on offer then all you needed was to tell them and he would prepare something else.

His friendly wife ran the front of house operations and did a fantastic job, even with three adorable children who were always on hand to make you smile, and his father ran the bar and got me into Bombadino's ... a MUST!

The rooms were varied, sized dependant on couples or families and due to the limited amount of rooms (12) it meant guests got to know each other over breakfast and dinner and mingle, many a night was spent in the Hotel Bar rather than hitting the town, we sat talking about the days activities on the slopes, so as a result we were able to make some lovely friends!

Although the Hotel is out of the main town there is a free and easy bus service running all day to and fom the town and the slopes, it stopped at 9pm. There was a stop right outside the Hotel, so it meant in the evenings you avoided the hustle and bustle of the Livigno Nightlife, but should you wish to sample, you simply hopped on the free bus and then you can catch cab back for 6 euro's.

The resort is stunning and the slopes were great for all levels!

So all in all an A+ from us and una festa vero bella (a truly lovely holiday!)

P.S back a day ago and already planning next year's trip and our stay at the Hotel Baita Cusini

  • Liked — Feeling like you were being invited into the owners own home
  • Disliked — Can not think of anything
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BOMBADINO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Livigno hotels
0.1 mi away
Charme Hotel Alexander
Charme Hotel Alexander
#15 of 78 in Livigno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Baita Montana
Hotel Baita Montana
#4 of 78 in Livigno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
0.1 mi away
Intermonti Hotel
Intermonti Hotel
#61 of 78 in Livigno
3.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Francesin
Hotel Francesin
#13 of 78 in Livigno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alpen Village Hotel
Alpen Village Hotel
#11 of 78 in Livigno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Ristorante Bait De Angial
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Baita Cusini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Baita Cusini

Property: Residence Baita Cusini
Address: Strada Statale 301 978, 23030 Livigno, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Sondrio > Livigno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Livigno
#36 Family Hotel in Livigno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Baita Cusini 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME: Our family would like to extend a warm welcome to you, to our newly refurbished residence, whereour family atmosphere and hospitality are guaranteed. The residence is made up of 8 comfortable apartments (three and two roomed apartments), furnished tastefully in the simple mountain style. The residence is situated in the picturesque, tranquil setting.of the TEOLA area. From the house there is a pedestrian and cycle path which takes you directly to the centre of Livigno in 10 minutes. There is a free bus stop 150 m away. It is ideal for small groups, couples and families with children looking for a relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Residence Baita Cusini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baita Cusini Hotel
Baita Cusini Livigno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing