We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great folks help a lost traveler” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Amerikan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Amerikan
Ranked #6 of 79 Hotels in Livigno
Certificate of Excellence
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great folks help a lost traveler”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

I was on a motorcycle trip with freinds, and foolishly didn't get the name of the agroturismo where we were staying in Livingo. When I arrived in Livingo by myself, I was at a loss, and after combing the valley and not finding the place, I stopped at Hotel Amerikan, and asked if anyone knew of "....a new eight room agriturismo" which was the only description that I had. When that drew a blank, Elinora set me up with a laptop so I could check e-mail, even though she knew I wouldn't be staying there. And when I couldn't get that to work (my fault), she gave me the log-on so I could use my tablet instead. About that time, Elinora's dad arrived, and he recognized the description, so I was able to get there. Again, they knew I wouldn't be staying there, but went well out of their to help. I know where I'll be staying the next time I'm in Livingo!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amerikan_11, Responsabile reception at Hotel Amerikan, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for your words Mr. James.
In the reception you found Veronica and the owner of the Hotel, Donato.
We are always happy to help the people that need, even just an information.
We hope to see you soon in our Hotel!

Greeting from Livigno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    127
    21
    7
    2
See reviews for
154
133
11
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Randburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

Staff very polite and helpful. Room decent size and clean. Bathroom on suite modern and clean. We chose half board and the meals were excellent. Our son is a very fussy eater, he enjoyed the meals. Every evening there was a buffet he could eat from. Delicious breads. We often sat in the bar/tea room area in the afternoons for coffee or light snack, very pleasant and menu very good. A beginners ski slope right across the street with optional ski lessons offered. Ski hire also across the street. Buses stopped right outside the hotel at 10/15 minute intervals, really convenient. We had a triple room facing the valley, very quiet and peaceful. What a lovely hotel to stay in. Will definately stay again!!

Room Tip: Room facing valley very quiet with awesome views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank GennieWallder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amerikan_11, Responsabile reception at Hotel Amerikan, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thank you, family Wallder, for your kind words about us!
We are always happy to know that you had a great time here with us.
We hope to welcome you again soon here.

A warm greeting
All the staff of Hotel Amerikan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erps-Kwerps, Brabant, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

Although Hotel American claims to have 4 stars, we think it should be 5!
* one star for the warm hearted family owning this hotel: Donato, Betty, Davide and Elisa always make you feel very welcome and at home!
* one star for the fantastic staff, Cara, Ismail, Antonio and all the other colleagues who are always putting in the little extra effort to make our stay the best!
* one star for the cleanness of the hotel taken care of by Tanja and the other cleaning ladies!
* one star for the fantastic kitchen, from breakfast till dinner, with buffets offering a variety of the best food!
* one star for the great accomodation and surroundings, ski-room, bicycle rent, parking, wellness center, bus stop in front of the hotel!
During 15 years we have been spending our holidays, both in winter and summer at Hotel American and we do hope that we will be able to spend several more!
Grazie millé!
Erwin, Ann and Rebecca Ballings

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amerikan_11, Responsabile reception at Hotel Amerikan, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear family Ballings,
many thanks for your great comment!
Very nice to hear your wonderful words, appreciation to us and honor to present an other one more star.
Each compliment to us, our staff, our cleanness, food, and accomodation fill us to happiness and satisfation to welcome you every times like in a big family!
A big hug by all our staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

NIce people, great service. We were in a 4 bed family room, with 2 bedrooms and we had enough space. The beds were comfortable, room on the ground floor not noisy at all. The reception was very flexible on the hour we had to leave. Thx!

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank RoelVerbeeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amerikan_11, Responsabile reception at Hotel Amerikan, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you very much family Verbeeck!!
we are glad to read your good appreciation to us and our accomodation!
We had offered to you a special connecting room for your family: 2 separate double rooms with same bathroom.
In this case your family had more privacy in each rooms!

We wish to welcome you in other occasion, why not, in summer?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hasselt, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

This hotel is max 3* worth. We stayed at a triple room with 3 adults. The room was very small and situated on the busy street-side (noisy) and the 3th bed was a sleep-sofa (very bad for your back...). After complaining about this we received 3 days later a family room for the same price. This room was bigger but the 3th bed was also horrible!

Breakfast was very basic, dinner was good with helpfull and friendly male staff (female staff wasn't that friendly).

Welness accomodation was old fashion, turkish steam bath was not working (cold).

Positive : nearby lifts, slopes and ski bus stop!

We wouldn't recommend this hotel to our friends!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Veerke001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amerikan_11, Responsabile reception at Hotel Amerikan, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
We are very apologize to read your complaint to us, specially because you didn't complain to us at your departure!

you booked a triple room, for this reason we didn't garanted to you a suite bigger and comfortable!
Just we had the possibility to change your room we had move you in a family room without extra charge! pity you didn't appreciate our effort!

Regarding our continental breakfast, normally we offer salty and sweet food, if you had something special request, why didn't try to ask to our staff: waiters or secretary?

Hoping to welcome maybe for the next occasion, in our best solution of rooms, we garantee moreover that you'll find a new Wellness centre! Why don't you coming to try it!! ;)

Greeting from Livigno!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

My son and I stayed at the hotel as a last minute booking last weekend. I choose the hotel in view of the positive reviews on the proximity to a ski lift and a hire shop over the road. Everything was just as described. Great service good food and excellent position. We have booked to go back over the Easter weekend and cant wait.

Room Tip: Suggest that you request rooms at the back of the building and away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pemscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amerikan_11, Responsabile reception at Hotel Amerikan, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for your great review too you!!
just with guest's description: our hotel, surroundings and service can take the right color!
you can help to promove our hotel just with some of your words!!

See you on Easter weekend!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

Just back from a great stay at Amerikan. Great location for families with small children since the easy slopes are very close. Convenient with the ski bus just a few meters from the hotel. Nice relax area in the basement. However often occupied by groups of people who did not leave. Our kids often had to wait for their turn in the jaccuzi. Very nice staff in restaurant. We had a male waitor who was very friendly. Also very good food and great flexibility to accomodate changes to suit our kids - ice cream for dessert every day for example :-) Good choices for breakfast also, much better than what is normally considered as "continental breakfast".

I would definately return to Livigno and Amerikan!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank s049maan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amerikan_11, Responsabile reception at Hotel Amerikan, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you very much for your reviews!!
we are glad to read your satisfation in our hotel and with our staff!!
We'll hope to welcome you in other occasion!!

Greetings from Livigno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Livigno hotels
0.8 mi away
Lac Salin Spa & Mountain Resort
1.0 mi away
Charme Hotel Alexander
Charme Hotel Alexander
#20 of 79 in Livigno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Baita Montana
Hotel Baita Montana
#3 of 79 in Livigno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel Spol - Feel at Home
Hotel Spol - Feel at Home
#14 of 79 in Livigno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
1.9 mi away
Bivio Hotel
Bivio Hotel
#5 of 79 in Livigno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
1.4 mi away
Park Chalet Village
Park Chalet Village
#2 of 79 in Livigno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amerikan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amerikan

Property: Hotel Amerikan
Address: Via Florin 77, 23030, Livigno, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Sondrio > Livigno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 79 Hotels in Livigno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Amerikan 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A wonderful peace and a relaxing atmosphere are waiting you at our Hotel, located in a quiet position in the wide Livigno valley. It renovated in 2015, it offers new rooms as well as a new spa with a swimming pool for relaxation at 360 °. Facilities in the front of the hotel: Amerikan ski-lift connected with the "Carosello 3000", ski rental, ski school, garage, skibus stop, 40km cross-country, ski slope. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Amerikan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing