We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly hotel, in stunning location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Alaska

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Alaska
Ranked #51 of 79 Hotels in Livigno
Renfrew, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Friendly hotel, in stunning location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2012

This is a family-run, fairly basic hotel but very welcoming and in a great location.
Reception and check-out were both fine and you are given a door entry code if you plan to be out after 12; which is pretty likely in Livigno. The town is very lively at night but the hotel is slightly set back so very quiet and with stunning view from the balcony, if you are at the back.
Room has all the basics - comfy bed, good heating and functional (if tiny) shower.
Wi-fi is available but pricy at €4 an hour.
Breakfast was not very good, unless you like cold, soft-boiled eggs and watery orange juice... If you are half board, you have to select in advance from a very limited dinner menu.
Having said that, there are plenty of places to go to eat in Livigno and I'd stay here again for the comfortable room, reasonable price and central location.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lucia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    39
    21
    9
    4
See reviews for
34
25
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2012

Stayed at Hotel Alaska ten nights to first Saturday in January on first trip to skiing destination.
Read reviews prior to visit and had some reservations.....all unfounded!!! Thoroughly enjoyed stay and experience reflected positives recorded in existing reviews.Will concede that allocated room was small but of no real concern to a couple intent on skiing themselves to a standstill!! Wonderful position making all amenities easily accessible, walking or by bus.Found staff be very helpful and friendly. Stay just what the doctor ordered for a hassle-free stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harold P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2012

So, I do agree that rooms are extremely small - and if by accident you are 3 person family, so you need almost learn climbing walls....
But all other things - are excellent - very pleasant and helpfull stuff, excellent location (close to both mountain slopes - Motollino and Carusselo, no need to drive anywhere, all areas can be reached with ski's:)), security, every day cleaning - you can change towels if needed every day.
For the first time we ordered HB in ski resort, and I was a bit worried. I'll say, lucky me, we had such great food. We enjoyed every meal we booked, it was really good and dishes were changing every night. Even we were coming late for dinner, we were always served.
I've read comment regarding cheating - I would say, the service preasure during dinner is really high, so could be that girls just mix something, but management is really keen to solve this. Reccomendation to managers - get guests signature on evening bill (the same way it's done in cruises) in this case all misunderstandings will go away.

Room Tip: some rooms doesnt have balcony, in this case they look even smaller.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SL069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2011

A party of 10 went to the resort on ski trip, 6 of us stayed in the Alaska hotel, 4single guys and one couple. The rooms are very basic, but very clean and warm, enough storge space, etc. We had a proper double bed which was a added bonus, as generally its 2 singles joined together. The family running the hotel were very nice, the food again, basic, but had a choice every night, and was tasty, typical ski hotel. The hotel was just outside a bus stop, and with this resort in a valley, the acess to both sides of the mountain was really easy from The Alaska, and also at night, right in the thick of it, with not too far to wlak to get to lively apres ski bars - with Mickeys just across the road. Internet access was limited, one computer and had alot of sites blocked, which was unusual. The onnly draw back, most mainland Europeans, we were only 1 of 2 english speaking groups, the other a quiet couple, and the staff's english not great, but enough to get by. If its cheap cheerful and basic your after,this place is perfect :)

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maryandcahal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nofit
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2011

We stayed in the Alaska hotel for one week. It is a nice accommodating hotel. Rooms and public areas are clean. The room we got was very small, but well maintained. It is located in the center of town, near everything and just by the bus station. If you want to go on foot to the slopes it will take you a 5 minutes walk. It is a nice hotel if you just want a reasonable place to sleep and eat breakfast and dinner. The dinner was tasty and nice - they change the menu every day (each morning you have to choose, for dinner, from three options). beverages (including water) in dinner is an extra, but very reasonably priced. The TV set was small and old and showed only Italian channels. from other people in our group we heard that Touring hotel (4*) is very highly recommended and also that the food and service in Valeria hotel (3*) were exceptional. Those hotels are also closer to the slopes (but further from the bus station).

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank the_rationalist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2011

The family memebers that run hotel speak very modest english and no german, so you cannot expect to get lots or any insight or any other than basic help or facts about anything.

The espresso coffe they serve is excellent, but everything else in the part of food is very ordinary. We experienced lack of food offer for breakfast one morning around 9, but after saying it to the owner everything was perfect next day.

Rooms are very old, with poor ventilation in the bathroom. There in no sauna or pool or anything else. I think you could get it all in the place for very few eur per day more.

Hotel location, on the other hand, is perfect. Right in the center of the Livigno, 5 minutes walk to the one of the ski areas and just around the corner from the many shopps that sell genuine and very reasonable priced goods, Not to mention that Livigno is tax free zone.

Next time we go to Livigno we would try other hotel for sure.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dancci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2010

Just back from one week's skiing in Livigno.Loved the town and the skiing.Flew from Belfast to Brescia and then endured a 5-6 hour bus ride to the resort.Stayed in Hotel Alaska which is in a great location.Rooms are a bit small and 3 of our party of 4 got bites,presumably from bed bugs.Bathrooms are a bit tired ,but are adequate.The food was average,I thought,but edible.However, the staff were pleasant and helpful.
A great spot nearby was the Bivio-bar/restaurant/night club with an hotel out the back.Would mos def go back to Livigno (in spite of the -----numbing bus journey) but might try a different hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oldfogeybelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Livigno hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Federia
Hotel Federia
#52 of 79 in Livigno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Montanina
Hotel La Montanina
#48 of 79 in Livigno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.8 mi away
Charme Hotel Alexander
Charme Hotel Alexander
#20 of 79 in Livigno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Crosal
Hotel Crosal
#16 of 79 in Livigno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#39 of 79 in Livigno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Ristorante Bait De Angial
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alaska? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alaska

Property: Hotel Alaska
Address: Via Pontiglia 173, 23030, Livigno, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Sondrio > Livigno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 79 Hotels in Livigno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alaska 3*
Number of rooms: 173
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Alaska reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alaska Hotel Livigno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing