We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reasonable choice in Livigno” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chalet Ristorante Gourmet Mattias

Chalet Ristorante Gourmet Mattias
Ranked #39 of 110 Restaurants in Livigno
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $54 - $98
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: Ristorante Stellato Michelin
Prague
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Reasonable choice in Livigno”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Chalet Mattias is definitely a nice place to eat in Livigno. However, do not overestimate it. We were not fully convinced it deserved its michelin star during our lunch. We went for 2 types of degustation menus, the local one and the modern one. I really enjoyed my starter, foie gras variation, but that was about it. The next dish, salmon variation was quite tasteless just like the main tuna dish. I tasted the other main dish as well, lamb, which was better, but it still was not at michelin star level, in my opinion.

We have visited quite a few michelin starred restaurants in Suedtirol, most of them being way above Chalet Mattias in terms of food quality. But it still might be the best choice around Livigno for fine dining.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MartianV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    31
    9
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indaiatuba, SP
Level Contributor
331 reviews
218 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

great surprise in livigno, a small restaurant but great food,i ate a tasting menu it was superb,my perfect egg divine,it must make reservation ,but you will not regret,one of the best meals of my trip.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cto1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Overrated, poor food & terrible service...we couldn't wait to get out!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

We couldn't wait for a 200 euro dinner to end... The choices are only 4 set menus, the cheapest is 54 euros and the other three are 78 each. For a change of one of courses from the fixed menu you pay 8 euros. The rest is extra. Every course was very disappointing, but what was more disappointing than that - the service. No happy faces... no explanation about food and long long waits between the courses. Basically very little afford from the personnel. We couldn't wait to get out.....

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Anna V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauterbourg, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of the best restaurants/cooks in Italy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

Matthias definitly belongs to the Champions League of cooks in Italy.

After some years with experiments in molecular and french haut cuisine cooking (both on an excellent level and very interesting) he now reached the top level in improving the traditional meals of Livigno and Italian alps to absolute perfectness. Paired with an high level of creativity he creates innovative meals and tastes which have their roots in the local tradition.

The taste is very fine tuned without big show elements. The wine cellar is excellent. You always get for every meal a wine suggestion with perfect fit (by glas! They even had the Solaia from Antinori on a "by glas" basis).

This January Matthias had even an excellent menu fitting to Whisky! Creativity and tasting experience at the highest level!

We know the meals of Matthias since 2005 and had every time the perfect consistence and taste. That even makes the very positive difference to big restaurants with 2 or 3 Michelin stars, where the quality sometimes fluctuates.

The service is allways perfect and friendly. The atmosphere relaxed for enjoying the excellent meals. No "chi chi" or overdone "Silver" show like in some Michelin star restaurants.

Chalet Matthias is worth a long trip to Livigno (nice town for tax free shoping by the way!). Do not miss it!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HSch_France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
70 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Quite nice place with great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

We have been here second time and both visits were great. It was about us, food and nice wines. Not poshy, not loud. Just great food. Nice creations not too much, just enough to still feel nice.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Super_Bara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chalet Ristorante Gourmet Mattias also viewed

Livigno, Province of Sondrio
Livigno, Province of Sondrio
 
Livigno, Province of Sondrio
 
Livigno, Province of Sondrio
Livigno, Province of Sondrio
 

Been to Chalet Ristorante Gourmet Mattias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing