We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth driving miles to visit”

Chalet Ristorante Gourmet Mattias
Ranked #41 of 112 Restaurants in Livigno
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $54 - $98
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: Ristorante Stellato Michelin
Thame, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Worth driving miles to visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

Mattias has a well deserved Michelin star. His food is exquisite, full of flavour and not heavy. Our only disappointment this time was that neither the lamb or the beef were on the menu for my husband- his favourite and as a fish eater my choices were limited. However the menu changes with the seasons. Everything we had was superb and the scallops with a touch of chocolate....truly memorable. A genius.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    31
    9
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Phantastic Package (Restaurant and Hotel)!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

Excellent quiet hotel with familiar atmosphere and kindliness combined with a absolute fair-priced gourmet restaurant (wine enthusiasts will be amazed regarding the Italian selection - matured vintages also for fair prices).

The breakfast is delicious & varied (e.g. croissaints, dark/white bread, marmelades, local chees+joghurt+butter, Cappuccino,...) and is not at all "spartanic-italian".

Manuela the "good soul of the Chalet" managing and organizing the hotel, service,... with her positive power since the last years. And Mattias is always open-minded if you have any kitchen-related question (e.g. "how could I realize such a perfect pasta tough?") and he will let you get part of his long-time cooking experience.

We have now been several times at Chalet Mattias (summer and winter time) - we think this is the best and clearest recommendation from our side => see you in 2013.

Enjoy your stay at the Chalet and especially with Manuela & Mattias.

Thomas & Alexandra (worldwide travelers, gourmets and sport-enthusiasts from Stuttgart - Germany)

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TomM1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
78 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

This guy is a genius! Worth at least 2 michelin stars extraordinary wine selection. A real genius with inventive cuisine which combines several flavors.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gerovital
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livigno, Trentino-Alto Adige, Italy
Level Contributor
179 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“A rare gem in the central Alps”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2012

The restaurant is fantastic, Mattias and Manuela are wonderful hosts. Food is refined and excellent. Wine cellar amongs the best I have ever experienced.The traditional recipes from the area "Valtellina" have been re-interpreted in a modern key. Attention to detail and courtesy complete the picture.
Definitely a dining experience!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Emanuele V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chalet Ristorante Gourmet Mattias also viewed

Livigno, Province of Sondrio
Livigno, Province of Sondrio
 
Livigno, Province of Sondrio
 

Been to Chalet Ristorante Gourmet Mattias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing