We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A haven of civilisation”
Review of Hotel Sonne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Sonne
Ranked #1 of 79 Hotels in Livigno
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Stayed at Hotel Sonne for a week with my wife and daughter aged 8. Lady Patrizia overlooks all details and makes you feel splendidly welcome. It was like staying at my grandparents' home when I was a child. The house and staff oozes old world hospitality in a contemporary setting. Choose this hotel if you wish to experience old world hospitality and calm and if you are willing to adopt to the very special atmosphere of being in a haven of civilisation. If you are looking for action or require the freedom of doing whatever you want, look elsewhere. Will we be back? Absolutely.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndersA342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (393)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 393 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2013

We go to Livigno since 1983 and the Sonne hotel was absolutely the best we stayed in.

The fantastic design of the hotel, the great breakfast with fresh fruits, the comfortable rooms, the fireplace that is lit every night, the impeccable cleanliness are all top!
But the friendliness of all the staff makes your stay a real experience: it makes you forget that they do not serve dinner or lunch. After a long trip, the reception is heart warming.

Moreover, this hotel is located in the pedestrian centre so you can park your car at the hotel but in fact you are in the zone for pedestrians.

You can leave your ski's at the heated skirooms with locks but you can also leave your ski's at the ski depots that some shops have just next to the pistes. Since you are next to the piste, the easiest way out is take the skilift and ski to Valandrea so that you do not have to carry your ski's if you decide to go to the other ski area "Mottolino"

We'll definitely go back!

Room Tip: at the back on the second floor you can watch the ski slopes. The first floor rooms have a view on a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed here in January 2013 for a week. The hotel has been recently renovated to a very high standard and is the only green hotel in the area. The owners and the staffs are very friendly, the food was great, although they only serve breakfast. The location is great, right in the town centre, the views to the slopes and the mountains were amazing and enjoying the views while having breakfast was sooo nice and relaxing. You could see what the weather was in the morning what were the skiing conditions before heading out! The owner Patricia was very friendly and always willing to help with anything we may need help with, also the rest of the staff were great.
There is a mini spa with steam room and sauna which was very handy after skiing.
The main shopping street is literally a stone's throw away so is pretty much everything else in Livigno.
Would definitely recommend this place as well as Livigno which is a great small town with a lot of character and friendly people. I love the fact that it is tax free and you end up buying an awful lot of things before you leave, so a piece of advice from me - take the car!

Room Tip: a room with a view to the slopes is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yoana_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Hotel Sonne cannot be faulted at anything. Great reception upon arrival, very comfortable rooms, wonderful breakfast and lovely staff. Such a pleasant experience. Definitely recommended for all visitors to Livigno.

Great ski room with lockable heated ski storage. Ski in, ski out location. 2 mins from ski lifts.

Only recommendation is that perhaps a couple more English tv channels. Only CNN available.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Paola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Sonne-great family hotel in the center of the city. Everything is very close to the hotel, shops, restaurants, ski lifts.
The hotel is very comfortable and modern. It is small, only 16 rooms.
Sonne is the best family hotel we've ever been. And we'd like to come back to this place once again.
all personal of hotel very caring and attentive!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OlgaChouliak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Fantastic Hotel – Owner and Staff
I would like to take this opportunity to Thank ALL the staff at Hotel Sonne.

The hotel itself is very stylish and in a very a beautiful setting with fantastic facilities. but what really gives this Hotel the Edge is the attentive, kind and friendly staff, so willing to please. Nothing was ever too much trouble.

Even when we mentioned having a cocktail, which was not on the menu, before you knew it, ingredients , glasses etc. were brought and we all sat by the fire having our favourite cosmopolitan’s and Margarita’s! Thanks you!

Sally Gavin & Henry Whittaker cannot wait to return next year!

Room Tip: All the rooms are Fab, however we did upgrade to the Panoramic Suite for a treat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We absolutely enjoyed our stay at hotel Sonne! I can say that it is the best hotel I have ever stayed in. The hotel is beautiful and modern with many interesting features throughout (I especially liked the fireplace). The view from the breakfast room was spectacular. The service was excellent and very personal. The rooms were cleaned several times a day. The shower was amazing. Would be nice to have shampoo samples in the room though (there were some in the spa). And would have loved to have a pool in the spa. Also, more meat selection at breakfast would be great. All in all, an absolutely wonderful hotel, I would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ann_2708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Livigno hotels
0.6 mi away
Baita Montana Spa Resort
0.6 mi away
Park Chalet Village
Park Chalet Village
#2 of 79 in Livigno
659 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Spol - Feel at Home
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Lac Salin Spa & Mountain Resort
0.2 mi away
Bivio Hotel
Bivio Hotel
#5 of 79 in Livigno
493 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Concordia
Hotel Concordia
#9 of 79 in Livigno
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sonne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sonne

Address: Via Plan 151/C, 23030, Livigno, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Sondrio > Livigno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 79 Hotels in Livigno
Price Range: $254 - $580 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sonne 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Sonne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing