We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place”
Review of Hotel Sonne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Sonne
Ranked #1 of 79 Hotels in Livigno
Certificate of Excellence
Riga
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very nice place”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Very nice hotel, very comfortable. Good location for the skiing.
Rich breakfast and five o'clock tea.
I would like to say many thanks for the staff.
I'll be back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    15
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
113
179
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Munich
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 17, 2012

We visited Hotel Sonne twice each time for a week of skiing. The second time we were going there we were not only looking forward to skiing and winder joy but to the experience of the hotel itself too. I travel across the world quite often and I visited many luxurious hotels but Hotel Sonne is the only one that gives me the feeling of luxury in every detail and the same time the pleasure of a cozy, warm place where I feel like at home. I am amazed with a perfect combination of expensive materials, rustic, yet contemporary ambiance.

First what you notice is a simple but very elegant and warm interior. Actually, I need to correct myself: first you notice a smiling owners and hotel staff. What comes later only confirms the first impression.

Rooms
We had a standard room for both of our stays. Each stay we got a different room - although the equipment was the same the rooms had different colors. Both very elegant, with wooden furniture which was not the casual “mountain” style so often present in the mountain hotels but very expensive and solid wood with stylish details (like handles made of leather). Bathrooms in standard rooms have showers only but are large and again of a top quality.
The beds are large and have mattress in one piece (so no problem of a separating gap present when two mattresses or beds are put together - annoying if you are with your partner). I loved the bed, it gave me a perfect sleep but this is a matter of a personal preference.

Food
The hotel offers breakfast but additionally there is a nice surprise in the afternoon: 5 o’clock tea accompanied with some snacks of local food and cakes. The selection of breakfast food is sufficient to please every taste, the staff serves café and offers eggs made to order and the buffet includes various types of local food as well as fruits, cereal, dried fruits, nuts & seeds. Personally I also liked the tablecloth nicely matching the style and colors of the hotel (did I mention attention to quality and detail?)

Wellness
The wellness is consist of the wet part (with infrared cabin) and the relax area with a few types of beds. There is a selection of fruits and dried fruits in the wellness.

Summing
Hotel Sonne is one of those beautiful places where you can just sit, do nothing and enjoy life. I recommend it to everybody who looks for quiet and classy elegance. It’s current 1st place on the list of the best hotels in Livigno is justified in every aspect.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lws-Munich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
Reviewed April 4, 2012

It was a real pleasure to spend the winter holyday at Sonne Hotel. The hotel is small, sophisticated and you feel more like in your cottage home then in a hotel. The breakfast is good and the cakes served for the 5 o’clock tea are incredible good and nicely presented. But what really impressed me was the interior design and inside architecture of the building. The expensive hotel rooms are usually nicely furbished but this hotel has such an incredible combination of modern, traditional and expensive materials and furniture that it is obvious that the owners were concentrated on quality rater then saving money. l I enjoyed a lot spending ten days in an exquisite place waking up in my room which was overlooking the slopes

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mirela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2012 via mobile

We just stayed for a short ski holiday 4 nights in hotel Sonne. We enjoyed the hotel very much as it's tranquile atmosphere and attention to detail. The room was just fantastic as the service and breakfast. Avery aspect is thought trough and Designed in harmony. Especially enjoyed the wonderful wellness centre after a day off skiing. Hotel Sonne is perfectly situated between the centre of Livigno and the ski slopes. Seen many close to perfection hotels all over the world, Sonne is perfection!

Thanks for a wonderful time

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ton v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2012

We went to hotel Sonne with very high expectations having read previous reviews on the trip advisor. Our expectations were fully met and even surpased. We have travelled to the best hotel around the word (Europe and North America) and we dare say that hotel Sonne is one of the top 2 in terms of value for money. All of material aspects of the hotel were impecable: good taste, excellent breakfast buffet with home made products, perfect location, ecological design. Most importantly the warmth of the owner, Mrs. Patrizia, and the staff made us feel at home and rendered our stay unforgetable.

We look forward to going back soon!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marianna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gdynia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Very nice people working in the hotel, clean, new , modern rooms, nice breakfast :)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnikoGdynia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 20, 2012

My boyfriend and I spent 7 days at hotel Sonne and couldn't have had a nicer ski holiday. The hotel owners and staff made us feel welcome right from the beginning. The hotel is perfectly located just off the slopes, close to the ski school and the main street. Our room (a suite) was very spacious with balcony and view on the slopes. All materials were chose with taste and gave a modern yet comfortable atmosphere to the room. Patrizia, the owner is the perfect host and is extremely attentive the her hosts well-being, always happy to help.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Livigno hotels
0.6 mi away
Park Chalet Village
Park Chalet Village
#2 of 79 in Livigno
606 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Baita Montana
Hotel Baita Montana
#3 of 79 in Livigno
497 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lac Salin Spa & Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bivio Hotel
Bivio Hotel
#5 of 79 in Livigno
447 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Spol - Feel at Home
0.8 mi away
Charme Hotel Alexander
Charme Hotel Alexander
#20 of 79 in Livigno
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sonne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sonne

Property: Hotel Sonne
Address: Via Plan 151/C, 23030, Livigno, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Sondrio > Livigno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 79 Hotels in Livigno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sonne 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hotel Sonne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing