We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Apartment review”
Review of Garni Francescato

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Livigno
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Garni Francescato
Ranked #12 of 47 Livigno B&B and Inns
England
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Apartment review”
Reviewed April 16, 2011

We stayed in one of the Francescato one bedroom apartments. First I must point out that we booked very late and the package was cheap so I can't complain too much but if I had paid the going rate I would have been disappointed. I can only assume the B & B experienced is different.

We arrived after a painfully slow transfer mainly due to the lack of organisation on the tour operators part but that is another story. There was more or less a whole coach worth to check in either B & B or self catering with just the Manager taking us one by one to our accommodation. Charming he may be but there has got to be a more efficient way to book people in after a 4 1/2 hr transfer.
When we finally got into our apartment my heart sank. The living space was small, extremely basisc and dismal with one poorly placed window staring straight across onto another hotel balcony. It had one table and one small sofa bed. We were only a party of 3 if there had been 4 it really would have been very cramp. We took it in turns to sit on the hard chairs with only room for 2 on the sofa bed. We took the mattress off the spare bed in the bedroom and put it on top of the sofa bed at night - again if there had been 4 and someone had actually had to sleep on the sofa bed if would have been extremely uncomfortable. We asked for an extra pillow but despite being charming the Manager never came back to us although we did manage to get an extra coffee mug as there were only two.

The Manager told us he sells all his accommodation for the whole season to a British tour company yet despite installing nice flat screen TV's there was not one English channel - just seemed a strange investment for British guests with no English channels.

The owner has a dog which he keeps outside and it barked when people went past. Unfortunately the dog was right outside our window so our sleep was often disturbed. The rooms were over hot for us with no way of controlling the heat so opening windows made the noise even worse. There was also just a boarded up door between our apartment and another and the noise often felt like our neigbours were in our apartment with us!

I appreciate we were there to ski but it is still nice to have nice surroudings and a good nights sleep when you get back tired plus one of our party was ill and the apartment was a grim place to sit around in. All in all I found the apartment quite depressing and I was glad to leave it.

Good points to be fair.
- The bathroom was spacious with a good shower although the temperature fluctuated wildly so care was needed.
-The apartment was also very clean.
-The safety deposit box was very useful.
- The two bed apartments seemed much nicer.
- Livingo itself was lovely and it was very close to the wonderful Bellavista where we ate most night.
- The owner despite not being very effective seemed very charming.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank merryweather29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    48
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
34
39
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rochdale
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2011

I'd read a number of excellent reviews about the Garni Francescato prior to booking our holiday in Livigno, so I was quite looking forward to seeing what all the fuss was about.

After a three and a half hour transfer from Innsbruck (which is significantly better than the four and half hour transfer from Bergamo), we were dropped outside a fairly unassuming building in the San Rocco area of town. Were it not for the small B & B sign hanging above the entrance, the Garni Francescato could easily go unnoticed. You really do have to keep a close eye on local landmarks when walking home at night or to avoid missing your stop on one of the local bus routes.

It is this low-key, unassuming, and laid back approach that adds to the charm of the Garni Francescato. Having been shown to our rooms, we were effectively allowed to come and go as we pleased for the rest of the week. The rooms were warm, comfortable and clean, with lots of storage space for all of that bulky ski gear. Towels were provided and were changed regularly over the course of the week. The foyer contained all of the necessary literature to help you make the most of your stay in Livigno, and the excellent locker room in the basement allowed you to store your skis, poles and boots after a hard day's skiing.

We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis - you just couldn't fault it. Breakfast each morning consisted of a wide range of cereals, locally produced meats, pastries, breads, biscuits, fruit, tea, coffee, chocolate and juices. I'd read somewhere that you were able to order a cooked breakfast if you wanted one, but there really was no need to. The choice and quality of the food was excellent.

The Garni Francescato occupies a superb position in the centre of the San Rocco area of town. Located directly opposite Bellavista, one the best value for money restaurants I've ever eaten in, it's also only 100 metres away from Marco's bar, supposedly one the liveliest bars in town. Personally, I preferred the Homelywood pub (just down from Marco's) for some great apres-ski. However, if you want something a bit more stylish, ski down to the bottom of Carosello 3000 and have a beer or a coffee in in the warmth and luxury of Bar Alegra.

San Rocco offers only a taste of Livigno. To explore the town fully you must make the fifteen minute walk into the commercial centre, where you'll find an array of ski shops, designer clothing stores, boutiques, bars and restaurants. If you're drawn to Livigno by its reputation as a duty-free haven, don't be fooled. The bars and restaurants are good value for money, particularly for a ski resort - a large beer will cost you around 3.5 Euro, a pizza between 6 - 7 Euro and a cocktail around 5 Euro. Likewise, if you're self-catering you can pick up litre bottles of spirits from supermarkets for around 6 Euro. However, if you're coming to Livigno with the intention of picking up a bargain, you won't find one. The place is packed with perfumeries and stores offering discounted or duty-free goods, but in my experience prices were often more inflated than you'd find in England or if choosing to browse online.

The town is very picturesque, especially when illuminated at night. The hustle and bustle of the early evening confirms Livigno's status as a family resort. However, if you're looking for nightlife, then this isn't the place for you. Livigno is eerily quiet after 8pm. I was one of a group of seven who, with the exception of the weekly tour operator organised bar crawl, struggled to find pubs with more than a dozen people in. There are some potentially great bars, such as Miky's, where you enter the bar via a slide, or Benny's, where the DJ will challenge you to find a song that isn't in his collection (the cocktails are great here too!). However, they're all very quiet. We did, however, stumble upon a great little bar called, The Smart Cafe. If you get the chance, pop in for a couple of early evening drinks - as well as the immaculately presented drinks, the hospitality you are afforded, partcularly platter after platter of complementary meats and cheeses, will probably mean that you'll end up staying all night.

Bizarrely, the most disappointing aspect of Livigno is the skiing, which is strange when one considers that this is the main purpose of your trip. There are approximately 115km of runs, which sounds a lot, but is easily skiied out within about three days. The fact that the resort is split into two parts helps to offer some much needed variety, but it's largely a resort of relatively short red runs, which are immaculately groomed and perfect if you want to practice your carving turns, but disappointing if you want to challenge yourself on something longer or steeper.

The nearest button lift to the Garni Francescato is only 150 metres away. This will allow you to ski right to the foot of Carosello 3000 - one of the gondolas which takes you to the top of the mountain. From here you can also ski to within 50 metres of your door at the end of a tiring day.

The biggest compliment I can give both the Garni Francescato and the town of Livigno is that I wouldn't think twice about returning, even though there's better skiing to be had elsewhere in Europe. If you're an adrenaline junkie or you've got your heart set on hammering the nightlife until the early hours of the morning, then its off to Val d'Isere or Sousse Doux for you. However, like me, if you're fed up of getting ripped off in expensive French resorts, if you're happy to spend days trying to improve your technique on wide, perfectly groomed, cruising pistes, and if you're a sucker for freshly made pasta and pizzas, then this is undoubtedly the place for you.

MJA (England)

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank MJA-Rdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hailsham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2011

The hotel was superb. Very clean and tidy, and in an excellent location. The staff were friendly, and I would highly recommend the accomodation. Buffett breakfast offered a good selection.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank southdownpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morecambe, England
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2011

Booked this hotel on a last minute booking and having read the previous reviews expected something good !

Well, not dissapointed, this place was brilliant ..... a lovely location, ski bus 30 seconds away, can walk to the nearby 18 ski lift and ski to main Carosello bubble car in no time at all.

Breakfast fresh and filled me up for the day, rooms lovely, free safe, flat screen TV and thermostat control so you can change the room temperature as you feel fit.

Do not hesitate to book this beautiful and quaint hotel - thumbs up fantastic !!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gazwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letchworth
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2010

My third visit to Livigno, the first time with family, there first snowboarding holiday.

Previously i have stayed further downtown, and enjoyed the bigger range of restaurants nearby. This was my first time up this end of town and firstly can i just say, there really isnt a bad place to stay location wise in Livigno, there are many slopes right on your doorstep wherever you stay and with the free buses you are never far from either mountain.

As for this hotel, excellent friendly staff who were polite, helpful and happy. The breakfast was continental and pleasant, the room was a good size for our family of three with clean facilities and comfortable beds.

We enjoyed our time here very much, we had a couple of powder days, the new spa on the outskirts of town offers very nice treatments and the resort as always is improving every year.

i love Livigno!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beligerent_ghoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2010

We stayed here for a week in February as a base for our snowboarding holiday. The room was big enough for both of us with a TV, a radio and storage space. The bathroom was large with a good shower.

We had taken a normal European plug with us which didn't fit the sockets. We asked at reception and the friendly owners kindly lent us the correct plug for our stay. The owners were always around and extremely helpful.

There was a lot to eat at breakfast. If you want a cooked breakfast you will be charged and it costs about 6 euros. We didn't have the cooked breakfast because there was so much to eat from the continental breakfast. Every morning I ate cereal, bread rolls with meat and cheese and croissants filled with chocolate and custard. I really miss my freshly made cappuccino every morning.

Livigno was very nice. The B&B is 2 seconds from a bus stop which will take you on the red and blue route. If you walk up to ski lift 17 about 10 minutes away you can get on the yellow bus. Ski lift 18 is right next to the B&B but being beginners we mainly walked to ski lift 17 to learn. We did go up on to some of the bigger runs where it got busier on the lifts and gondolas.

There were several ski schools there to book lessons with. They have snowboarding beginner lessons from Monday to Wednesday for 2 hours in the morning which costs around 90 euros. Or you can have a private lesson for 35 euros.

The B&B is in San Rocco which is about a 20 minute walk from town. We ate in town twice and wished we hadn’t. The meals we had a long our street were freshly made and delicious. We ate at Bella Vista, almost opposite, Marcos bar, less than 5 minutes away and several other restaurants along the way. Marcos bar is good for a night out. The tour reps seem to organise a bar crawl on a Tuesday night. We also went to Mikys bar in town just to go down the slide at the entrance.

There are lots of other activities to do in Livigno including skidoos, ice driving, husky dog rides and wine and cheese tasting. We did not have time to do any of these.
A pizza, lasagne or spaghetti bolognase was about 7 euros each. Wine was about 3 euros per glass and about the same for beer. I also got a bottle of vodka for 5 euros due to Livigno being duty free.

The transfer from Innsbruck was fairly long both ways. If they have heavy snow it makes it longer, but we just slept for the journeys due to the early starts.

All in all we had a brilliant time and got real value for money. I would recommend Livigno.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicola041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigan
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2009

The Garni Francescato is a lovely family run bed and breakfast in the San Rocco area of Livigno. Clean and spacious rooms and a fantastic shower. The hotel doesn't look great from the outside, but don't let this put you off. The breakfast was eat as much as you like (continental) and the landlady made us delicious fresh coffee and hot chocolate every morning. The hotel is ideally placed for the buses that take you to any ski lift you like in the area (and they are free). There are lockers to keep your boots/skis in these come at no extra costs, as does the safety deposit boxes. Recommended - a great value hotel

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lolabola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Livigno hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alpi
Hotel Alpi
#18 of 79 in Livigno
260 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lac Salin Spa & Mountain Resort
0.3 mi away
Hotel Astra
Hotel Astra
#25 of 79 in Livigno
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#36 of 79 in Livigno
209 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Federia
Hotel Federia
#62 of 79 in Livigno
168 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Galli
Hotel Galli
#20 of 79 in Livigno
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garni Francescato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garni Francescato

Property: Garni Francescato
Address: Via Saroch 102, 23030, Livigno, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Sondrio > Livigno
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Livigno
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Garni Francescato Hotel Livigno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing