We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice hotel in the alps”
Review of Hotel Astoria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Astoria
Ranked #23 of 79 Hotels in Livigno
Certificate of Excellence
Malta
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A nice hotel in the alps”
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed at this hotel in July 2011. Clean and spacious rooms. A good selection of food was offered for breakfast and dinner. As the place is family run the service to the guests is very friendly and attentive. Parking is available in front of hotel and its free.
Free wifi is also appreciated. Our son loved to visit the basement playroom to play table tennis after dinner.
We would recommend this hotel to families visiting Livigno for adventure or dutyfree shopping as it is close to the shops, small market and the slopes.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marclaMalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    102
    16
    3
    2
See reviews for
134
107
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2011

We stayed for 4 days of mountain biking. The hotel was a great base. They provide everything for the biker. A bike room with all tools you need to do repairs. A bike wash, maps, magazines, etc. The stuff was great, they were asking so many times how they can help. The breakfast was simply big and very good. Dinner was perfect. 4 courses of great taste. The rooms were very clean, spacy and the bathroom newly done. The hotel is about 2 km away from the center. However the distance is ok for walking. Always again.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IleHonig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2011

This is a very good hotel, and we will defiantly come back! But there are some things that disappointed me.

The rooms are small. We had a “three beds-room” and we travelled with friends that had double-, family- and three beds- rooms. All but the family room were small. Most of the rooms have access to a balcony. Some of them you have to share with two more rooms. That is not very private as lots of guests use the balcony as a smoking area. All the rooms have wall-to-wall carpets. I would have loved wood floor. It also would have been very nice with a small fridge in the room.

The qualities of the beds were not for Scandinavians. The beds are hard and the pillows remind me more of bags of sand than pillows (you find these pillows all over Italy). The beds and bedding is much nicer in Austria and Switzerland. We did ask for softer pillows. All except one was taken. The last one they promised that they would send up to our room, but that did not happened.

The breakfast was very good! The dinner was ok. It was the secondi and desserts I would have liked to be better. But they really tried to accommodate every special need. And there is plenty of food! You will not go hungry.

Overall it’s a very nice place for families, and good value for the money. We were a group of three families and we all said that we like to come back!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CQB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poznan
1 review
Reviewed February 17, 2011

Warm, cosy and comfortable rooms. Very good food and service. Fantastic location. Strongly recommendable

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank POZ_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viborg, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 6, 2011

As a family of four, including our two grovn up sons, vi spent the last week of January at Hotel Astoria, to skii and to celebrate my husbands 60. birthday . And it was a fantastic week!! The hotel is so cozy, familiar, and calm, and the rooms are nice, comfortable and with a perfect size and beautiful view to the mountains. The mood is relaxed, and the staff is extremely helpful, serviceminded and friendly. And the kitchen and the food is fantastic, every meal is of an extraordinary high quality, always Italian dishes, very often very lokal food. And we were helpfully guided to know what the dishes consisted. The location of the hotel could not be more perfect, beeing very close to the pistes and 3 - 4 lifts, and you can skii right up to the hotel. Our family agreed, that it is the best hotel we have ever stayed at.

Aase Albæk, Denmark

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank albaek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2011

I must admit that after seeing the pictures on the Hotel's website I was initially sceptic and not really impressed. It looked a bit run down, but let me reassure you that despite the hotel not being one of the most modern hotels, it has several factors which would want you stay there. Ok, maybe it could do with some refurbishing but after you'll spend nearly a week there, you realise that those factors are no longer important.

Owners and Staff: Lets start with the owners. Very friendly and always trying to help. You can immediately feel that it is a family run hotel where people get out of their way to help you. The staff is absolutly amazing....Always offering to help and they really pay attention to details. They always knew what we needed before we even said it. We travelled with two young children which were always welcome and despite being sometimes loud or just 'being children', everyone was genuinely friendly or playing with them.

Food: Absolutly fantastic. I expected a 3 Star dinner and breakfast but instead got more than a 4star treatment. Certain 5 star restaurants could learn something from the Chef...The wine list is very extensive and the prices are not only fair but cheap for some wines.

General Cleanliness: Whenever you are in the lobby you see someone cleaning :) I guess that is a good sign but also because people bring in a lot of dirt, snow and ice from the road...Nevertheless they still manage to keep it clean.

Rooms: We had a cozy room, not too big but big enough to keep two adults and two small children. There is a TV which is not huge but when you tend to fall asleep at 9pm after a hard day's work on the slopes you don't need a bigger one. The furniture as mentioned before is adequate, not new but good enough for a 3 star hotel. Bathroom was relatively big with shower, bide and toilet. Towels are changed daily if needed and its always cleaned.

Parking: Free and just outside the hotel.

WIFI: Free and available everywhere in the hotel

Slopes: Very close, it probably takes you 5 minutes to walk to the next slopes or just catch the free bus outside the hotel which takes you where you want.

All in all, its a very good cozy 3 star hotel, which manages to give a good impression and leaves one with good memories. We will definitely return there when we go back to Livigno.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Master1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Livigno hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Astra
Hotel Astra
#22 of 79 in Livigno
329 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Francesin
Hotel Francesin
#15 of 79 in Livigno
174 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alpi
Hotel Alpi
#18 of 79 in Livigno
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Amerikan
Hotel Amerikan
#7 of 79 in Livigno
434 reviews
0.6 mi away
Charme Hotel Alexander
Charme Hotel Alexander
#20 of 79 in Livigno
316 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Posta
Hotel Posta
#47 of 79 in Livigno
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astoria

Property: Hotel Astoria
Address: Via Saroch 1116, 23030, Livigno, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Sondrio > Livigno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 79 Hotels in Livigno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Astoria 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family management, warmth, attention to detail and constant pursuit of quality are the ingredients for your mountain vacation. In a decentralized location, just a short stroll from the ski tracks, hotel Astoria is the ideal place for a relaxing vacation, far from daily stress.Hospitality, serene atmosphere and comfortable facilities will help you kick back and enjoy your stay in a serene environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing