We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Chalet Ristorante Mattias
Ranked #58 of 79 Hotels in Livigno
Reviewed January 13, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 11 nights over Christmas and the New Year and thought it was excellent. Yes, it is a little way out of town but the walk wasn't difficult and very scenic and, if you don't feel up to it, there is a bus stop just over the road (all the buses are free!). Our room was spotless and was cleaned and tidied every day. It was also one of the quietest hotels I've stayed in for a long time and we both slept very well in our four poster bed. We loved breakfast - my husband thought the freshly baked rolls the best he's had! The new breakfast room is superb, with the most wonderful views. Mattias and Manuela were excellent hosts and, compared to other hotels in Livigno, the price was reasonable. We ate in the restaurant on two nights: again, for Michelin starred food, the price was extremely reasonable, with locally sourced food and interesting combinations. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lesleyojChichester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Chalet Ristorante Mattias
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 103 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2013

The chalet is at the outer edge of the village, far from pretty much everywhere you want to be. Yes, the dinner fare is very good. Does it really deserve a Michelin star? In my opinion - No. The food is very good, but the atmosphere truly artificial. The breakfast was truly pitiful, and continued to be so, despite our suggestions (here, we confirm the other reviwers opinions). The rooms are decent, but, for instance, when asked to use an in-room jacuzzi, the confusion abound - finally when it became operational, it produced a rotten egg smell. The ski / ski boot lockers were not heated overnight. The room temperature dropped at night with a suprising predictibility, and nothing could be done about it. We travel to Italy for its hospitality, and this was a truly un-italian experience.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rafal A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Nice rooms with great athmosphere. Every room has a different style. All big and cosy. No noise! Just relax.

Breakfast on Michelin star niveau! Not easy to find such a breakfast in Italy!

Dinner at the restaurant on a Michelin star level with an absolut fair price. Great tastes! Excellent wine celar!

Complimentary Garage and possibilities to store ski and ski boots!

Room Tip: Every room is really good.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HSch_France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

You really couldnt ask for more. A really lovely Chalet hotel, wonderful people, excellent service and Michelin starred food. This is our 6th visit! and we are going back again this year. Manuela and Mattias are tremedous hosts. His cooking is exquisite and she looks after your every need. The rooms/suites are beautiful in a simple but elegant Alpine style and the jacuzzi bath a joy after a day skiing.While not in the centre of town the excellent snow levels just before Christmas meant it was just a short walk or bus ride to the nearest lift and we were able to ski back virtually to the door. I am quite literally counting the days until we go back. For me it is the only place to stay in Livigno.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely. The four poster is very romantic but we like the slightly bigger suites wi...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Hi, I have been several times to Chalet Mattias in Livigno during the winter season. A part from the star kitchen from Mattias I have to admit that the breakfast being served - yes served and no buffet - has the highest quality I have ever seen during my trips. You get there the best crossants/brioche, homemade jam, high quality cold cuts (ham, bresaola, ...) ... Really outstanding. In case you want to pass a relaxed week away from Livigno downtown trouble but sliding down the mountain at the end of the day directy to the hotel then Chalet Mattias is the first Choice. Unfortunately there is no sauna in the hotel but the quality food is compensating this more than two times. Hope to come back this winter. Kind regards Patrick

Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
Thank Pat P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2011

Of Livigno, perhaps of Italia . Among the top of Europe. A festival of distinctive flavor. One star michelin at extremly affordable price due to the tax free status of the valley.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gerovital
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2011

My family and I spent 6 nights in this hotel during a ski trip in Livigno, and there is truly no other place I would recommend other than Hotel Chalet Ristorante Mattias. The rooms are very clean and comfortable (including the spacious bathroom), with nice antique designs that emit a 'home'-like feeling. Parking and internet is free, and the locker storage for ski equipment is efficient. Finally, the highlight of the hotel is the restaurant. The breakfast is a wonderful table of various breads, cheese, jams, hams and yogurt, while the dinner is a 4-course meal consisting of mouth-watering, *delicious* food, and it alternates every night you stay. Make sure you ask for their wine recommendation to your meals! You will not be disappointed! The best thing about this hotel is probably the friendliness and hospitality of the staff. They are so helpful. My family and I certainly could not have enjoyed our Livigno trip more.
-The Lindkvist family from Sweden.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank The_Lindkvist_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Livigno hotels
1.3 mi away
Baita Montana Spa Resort
0.5 mi away
Hotel Spol - Feel at Home
0.3 mi away
Hotel Camana Veglia
Hotel Camana Veglia
#18 of 79 in Livigno
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Sonne
Hotel Sonne
#1 of 79 in Livigno
391 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lac Salin Spa & Mountain Resort
1.3 mi away
Park Chalet Village
Park Chalet Village
#2 of 79 in Livigno
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chalet Ristorante Mattias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chalet Ristorante Mattias

Address: Via Canton 124, 23030, Livigno, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Sondrio > Livigno
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 79 Hotels in Livigno
Price Range: $157 - $369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Chalet Ristorante Mattias 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Chalet Ristorante Mattias reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing