We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Garni Moon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Garni Moon
Ranked #28 of 47 Livigno B&B and Inns
Dublin, Ire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Super hotel”
Reviewed January 31, 2011

Stayed at this hotel on at least three occasions. Also stayed at three outer hotels in this resort on separate ski holidays before I found this gem. Love the hotel, rooms are spacious, modern warm and comfortable and breakfast is good. Owner is lovely and extremely helpful. Hotel now has wi-fi installed which is a bonus. I will always try to book this hotel when going to this resort and would definitely recommend it to others.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Spongebob_2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    10
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
20
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
83 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2010

Stayed at Hotel Garni moon for 1 week at the end of January as part of a skiing hoilday. Hotel is situated in the town and about a fifteen minute walk to the main area of Livigno. The Hotel is small with around ten bedrooms. Its run by a female owner who is very friendly and helpful!
Rooms are spacious and comfortable. Towels and sheets are changed weekly. Breakfast is contintental style with plenty to choose from.
Overall we were very happy with this hotel and would have no hesitations about returning again.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gastronomy14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2010

Stayed in the Garni moon during our ski holiday, which we booked with Directski. The lady that runs the hotel is very nice and friendly. The place is extremely clean, comfortable and warm. The rooms are basic enough, but a fair size. The shower is excellent - really important when you come off the piste. The beds are very comfortable, but a little on the small side for a single bed - wasn't a problem for us though. Ski storage is located in the basement (there is a corridor off the dining room - so you don't have to walk outside.). The Continental breakfast is fairly good. Drag lift 30 is just 1 minute walk and its a nice gentle one to warm up on in the morning... from there you can ski to most of the rest of the resort. To access motolino ski area you do have to get a bus, but the bus stop is just round the corner from the hotel. The only downside is that the location is a little bit away from the pub that directski and topflight reps actually operate out of, Bennys which is located at ski school. But the bus runs until about 8 in the evening, so not really a problem to get up there... just have a 15 minute walk home after (which is actually nice if its snowing :D) Livigno in general as a ski resort... well its a bit spread out - no one central point unlike some of other ski resorts we've been. Which means it can be hard to meet people during the day. But the snow was excellent when we were there.

Two things I would recommend to watch out for though... the directski meal stop on the way there serves all you can eat for €10, its really just two types of pasta and sauce which is a total rip off for €10. Better off to bring a sandwhich for the journey or hold out and eat in livigno itself when you arrive.

And the Aqua grand wellness park - its €20 per head + €5 for a towel for the basic and €39 + €5 for a towel per person for the exclusive one (thermal spa...) We actually went for the exclusive one because we had €20 off voucher... For handing over €70 it was only ok... It definitely isn't worth 90 for two (they could at least return the towel deposit when you leave). The basic package is essentially a pool with various aqua features and the thermal one is all sorts of fancy showers with hot and cold rooms added on. Its good that you can stay as long as you like... and you need to stay a long while to get your value. Its new and its extremely clean... but it is expensive for what you are getting compared to other similar facilities we've seen.

If you are on a budget, but you do have a few euro for non-skiing activities I highly recommend that you do skidooing instead of the wellness park.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rn1904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milano
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2009

As its name suggested, chalet moon is a relatively small hotel. there are only two floors upground, and one underground. but this gives the hotel the advantage that it makes you feel at home-- there are more or less than 10 rooms available for guests, so the hotel is pretty quiet; the female owner and her family also live in the hotel, and you can find her and talk with her at any time you want; by the way, the owner is extremely warm-- she makes coffee or tea for you every morning, chats with you about your previous experience and gives you suggestion, and even makes a phone call to the restaurant you want to go to for you to make sure wether it is open. the rooms in the hotel are clean and tidy and the owner will make bed and clean the room for you everyday. all in all, i am pretty satisfied with this hotel, except for one point that the bed is a little bit small for fatty guy, like me,haha~

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mencius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2009

Skied in Livigno Feb 09 with my wife and stayed in the excellent Garni Moon.

The lady owner was extremely helpful and pleasant - always smiling and always has time for a chat.

ROOM:
Room was superb, very new, modern and clean. Comfortable bed. Wardrobe and drawers with ample storage for clothes. Large hangers for ski gear. Ensuite with shower and hair dryer. Remote control TV. Desk and chair. Balcony. Rooms serviced every day.

BREAKFAST
Continental - choice of cereals, breakfast juice, bread rolls, cheese and ham, jams, yogurts, cakes and bakes, tea, coffee. Fresh every day. Should be something to suit everyone.

LOCATION
Less that 3 min walk (when wearing boots and carrying skis) to ski area 30 on Carosello side. From there can ski across to other areas on Carosello side.

30 second walk to nearest bus stop (free ski bus service around Livigno) outside Hotel St Michael. Go out front door of Garni Moon, turn left and at the corner Hotel St Michael is on the left.

To get to the to Mottolino ski area take the yellow line bus. It is only a few stops away.

If you have ski school at area 20, or have to collect ski hire near Gallis Pub, take the red line bus.

NIGHTLIFE
The Garni Moon is in a relatively quiet part of Livigno. It's a 10 min walk to the pedestrian area / centre of Livigno. This means that the Hotel is very quiet at night!

EATING OUT
Lots of restaurants close to the Garni Moon. Some restaurants are better value than others. Most restaurants have the menus in Italian, Gerrman and English.

You could do worse than the "Rusticana" which is diagonally opposite the Garni Moon - it has pasta dishes, pizzas and various meat dishes. The couple that own it are comically abrupt, but do provide good service... the waiting staff are excellent, have good english and are very cheery.

Gallis Pub in the centre offers a menu specifically targeted at the English / Irish - full fry available until 11:30, burgers and chips, curries etc available from noon until late.

Our favourite was Ristorante Garden, in Chalet Garden - meal for 2 including dessert and a drink for 40 euro. (Also one of the few restaurants with chicken on the menu).

SKI DEPOSIT ROOM
Heated ski deposit room which is accessible from both outside and internally. Locked every night and unlocked first thing in the morning

OVERALL
We were really delighted with the Garni Moon. It had everything we needed, was comfortable, fresh and new with wonderful atmosphere. The owner will go out of her way to make sure everything is perfect for guests. A real gem!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank zaphod76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2008

Fantastic little hotel! Had a lovely stay here. Beautiful setting. Good breakfast. Wonderful landlady. Rooms were spotless and warm. Shower hot and powerful. Balcony a bonus. I hope to return!

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annadoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 7, 2008

I stayed in this hotel during the easter hols and I was really surprised by the cleanliness and comfort of the rooms. There was plenty of space for all our gear and the shower was just what the doctor ordered after a day on the slopes! The landlady was lovely and friendly and extremely helpful. This was a well-run comfortable hotel and I will be returning.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ree80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Livigno hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel St Michael
Hotel St Michael
#25 of 79 in Livigno
144 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Caravasc
Hotel Caravasc
#62 of 79 in Livigno
34 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Federia
Hotel Federia
#64 of 79 in Livigno
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Garni Costanza
Garni Costanza
#48 of 79 in Livigno
67 reviews
0.0 mi away
Garni Baita Cecilia
Garni Baita Cecilia
#15 of 47 in Livigno
85 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Chalet Moon BB
#23 of 69 in Livigno
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garni Moon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garni Moon

Property: Garni Moon
Address: Livigno, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Sondrio > Livigno
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Livigno
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Garni Moon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Garni Moon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garni Moon Hotel Livigno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing