We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oasis of calm in Lipari”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Tritone

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Tritone
Ranked #11 of 33 Hotels in Lipari
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Oasis of calm in Lipari”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2009

Of the five hotels that we stayed at across Sicily, this was by far our favourite. The setting is unbelievably tranquil -- mountains on one side, the sea on the other, and the hotel itself is set on a hill above the bustle of Lipari in a beautiful garden setting. We both loved eating breakfast on the outdoor patio overlooking the old town and the sea beyond. The service was also outstanding, from the people at reception, to the waiters, to the cleaning staff. The time of year also seemed to make a difference -- we were here in May, so the weather was warm and beautiful (warm enough to swim in the hotel's very nice pool), but there were few crowds in Lipari and the hotel was probably at one-third capacity. We truly felt like we had the hotel to ourselves, and often were the only ones sitting out by the pool.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Astrophil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    43
    20
    7
    1
See reviews for
20
82
7
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2008

We stayed here for three nights in May of 2008 and really enjoyed it. The hotel is a few minutes walk up the hill from the main street/shopping area but you get better views and it's nice and quiet. There is a little grocery store just down the street that's convenient. Would stay again. Staff very friendly.

  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kittymail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2007

The hotel is everything you would expect from a four star superior venue.
The hotel is a ten minute walk from the town which is a pleasant stroll. However, the approach to the hotel is either by a flight of steps, or by a short, but quite steep driveway which may not be suitable for those who have mobility problems.
We stayed in a first floor room, with a sea view and balcony overlooking the pool which was lovely to wake up to every morning. The room itself was extremely comfortable, good sized, quiet with efficient air conditioning, clean and comfortable surroundings with mini bar, flat screen TV and Sky box, safe etc. The bathroom was also very well presented with a whirpool massage bath and a power shower with hot water always available.
The breakfast was also excellent, with a very wide range of food including fresh fruit, yoghurt, boiled eggs, scrambled eggs, cereals, pastries, bread, cheeses etc.
We made our visit to the hotel following the end of the school summer holidays, so often found ourselves with the pool and patio area to ourselves. The pool has some fun features such as bubbling massage beds and jets. It was clean and the gardens well maintained.
The staff are very helpful and will arrange any services you may want. There is an excellent free guide of the Aeolian Islands at the desk which is worth picking up.
The restaurant on the ground floor offers great food although it is a little more expensive than if you popped into town, but great if you arrive at the hotel late and want to eat a decent meal.
We stayed for 7 days but wished we had made it 14. Luxurious, lovely and somewhere quite special.

  • Liked — It was calm, quiet, luxurious yet very near to the hustle and bustle of town.
  • Disliked — Sometimes there were elements of breakfast absent if a large group had been down to eat early
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pressgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2007

What a wonderful hotel!!! We stayed here for 3 nights and we wished we'd booked for longer; we originally booked a superior room but when we saw and found out that for an extra 20 euro we could have the suite we were in heaven
A beautiful location to watch and listen to the gentle 'phut-phuts' of the fishing boats and the tranquility of the pool are some treasured memories
Very good staff (Donato in the restaurant,waiters & reception all exceptional),very clean our only regret was we couldn't eat on the terrace at night as we could for breakfast
A return is a must

  • Liked — professionalism
  • Disliked — nil
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TIMMY2Belfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
129 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2007

Stayed here for 3 nights during a bicycle tour. Sparkling clean, great water pressure in shower, great A/C. Helpful staff. Internet connection in lobby. They say they charge for it, but they never billed me. Nice 10 minute walk to the main street in Lipari, some may consider that too far, but it felt good after eating dinner in town. Pool looked nice, but I was too busy to swim.

  • Liked — Clean, attractive finishings, location
  • Disliked — A little off the beaten path
  • Stayed May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TravelerPhiladelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2006

we initally were supposed to go to the island of panarea but because of bad weather we couldn't get there, so we ended up in lipari. it turned out to be awesome! we arrived at the dock and asked about a hotel and a couple of people recommended the tritone. we were a little leary but had the taxi take us there and what a great surprise! it was beautiful, clean and the staff was super friendly and all spoke english. the location was good, we were able to walk back and forth to the main part of town. our room had a patio that overlooked the pool. the owners also own the filipino restaurant in town which is amazing. it's been around for years and very well known. one night we ate in the hotel dining room and that was very good, too. i'd definitely recommend this hotel and i'd stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank lbusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welwyn garden city
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2006

I stayed at this Hotel as part of my Honeymoon after havind a disaster with the HOTEL CARASCO (read my review).
This place is great, the location is perfect (about 1km away from the centre which can get noisey at night) surrounded by mountains, villas, palm trees.
Its very stylish & extremely clean & the food is just amazing. The pool area is beautiful although the pool is freezing (filled with mountain spring water) but when the temperature hits 40c in August its not that bad.
The staff are superb from the cleaners & Hotel bus driver to the Owner. The waiters & bar staff are very friendly most of them speak either English, French or German (one of them all 3). The hotel receptionists are all lovely & polite & helpfull.
This place is a must for all seaking relaxation & great food in paradise surroundings. They really made our Honeymoon very special indeed. BRAVO e GRAZIE TRITONE.

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
Thank 34-38-82-06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lipari hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Mea
Hotel Mea
#3 of 33 in Lipari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Enrica - Country Resort
0.2 mi away
Borgo Eolie Hotel
Borgo Eolie Hotel
#1 of 33 in Lipari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Aktea
Hotel Aktea
#5 of 33 in Lipari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Arciduca
Grand Hotel Arciduca
#4 of 33 in Lipari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Bougainville Lipari
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tritone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tritone

Property: Hotel Tritone
Address: Via G. Rizzo | Via Mendolita, 98055, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Islands of Sicily > Aeolian Islands > Lipari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Lipari
#12 Romantic Hotel in Lipari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Tritone 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Tritone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tritone Hotel Lipari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing