We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent choice based on other reviews by previous travellers.”
Review of Hotel Oriente

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Oriente
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Lipari
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 19, 2010

We had a room at the back of the garden which was very private with a patio that we used often. The room was larger than any others we had in Sicily. Breakfast was very good. The staff was excellent - the owner, the desk staff and breakfast waiters. All very helpful.

One hint when you are taking the ferry to Lipari, be aware there are two companies with different offices in Milazzo. Through my ignorance we wound up on the Siramar car ferry and missed the one we were supposed to be on since it's dock is out of sight from the hydrofoil dock. In any case there are more sailings with Ustica, whom I would recommend.

Check the Hotel website for lots of pictures.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wrls1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (156)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 156 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2009

Stayed here for two nights on 8/10/09 and 9/10/09. Paid 76 Euros per room per night including breakfast. Booked through Venere website.

We found it difficult to choose somewhere suitable in Lipari and were unsure what to expect given limited information, but it turned out to be one of the best places of the holiday, both for the island and a fascinating hotel.

We had a pleasant and quite spacious room, with an attractive tiled floor. We had our own outside terrace which was very pleasant. Compared to the lengthy staircases in most Italian cities, it was a novelty to be on the ground floor here!

All the walls in the communal areas were covered with an extensive array of knickknacks. There are also extensive gardens with many plants in the middle of hotel.

Breakfast was the best of this holiday. A very extensive buffet, including much fruit and cake, with good service.

Very friendly owner. The hotel provides free transport from and to port, which we used when leaving; or it is a 10 to 15 minute walk.

Given how much we liked this hotel, we are surprised there are so few comments on TripAdvisor.

There is much to do on Lipari and the other islands, as well as relaxing in the hotel and town, so this was the one place in Sicily where we really would have like a few more days. We visited Stromboli, boat trips depart midday or early afternoon and return late evening, with or without climbing the volcano, 30 Euros at this time of year, or much more if doing the climb.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin_from_Duffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2009

I can say only positive things about the Oriente. I start from the excellent quality/price ratio.
We were looking for a place from where to explore the islands. We didn't care about having a private beach or a sea-view room, because we expected to be back at the hotel just for sleeping. Therefore, the Oriente was perfect for us. It is located at walking distance from the harbor, the historical center of Lipari and the main street. They have a private parking, in case you go by car. The hotel is extremely quiet. Most of the rooms are immersed in a wonderful garden, with a lot of mediterranean trees and flowers. Our triple room was spacious, the air conditioning was working perfectly. We had a private patio from which one could get into the common garden. There was a drying rack, extremely useful after a day on the sea. The bathroom was small, but I appreciated very much that it had a window! Breakfast was good. The owner may look intrusive, but he speaks english and french (at least) and he was always present at breakfast time. All in all, he was very helpful, as the rest of his staff. As others said, the common areas look like a museum. The breakfast room is impressive. It was fun. I definitely would recommend this hotel, and I hope to be back there soon.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2008

This hotel is truly unique, the owner has filled the place (particularly the public areas) with antique Italian iron tools / other antiques etc. The breakfast room is a very welcoming space, with an old fashioned bar and a collection of books in various European languages. The garden is excellent, lots of shade from trees and lots of individual tables, places to sit and relax etc..

The staff though are what make this hotel outstanding. They were genuinely interested in helping us and getting to know us, very very friendly and helpful.

The room was small but well equipped (Sky TV, fridge, safe etc). The shower was adequate. The room and bathroom were very clean. Considering the price, this hotel is very, very good value for money and has so much character.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BasilManLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2007

Very much enjoyed my stay here. The public rooms are a bit like a museum of Sicilian agriculture, full of farm implements and curios pinned to the walls. Breakfast enormous (most of the other guests were going volcano trekking so they needed it - I just stuffed myself and headed for the beach up the road). Was slightly disconcerted to see what seemed to be some Greek tombs in the garden! There's a burial site the other side of the road and I assume it continues under the hotel. Very centrally located and hotel can advise you on transport links.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChicChantal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2007

We stayed here on recommendation of other travellers and were not disappointed. We had a garden room with a private terrace but there were plenty of seating in the garden area. The rooms were a good size and included a safe and fridge. Bathroom good by Sicilian standards. Breakfast was exceptional by far the best we had in Sicily. The staff were helpful and attentive. Would pick and drop off at ferry port although only took 10 minutes to walk. Public rooms have to be seen to be believed you could be in a museum. Owner takes great pride.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank yorkstravellers0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2007

Booked through Venere based on reviews here.
Had a lovely, sadly short, stay of 1 night - will definitely come back!
Staff was extremely friendly and helpful - we were picked up from the port, and when mentioning on the way we'd like to take a boat excursion to Stromboli that evening were informed that since it's the low season (April), the boat is leaving at about 14 (we had less than 30 min.). Upon arrival, even before checking us in, the front-desk attendant called the tour operator and informed we're heading their way - we rushed to the marina corta (a short walk from the hotel) just to get to the boat on time!
We stayed in one of their garden rooms with a lovely terrace - it was very sad to leave! The beautiful garden is a haven.
The hotel boasts a large eclectic collection of arts and crafts, nominating itself as an "ethnologic museum", which makes for a very colorful and amusing decor (certainly gives you something to discuss over the very hearty breakfast).
The hotel seems very suitable for longer stays - fridge in the room, folding rack for drying cloths in the terrace, supermarket next door. Location is excellent - close to the center, marina and museum.
I'd move in here! (after redoing the bathroom - the shower is somewhat miniature)

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tamika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lipari hotels
0.5 mi away
Borgo Eolie Hotel
Borgo Eolie Hotel
#1 of 33 in Lipari
611 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Aktea
Hotel Aktea
#4 of 33 in Lipari
369 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Cutimare
Hotel Cutimare
#8 of 33 in Lipari
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hotel Residence Acquacalda
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mea
Hotel Mea
#5 of 33 in Lipari
525 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Amarea
Hotel Amarea
#1 of 2 in Canneto di Lipari
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oriente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oriente

Address: Via Guglielmo Marconi 35, 98055, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Islands of Sicily > Aeolian Islands > Lipari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Lipari
Price Range: $74 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Oriente 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Oriente reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oriente Hotel Lipari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing