We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will definitely return...”
Review of Hotel Carasco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Carasco
Ranked #26 of 33 Hotels in Lipari
new york, ny
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Will definitely return...”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

My husband and our two daughters (ages 7 and 9) spent 6 days here in July. It was the photo on their website that sold me....such a stunning location, complete with pool for my girls. It did not disappoint. The owner, Christian, is incredible. Our Italian is minimal, so thankfully his English was excellent! And he could not have been more helpful -- restaurant recommendations, arranging a boat trip, assisting when our 7-year-old got sick (even giving us a new thermometer he had). He went above and beyond, which was so appreciated given that it was our first time in Lipari.
When we arrived, I'll admit we were surprised. The hotel was much larger than we had imagined...and it appeared stuck in time. But I mean that in the best way -- it could actually be a movie set! It had such charm and character. Now, if you prefer new and modern and uber-fancy, this is not the place for you. But if you have come to holiday on Lipari and want to experience something special, you will enjoy this place. The public spaces as well as the rooms are clean and our bathroom had been updated, which was nice. The breakfast was standard but there was a nice selection, which included fresh fruit. It was my husband's birthday and I had asked Christian to set up a special breakfast, which he accommodated, even providing a beautiful tart that they made on the premises. The swimming pool was amazing, but by far my favorite spot was the ocean access off the back of the hotel. My daughters and I swam and snorkeled there multiple times and it was heaven (just watch out for sea urchins on the rocks!). As for the shuttle, it was nice to have on our way to dinner, although we did the walk to town a few times, which took about 10 minutes. Overall, we loved it and will be back again....someday. It was a great spot!

Room Tip: We opted to not do a balcony, and it was fine. We were barely in the room so it wasn't worth th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank positanoinsept
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    80
    49
    44
    36
See reviews for
53
119
13
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 23, 2014

This is an exceptional hotel that is way underrated by tripadvisor. It is a nice walk from the city to here, they also have shuttle service to and from the marina (where the hydrofoil drops you off). The hotel is located on a beautiful property! I actually dined at the hotel with my girlfriend and was pleasantly and the food was delicious!

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view room in the main building. The "suites" are not hat much larger you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Hill, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

This family owned an operated hotel is truly a hidden gem. The dinners at the hotel are better than the restaurants in Lipari. And it comes with an amazing breakfast buffet while you eat overlooking the beautiful blue waters. The rooms are comfy but you hardly spend any time in them because we took a ferry to Stromboli island one day (which is an entire day trip that Hotel Carasco set up for us they have connections with all the lock tour guides) to watch this magical volcano erupt in front of your eyes every 15-20 minutes. There are mud baths in salinas island (which we never made it to) but the local hydrofoil to get to the other islands are super cheap. Hotel Carasco will even make arrangements for you to charter a small boat for a day so you can tour around the island yourself. There are many grottos to explore! The hotels views are breathtaking! The hotel itself is clean, fun for drinks, and has great food! Christian (son of the owner) always makes sure you are happy! And he makes any arrangements for you (and it's half the price of the tour guides in the city of Lipari!!!)

Room Tip: Free breakfast buffet! Save money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

We have been 6 nights in this fantastic hotel. The situation is the Best of the Island, with a great private access to the sea, with a big comfortable swimming pool and all necessary services. Specially I will always remember the great treat we recieved from the workers and from the owners of the hotel helping us with anything we need and providing us help with anything we need. I recommend it 100%

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank noelauto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

We had the pleasure of staying at Carasco which boasts a uniquely beautiful cliff top position, the sea lapping at the rocks below and hills behind make for a tranquil setting. This hotel is not isolated as the stunningly beautiful and historic town of Lipari is only a 10-15 minute walk away.
.
We had an Exclusive room which from the small furnished balcony looked out to the sea of which you could hear, and had views of the town along the coast and mountains. The room was spacious, firm bed, huge wardrobe space, and a bathroom with bath and over shower. Housekeeping every day kept our room spotlessly clean, replacing towels, cleaning the bathroom, making the bed.
The hotel is spacious, providing a huge bar and lounge room down stairs with fantastic views, outside furnished terraces, a huge pool and sunlounge area, plenty of comfortable seating and in Summer an outside bar. Steps lead down to the sea where when the water is warm you can swim.
The style of the hotel is older Mediterranean style, with a charming and spacious feel. The hotel is in excellent condition and as I wandered around I noticed that it was very very clean in every area.
There is a mini bus service, tour information Restaurant (reasonably priced at around 15euro),& continental breakfast. The hotel is reasonably priced at around 150 euro per night per double including breakfast in April.
The staff especially Christian were very helpful and went out of their way to assist and advise me
on day trips, weather conditions and places of interest, and best of all they assisted me in locating my relatives in the Isole Eolie. That's service above and beyond what is expected.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lookingfor7stars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

It was off season a bit and weather was not cooperating so hotel seemed a bit stark, empty and half staffed. One woman told us she was the only guest in the hotel a few days before. BUT...I could staying here in season...it would be wonderful. You can not walk there with luggage...but without its about a 10 minute or so walk to the stores and restaurants. Desk staff was not very engaging...they ignored us when we came to the wrong door...as if we were not there..until we figured out where the entrance was. When I asked about ferries I was told to go in town. You would think it would be a nice service to at least have the schedule for the regular ferries going back to Milazzo....breakfast was subpar. Overall...it is a fabulous location...the pool looked beautiful...the setting is spectacular...and because it was a little off ...the hotel seemed a bit off....oh...and the rooms are NOT soundproof...at all.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djm200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Remarkably good hotel for the price, superb setting, extremely helpful staff across the board, even invited to join in with a staff member's birthday celebrations. Only 10 minutes walk from the centre of Lipari but with a free shuttle if ones feeling a little weary. Good pool, good local walks.

Room Tip: it seems all the rooms have views of the sea, the more you pay, the larger the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank henspeckled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lipari hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Aktea
Hotel Aktea
#3 of 33 in Lipari
341 reviews
0.2 mi away
Borgo Eolie Hotel
Borgo Eolie Hotel
#1 of 33 in Lipari
561 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Enrica - Country Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Mea
Hotel Mea
#5 of 33 in Lipari
479 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Arciduca
Grand Hotel Arciduca
#2 of 33 in Lipari
326 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Bougainville Lipari
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carasco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carasco

Property: Hotel Carasco
Address: Porto delle Genti SNC, 98055, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Islands of Sicily > Aeolian Islands > Lipari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Lipari
#18 Luxury Hotel in Lipari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Carasco 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Carasco, an elegant Mediterranean structure, directly by the sea, is in an ideal position to enjoy, undisturbed, panorama of the bay and ancient acropolis, all a few hundred yards from the small port and central square of Marina Corta. On our already competitive discount prices we offer an additional discount of 50% for youngsters up to 16 years and 15% for honeymooners, university students, scuba divers, and over 60's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Carasco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carasco Hotel Lipari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing