We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hmmm...a little off..but nice...”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Carasco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Carasco
Ranked #23 of 33 Hotels in Lipari
Cambridge
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Hmmm...a little off..but nice...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

It was off season a bit and weather was not cooperating so hotel seemed a bit stark, empty and half staffed. One woman told us she was the only guest in the hotel a few days before. BUT...I could staying here in season...it would be wonderful. You can not walk there with luggage...but without its about a 10 minute or so walk to the stores and restaurants. Desk staff was not very engaging...they ignored us when we came to the wrong door...as if we were not there..until we figured out where the entrance was. When I asked about ferries I was told to go in town. You would think it would be a nice service to at least have the schedule for the regular ferries going back to Milazzo....breakfast was subpar. Overall...it is a fabulous location...the pool looked beautiful...the setting is spectacular...and because it was a little off ...the hotel seemed a bit off....oh...and the rooms are NOT soundproof...at all.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djm200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    75
    46
    41
    33
See reviews for
53
116
13
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

Remarkably good hotel for the price, superb setting, extremely helpful staff across the board, even invited to join in with a staff member's birthday celebrations. Only 10 minutes walk from the centre of Lipari but with a free shuttle if ones feeling a little weary. Good pool, good local walks.

Room Tip: it seems all the rooms have views of the sea, the more you pay, the larger the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank henspeckled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

I've never experienced something like this. Weird animals in the shower in a 4 star hotel. The island is wonderful, old style Italy, amazing. The hotel is dirty, no internet in the room, animals in the shower. Never again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Velimir M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lipari hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Miami Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

This family owned and operated hotel is a TRUE hidden gem in Lipari Italy. The beautiful hotel hugs the whole side of a cliff and has panoramic views of the harbor and ocean from your balcony! The fresh salt water pool which is filtered freshly throughout the day, or go swimming right in the beautiful crystal clear waters below. The staff is amazing, considering that Christian the owners son will make sure that you are nothing but happy during your whole stay! The dining room, overlooking the beautiful water, is fantastic! The menu has different meals every day so longer stays are welcome! I plan on coming back next summer but for longer

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Amber C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Just as we were enjoying breathtaking views from the terrace of the Carasco, the most beautiful boat anchored at the hotel... and suddenly stars coming on to the terraces of the pool; Kate Moss, Fergie among other beautiful friends... we were absolutely taken how this quiet hotel, was welcoming such celebrities with no fuss, just like anyone else!
We love the location, over looking the acropolis of Lipari, it's just unique.
Returning is a must.

Room Tip: most of the rooms have sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leopardo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandefjord, Norway
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Beauty, beauty,beauty....
Breathtaking view, clean hotel with lot of space and a great pool & bath area. lovely town & great atmosphere in The "mainstreet". Amazing location for a vacation. Active vulcanoes on close by Islands. If i had enough money i would like to Spend my "golden" years on this place waking up to that view every day;))

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mariann b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

I had last stayed at the Carasco 10 years ago, and I remembered it fondly. When I returned to Lipari it was of course my first choice. The hotel is in an incredible position, quite unique, and it's pure adventure as you travel down to the very shoreline to start your ascent up the drive to the imposing building, sometimes with waves gently lapping across the road! At night with the town illuminated this is a sight hard to beat.
It has the poise and charm which perfectly befits the uniqueness of the Aeolian islands. It is not a contemporary hotel in any way - and this would be completely out of place in Lipari. The decor and general approach is certainly in keeping with the spirit and history of the island, which puts you at ease and makes you feel completely relaxed as soon you arrive. Lovely pool with great views and pretty descent to the rocks below.
Polite and friendly staff, befitting a family run hotel - the hotel has been in the Del Bono family for years and has passed through the generations, lovely people.
I will certainly return soon, and will definitely not leave it 10 years this time round!

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lipari hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Enrica - Country Resort
0.3 mi away
Rocce Azzurre
Rocce Azzurre
#8 of 33 in Lipari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Mea
Hotel Mea
#3 of 33 in Lipari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Aktea
Hotel Aktea
#5 of 33 in Lipari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Bougainville Lipari
4.2 mi away
Hotel Cutimare
Hotel Cutimare
#7 of 33 in Lipari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carasco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carasco

Property: Hotel Carasco
Address: Porto delle Genti SNC, 98055, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Islands of Sicily > Aeolian Islands > Lipari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Lipari
#15 Luxury Hotel in Lipari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Carasco 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Carasco, an elegant Mediterranean structure, directly by the sea, is in an ideal position to enjoy, undisturbed, panorama of the bay and ancient acropolis, all a few hundred yards from the small port and central square of Marina Corta. On our already competitive discount prices we offer an additional discount of 50% for youngsters up to 16 years and 15% for honeymooners, university students, scuba divers, and over 60's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Carasco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carasco Hotel Lipari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing