We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel had problems”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Bougainville Lipari
Ranked #6 of 33 Hotels in Lipari
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 17, 2010

I took a group of 20 friends on a trip down the Coast and over to Sicily. We had our own bua. We took a ferry to Lipari and stayed at the Bougainville. The hotel gave us some problems with its service. The first was the room they offered our driver after a full say's work. They wanted to put him in an underground room, I believe without windows or TV (they did offer the latter). He refused the room -- justifiably in my judgement -- and, to their credit they remedied by putting him up in another hotel, without charge.
What they did not remedy was their check-out hour. In a resort, they set a check-out hour perhaps the earliest I have ever encountered: 10AM. Our ferry was in the afternoon, but they were unwilling to extend it past 10:30 or 11. My co-organizer suggests they had too few maids to do the rooms. Whatever the reason, the result is highly dubious and prevents me from highly recommending the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NEJE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (404)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 404 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2009

We stayed 2 nights in Hotel Bougainville. Hotel is located a short walk from the main centre of Lipari, but the hotel provides a free shuttle bus service. Hotel recently built and therefore has a clean fresh look. Reception staff friendly and very helpful in arranging ferry departures. Buffet breakfast very good.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harry_Maggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017
Thank diana b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank betina4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Michel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
Thank giuseppe s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Luciana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lipari hotels
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Arciduca
Grand Hotel Arciduca
#2 of 33 in Lipari
359 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aktea
Hotel Aktea
#4 of 33 in Lipari
369 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mea
Hotel Mea
#5 of 33 in Lipari
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Carasco
Hotel Carasco
#26 of 33 in Lipari
360 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Tritone
Hotel Tritone
#15 of 33 in Lipari
199 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Enrica - Country Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bougainville Lipari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bougainville Lipari

Address: Via Balestreri, 98055, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Islands of Sicily > Aeolian Islands > Lipari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Lipari
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lipari
Price Range: $92 - $1,013 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bougainville Lipari 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Bougainville is located in a privileged position a few hundred metres away from the historical centre, from the commercial port and from the beautiful Bay of Marina Lunga, and it is inmersed in a beautiful garden with typical Mediterranean Maquis Shrubland plants. The hotel has 35 large and bright rooms smartly and confortable furnished.The rooms are carefully taken care of down to the smallest details, the wall colours, the pickle-stained furniture and majolica floors evoke a sensation of freshness and relax. It has a wide hall , a well stocked bar and large terraces where you can enjoy delicious aperitifs in a peaceful atmosphere and enjoy the striking panorama. Services: internal restaurant " La Lampara " where you can taste typical dishes of Aeolian and Sicilian traditional cooking; panoramic breakfast room, cocktail-bar, room service, laundry, solarium, baby sitting, free internet point and connection wi-fi ( area hall ) free, private parking, garage, free shuttle bus transfer service in arrival and departure, free scheduled shuttle bus from/to the centre , swimming pool. The hotel has a convention with an external restaurant, same property "Al Pescatore" located in the square near the sea named Marina Corta, connected with a free shuttle service from/to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Bougainville Lipari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bougainville Hotel Lipari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing