We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charm and courtesy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Palais Excelsior Hotel & SPA
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Limone Piemonte
Reviewed February 7, 2012

This charming hotel is beautifully located in the centre of this Alpine village. The service is exceptionally warm and courteous. The amenities include a brand new spa and swimming pool, shuttle service to the ski station, and a good restaurant with a fine list of Piedmont wines. Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Horace4590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (232)
There are newer reviews for Grand Palais Excelsior Hotel & SPA
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 232 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2010

We opted for this hotel for a relaxing weekend break and as no pets are allowed to Organise We had kennels for Our Small dog.Imagine Our surprise to be met at reception by a cat , and to find it has free run of the food preperation and Service Areas Makes nonsence of the " Hygene " explanation .
The restaurant is Excellent , However HAVING purchased an expensive bottle of wine It Was dissapointing to Have The flies removed with a spoon and That the excuse "it is September "
Oveall good hotel , good food and Excellent spa.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank williamBordighera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2010

We stayed here for a four day ski holiday at the end of March. This is a really excellent hotel with great staff that went out of their way to make our stay a real pleasure. The hotel's ski bus service, both dropping off and picking up after skiing, was very efficient and speedy. Our car was stored in a secure garage compartment in the private garage of the hotel. In my opinion, this was well worth €15 a day. The hotel also has an excellent restaurant offering a reasonably priced 'menu' at lunchtime. We were invited to use the lovely new pool, free of charge, in the midst of the excellent new Spa. Limone is a delightful and interesting Italian town with many good restaurants, bars, ski/mountain shops and local food shops many of which offer delicious specialities of the region. The wonderful snow and bright blue skies were the icing on the cake of an excellent short break. I would recommend highly both this hotel and Limone.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DeborahInskip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2010

The hotel has superb facilities. I was particularly impressed with the spa and treatments on offer - the staff were so helpful and friendly, we felt at ease immediately. I can highly recommend a massage! Limone itself is a beautiful small town, steeped in history with lovely restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul_A091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2010

I was amaized with the facility , with the service ...I stayed there only 1 week , but I was soo sorry i had to leave...
I am from Des Moines Iowa , USA .We get use to be treated well here in US , and from expirience i know is soo hard to find a hotel in Italy where CLIENT is treated in such a good way like in Grand Palais Excelsior---
I am talking not only about the front desk assistment , but about restaurant , (FOOD IS AWSOME) , people are all smilening ....happy tp be there :-))
I was in the SPA as well.... I thought i will stay there forever....such a profesionalizm ... All staff was soo well prepared.... just read in my mind what i really need...
I highly recommend to everyone to go Limone Piemone , book only in Grand Palais Excelsior Hotel.... eat in San Pietro Restaurant and relaxs in Le Village SPA wellness center... is all there !!!
ciao ciao :-))
Barby

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank azzurrosogno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2010

Just got back from a 4 night stay at the excelsior. We had an apartment for me, Mrs S, my brother and my four year old daughter. The apartment was one of the bigger ones and was exactly as described on the web.
The hotel is in a fantastic location and Limone is a beautiful Italian small town(pop 1000). It has a small supermarket and a couple of good restaurants and bars (Bugato (sp) and the wine bar on the square are recommendations. It is not a great place if you want to party, a lot better if you want to avoid the party crowd and relax.
The hotel has a great swimming pool and spa but these are expensive. You can use the pool for free if you don't use their robe and take the slippers and towel from your room.
The breakfast is a typical hotel buffet but we didn't want to spend €12 a day so just popped 60m down the road for a coffee and pastries.
We flew in from Cuneo and didn't hire a car. There is a great bus that meets the Ryanair flight that takes you to Limone for €20 return. It might be difficult to park in Limone without paying the hotel charge for use of the car park.
We found we didn't need a car as the hotel provides a great mini bus service which transports you to a couple of runs. You ring the hotel if you are out and they pick you up usually within 15 mins. They only take you to Sole and Mannagio which are the nearest runs and not to Limone 1400 and Limonetta. You can however ski to these places from Sole. Mannagio is run by another company and is great for learners/kids but is not included in the main ski pass. There are ski schools at both places.

A couple of gripes would be that you had to pay for wifi (when will hotels realise that this is just a scam and reflects badly on them?) and for the use of the kitchen (we didn't use it)

In conclusion it was a ideal place for a short break with good service. We got a ski and hotel deal which included a discount at the Bottero ski rental shop. There was an option to buy a package that included dinner and the restaurant looked good and was full and was quite formal.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank snappyandrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2010

I booked this hotel for a ski weekend. The hotel is located in the city center, which is nice as you can walk to restaurants, etc. The down side is that you need to either take the complimentary hotel shuttle to the ski lift (which is ok as the shuttle was always available) or you have a 15 minute walk uphill to the lift.

The rooms are not 3-4 star. I would consider them more 2 star, which is a pity as the hotel has potential. The beds are absolutely ROCK. I am not a big complainer for this but it was unbearable even for me, and we asked for some sort of duvet cover which was placed on the bed the next day and made it "tolerable". Not sure why it was not there in the first place. Very cheap beds beds considering the room rates. The bathroom (actually there was no bath tub) was basic and the shower was tiny and rather cheap with no toiletries other than some basic soap. The kitchenette was basically a locked cabinet which you need a key to use, although you have access to the fridge.

Had to pay 15 extra a day for parking. The parking is a box type garage, but with the rate per night it was excessive for such a small town and should have been part of the room rate.

The breakfast is "ok" but nothing special and we typically had to follow up to find out what happened to the eggs.

The best part of the hotel is the Spa, which is new. The spa is not part of your room and you have to pay 38 eur per person (as a hotel guest) to enter. It is very nice however and worth visiting even if you don't stay at the hotel.

In addition, you have to pay for internet wifi, which is ridiculous for the prices paid.

If I were to come back to Limone, I would recommend staying at the Grand Hotel Principe, which is directly across from the ski lifts, and then go to the spa at the Grand Palais Excelsior. Another option would be to stay at the Touring Hotel, which is directly across the street from the Grand Palais Excelsior, and then use the Grand Palais Excelsior spa.

Another tip for Limone would be to have the hotel book a restaurant in the evening, as it is a small town and can be VERY difficult to get a table as all the restaurants are packed.

If the owner of this hotel reads this, some advice: Totally renovate your rooms, put in very nice bathrooms with top of the line beds and bedding. Have some designer toiletries in the bath Create some better atmosphere in your lobby and build a cool bar. Combined with the spa it would make a great weekend resort. Currently, the rooms and common areas are just not up to par.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JTFBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Limone Piemonte
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Principe
Grand Hotel Principe
#2 of 8 in Limone Piemonte
256 reviews
0.1 mi away
Limone Palace Aparthotel
Limone Palace Aparthotel
#1 of 8 in Limone Piemonte
225 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marguareis
Hotel Marguareis
#6 of 8 in Limone Piemonte
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#3 of 8 in Limone Piemonte
179 reviews
3.6 mi away
Relais del Nazionale
Relais del Nazionale
#1 of 2 in Vernante
277 reviews
0.3 mi away
Piccolo Parco
Piccolo Parco
#4 of 8 in Limone Piemonte
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Palais Excelsior Hotel & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palais Excelsior Hotel & SPA

Address: Via Roma 9, 12015 Limone Piemonte, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Cuneo > Limone Piemonte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Limone Piemonte
Price Range: $78 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Palais Excelsior Hotel & SPA 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An oasis of peace...Your holiday in Limone Piemonte deserves to be remembered as a warm and elegant, able to convey the warmth of home with genuine and friendly hospitality, in a structure with levels of service, professionalism and quality.In summer surrounded by a green garden and winter shrouded in a blanket of white snow, the Grand Palais Excelsior maintains the charm of its Art Nouveau style, without give up all the modern comforts.The attention to detail... good taste is appreciated. Love the details? At the Grand Palais Excelsior is precisely the details to create a form of hospitality so unique and special. Small and large elements come together in harmony to create an environment that conveys an immediate sense of intimacy, well-being, relaxation and extraordinary pleasure ... perfect conditions for your holiday ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Grand Palais Excelsior Hotel & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Palais Excelsior Limone Piemonte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing