We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Getting around Tuscany” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Fortunella

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Fortunella
Ranked #2 of 51 Hotels in Lido Di Camaiore
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Getting around Tuscany”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

Hotel Fortunella is a small, family run hotel near the beach. The buses run every hour. You can get bus tickets and train timetables from the TOURIST INFORMATION in Colombo Street, for the different places. Bus to Pisa is the one that terminates at the Airport and takes 50 minutes to Pisa from Colombo St. Bus to Viareggio takes about 10 minutes from Colombo Street. There you can take the train to FLORENCE (Firenze) The ride takes 1 hour and 40 minutes from platform 6. The train ticket is 9 Euros each way. Bus to Lucca lovely little medieval town you get it diagonal to the hotel and the journey is 1 hour. VIAREGGIO has better transport links, with the train station and different buses.
BARS: SIRENA bar is straight down the road towards the seafront , does breakfast, lunch and cocktails and ice creams. You get 2 bowls of nibbles whenever you have alcoholic drinks.
GIOGIA bar straight down the road, turn right 60 yards from Sirena bar offer light lunches, drinks
with nibbles and the best and cheapest ice cream sundaes. Try the "Copa Amaretto" hazelnut ice cream, amoretti biscuits, amaretto liquor and whipped cream, heavenly, yummy. Hope you enjoy getting around Tuscany

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Alta18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    42
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
55
158
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

Staff at the Fortunella really make the difference!
Everybody at the hotel is really friendly, and this is the first thing you notice once upon arrival at the hotel. The location is great for sea lovers, The hotel was able to recommend some great places to visit , the owners was so attentive, you felt at home.
The room was spacious, comfortable and very clean.
It combines family feeling and high quality standards.
We had dinner at the hotel every night, the food was great! The prices reasonable,
I would definitly recommend the hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank milly m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala, Stockholms Län, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Very nice hotel and staff! Stayed here for 3 nights during our stay in Viareggio. During the days out on the bicycle... Visited a bicyclestore, vineyard and of course Pisa. Thunderstorms when we where in Pisa, so there where NOT the best for us that wanted to take pictures on the Tower!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Per-Anders L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

I only tend to write reviews on hotels that are exceptionaly good or extremely bad.

The Hotel Fortunella is definately the former.

From the moment we arrived we were given the friendliest warm welcome by the whole family who own and run this hotel.

Our room was absolutely spotless which is hardly surprising considering how thorough the cleaners were. A hair dryer . free safe and fridge made the room very comfortable

The food was terrific especially the evening meal that was all "home made " type cooking and staring with a great buffet antepasta.

It is one of the best hotels I have stayed in and would recomend it to anyone.


Thanks to Mr Sorrentino, his son Salvatre . daughter Grazia and to their great waitress Elaina for a fantastic stay.


Graham and Brenda.

Room Tip: Our room was on the front which did get a bit of traffic noise , which didn`t bother me at all and I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank grahamwitton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingswinford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

We have just returned from a week's holiday staying at the Hotel Fortunella. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were spotlessly clean and very comfortable albeit a little noisy at night from the traffic. The food was of a very good quality with a superb buffet breakfast including cereal, eggs, cooked meats, cheese and pastries/cake. The evening meal consisted of an antipasti buffet starter, pasta or soup course followed by meat/fish course and then a dessert.

The hotel is ideally situated for visiting the inland towns and cities and it is very easy to get around on public transport. We visited Camaiore, Pisa and Lucca by bus and Florence by train. The fares for both were very reasonable - 8 euro each way per person to Florence by train.

Lido Di Camaiore is very flat and has a wide promenade which stretches for miles in either direction. There is also a bicycle lane. At the weekend there were stalls along the promenade selling various goods. There are also restaurants, bars, cafes and ice-cream parlours all along the promenade.

We would have no hesitation whatsoever in recommending this hotel - it was excellent value for money and idealy situated for both the coast or exploring inland Tuscany.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DIANE181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

Stayed for a week in Sept and we found this wonderful gem of a hotel. The staff were helpful & friendly, the food was excellent and the location fantastic. The hotel was exceptionally clean and the rooms very comfortable. Salvatore was a super manager and made us feel very welcome and was always helpful. Hotel hire bikes were great and it was lovely to cycle along the long promonade. Easy to get the train from Viareggio and travelled to Lucca, which was a lovely place and Pisa. Train travel very easy to use. We took the Thomson tours for Siena & Florence, both which were fabulous, Ricardo was a great tourguide in Florence. Great bar at the top of the road from the hotel called Sirena and the private beach - which the hotel gives you a discount on was excellent and very clean. We will definately be returning to this hotel in the future. Thank you to all the staff for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mac700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We returned 22.9.12 from a weeks stay at this hotel. Throughout our stay we were made to feel welcome & nothing was too much trouble. Our room was spotless & comfortable; we did find the traffic noise a little disturbing, but we are both light sleepers & used to living in the quiet countryside! Breakfasts were very good; these included cereals, fruits, yogurts, breads, cheese, ham, cakes & pastries etc. Dinners always included a very good antipaster buffet, followed by either a pasta dish or home made soup. Mains always had fish and a meat choice. Dessert choice was limited, ususally icecream, but we did have pastries & tiramisu too. Dinner is served at 7.30pm with no flexibility, but we were quite happy with this.
The hotel is well situated for the excellent beach facilities & access to other shops & bars. Bus stops nearby provide access to nearby towns including Lucca. Trains to Florence are available from Viareggio, & the hotel kindly arranged a taxi to get us there to catch the early morning train.
Overall we enjoyed our stay & found it to be a comfortable base. It offers good value for money & would recommend it to anyone wanting to combine a coastal holiday with the opportunity to visit the lovely cities & countryside nearby.

Room Tip: higher floors at the back or side of the hotel should be more quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ida91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lido Di Camaiore hotels
0.2 mi away
UNA Hotel Versilia
UNA Hotel Versilia
#1 of 51 in Lido Di Camaiore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,018 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Giulia
Hotel Giulia
#5 of 51 in Lido Di Camaiore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
0.9 mi away
GrandHotel Riviera
GrandHotel Riviera
#4 of 51 in Lido Di Camaiore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sirio
Hotel Sirio
#9 of 51 in Lido Di Camaiore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Cirque Club Hotel
Le Cirque Club Hotel
#7 of 51 in Lido Di Camaiore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.8 mi away
Petit Hotel
Petit Hotel
#3 of 51 in Lido Di Camaiore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fortunella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fortunella

Property: Hotel Fortunella
Address: Via Italica 37, 55041 Lido Di Camaiore, Camaiore, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Camaiore > Lido Di Camaiore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Lido Di Camaiore
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lido Di Camaiore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fortunella 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Fortunella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fortunella Hotel Lido Di Camaiore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing