We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Excellent Family Run Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fortunella

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Fortunella
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Italica 37, 55043 Lido Di Camaiore, Camaiore, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 50 Hotels in Lido Di Camaiore
Certificate of Excellence
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Family Run Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We recommend this very comfortable clean & friendly family run hotel, with excellent home cooked food situated 150m from the beach in a very pleasant area.
Public transport very accessible also bicycles at the hotel (free of charge).
This will be our third visit this year, always a pleasure to return to this hotel.

Jean & Anthony, Herne Bay, Kent, uk

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank aav22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    38
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
46
136
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

The breakfast and evening meals were excellent-fresh food with lots of choice.
The location of the hotel is ideal, it is close to the beach but not too noisy.
The staff are very friendly and helpful.
I would strongly recommend this hotel to families and couples.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pollysmother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Having just spent a week at the Fortunella we found it to be great value, welcoming and thoroughly pleasent. Salvatore and Family were most gracious, treating all guests as Family not just a room number. Nothing was too much trouble. Situated in a central area just a short walk to the seafront. The food was home cooked, varied and well prepared. The only regret is that the evening meal is at a set time of 7-30pm. We would recommend this hotel to our friend and family.

Room Tip: side rooms very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank john h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

We have just returned from a week in Tuscany at the end of May. The hotel is a small family run hotel with excellent service and very clean and well kept. The meals (both dinner and breakfast) were really enjoyable.
The hotel is in an excellent location (a small walk down to the beach), and the resort itself is again lovely and clean with a nice sandy beach, perfect for swimining in.
We were also able to do day trips to both Florence and Sienna from location.
We would definatley return to this hotel. It was a brilliant holiday.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Gareth__77UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Just returned from a lovely week at Fortunella Hotel which is a small family run hotel. Room was spotlessly clean, food was excellent and hospitality was superb. Location is ideal for travelling to Pisa, Lucca and Florence by bus or train. You can even hire bicycles from the hotel & cycle for miles along the lovely flat promenade cycle path or weave your way though the residential streets. We would definitely return to this hotel in the future.

Room Tip: Top floor for lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton in Ashfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Stayed at this hotel in may 2012. Found staff very helpful and hotel very clean. Not a fan of the fixed time evening meal but we were aware of this beforehand so was ok. Liked the small fridge in room and free safes. We had top floor and nice views. Salvatore and all his family are most welcoming and make you feel at ease. Only dislike was no tea or coffee facilities in room. Overall a nice neat compact hotel that is value for money. Bus and train services very good and fairly priced. Resort very flat and good for walking. Was a little annoyed buy the pricing at restaurants. We paid 5 euro for a pizza in Pisa and it cost us 6 euros to sit down and eat it. Coffee shown at one price and charged at another because we had milk and when we asked if there was a cover charge some staff would say no then when bill arrived there was cover charge and no sign of staff who said no cover charge.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoyandScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guildford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

My husband and I have just returned from a lovely week in Tuscany staying at the Hotel Fortunella in Lido di Camaoire
A smallish hotel ably managed by the most accomodating and helpful Salvatore (who had superb English learnt in Canterbury!) together with the help of what appeared to be his entire extended family, all of whom were welcoming and friendly..
Our bedroom on the top floor was great. Being on the corner of the building the balcony had a lovely view of the mountains to one side, colourful rooftops to the other and the sea at the end of the road. Faultless.
Our double bed was actually 2 singles made into one but was pretty comfy, although the plastic sheet under the cotton one (the bain of lots of places) did make it quite hot. The duvet was wonderful, possibly duck down? - cool and light but snuggly!
There was a good size wardrobe and a spotlessly clean shower room.
The road, although not busy, was a little noisy at night but by closing the window shutters the problem was soon sorted.
The hotel served a very good comprehensive continental breakfast with cooked eggs on request. Evening meal was again very good with a good antipasta buffet table and then 3 course supper waiter served. My only criticism of the food was the dessert - the daily 'chef's surprise' was not up to the standard of the other main courses - tinned fruit and icecream, but not having a sweet tooth this was not an issue, just did not eat it - too full up anyway from the rest of the meal!
Whilst we were there (late May) the resort, which is a huge flat promenade was pretty dead although most bars and restaurants were open there were not many people around. Considering the enormous amount of eateries it must get pretty busy in the summer, apparently mainly italian daytrippers and holidaymakers.
The beach, which is glorious and vast is mainly privately owned by indidvidual 'clubs' and their cost is pretty much prohibiitve to be able to use them everyday. There was a small public area of beach which is free and although it did not have the showers, bar, loos etc that the 'club' beaches have it was more than acceptable.
We used public transport to get around the area which is very reasonable, reliable and straightforward. Get a bus to lovely Pisa or glamorous Florence or delightful Lucca (my favourite) or a bus into nearby Viareggio (or walk it) and then train to the cities. It is not so easy to use public transport to Sienna and San Gimigiano so we took the Thomson tour- very expensive and pretty poor rep. with limited fluent English and lots of hanging around. On the other hand both towns are beautiful so it was a means to an end.
Finally, go to Tuscany, one of the most loveliest places in Europe, enjoy the sun, amazing cities, towns and villages and fantastic food and wine and do stay at the delightful Fortunella.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank localcaterer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lido Di Camaiore hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Giulia
Hotel Giulia
#2 of 50 in Lido Di Camaiore
4.5 of 5 stars 202 reviews
0.2 mi away
UNA Hotel Versilia
UNA Hotel Versilia
#1 of 50 in Lido Di Camaiore
4.5 of 5 stars 926 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Cirque Club Hotel
Le Cirque Club Hotel
#3 of 50 in Lido Di Camaiore
5.0 of 5 stars 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sirio
Hotel Sirio
#8 of 50 in Lido Di Camaiore
4.5 of 5 stars 237 reviews
0.9 mi away
GrandHotel Riviera
GrandHotel Riviera
#5 of 50 in Lido Di Camaiore
4.0 of 5 stars 231 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Sole e Mare
Hotel Sole e Mare
#26 of 50 in Lido Di Camaiore
4.0 of 5 stars 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fortunella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fortunella

Property: Hotel Fortunella
Address: Via Italica 37, 55043 Lido Di Camaiore, Camaiore, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Camaiore > Lido Di Camaiore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Lido Di Camaiore
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lido Di Camaiore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fortunella 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Fortunella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fortunella Hotel Lido Di Camaiore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing