We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“What a miserable experience” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Dei Tigli

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Dei Tigli
Ranked #5 of 50 Hotels in Lido Di Camaiore
Certificate of Excellence
Dyserth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What a miserable experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

We were booked into this holiday for a week as part of a package holiday and it was a most unpleasant experience. The staff were generally unfriendly and, at times, seemed reluctant to help. We were condemed to eat five evening meals and they were mostly tasteless and virtually the same each evening. The choice of drinks at the bar and at meals was very limited and they even posted a set of rules which we were required to follow. definitely a place to avoid in my opinion.

I find it difficult to reconcile my experience with some of the glowing praise in others - Who wrote them?

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wilkidyserth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    93
    9
    7
    4
See reviews for
92
105
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

My friend and I stayed here end of september. We were supposed to stay in montecatini spa town. we did not book a beach holiday as we live by the sea. We rated it as two star looked nothing like brochure. bare dirty sunbeds on roof no cushions on beds no umbrellas or plants. No veg with meals, salad appeared three times. shower dispenser empty. Gin and tonic 3euros end of week charged 8euros. No fruit with breakfast, no toast pretty poor.
I have been to Italy several times and enjoyed the food this was awful.
There was no warm welcome infact felt a nuisance. Only thing I will say it was clean. The trips made up for the quality.

Room Tip: at least a balcony. But bitten to death
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jeannette d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Center
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2009

Best advice: book in the June - August period and treat yourself to the 'Pensione Completa' (full board). Quiet neighbourhood (just one block from the boulevard guarantees total silence), very friendly staff. Mostly Italians during our stay (good thing: if THEY can't eat well they won't come!). Uncommon amenities like valet parking and free bikes.
Plus: Lido di Camaiore residents are way more relaxed than neighbouring Forte dei Marmi's.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JvdP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2008

We stayed here for 4 days at the end of september 2008 and as the previous reviews have said found it a very friendly,family run hotel.As many of the local restaurants were closed(end of season)we had an evening meal,in the hotel, each night and we were quite pleased with the quality. The price was 20 euros and for this you could have soup,a pasta course,a fish or meat(normally veal)course and finish with a sweet. The house red was excellent at 8euros. As it was the end of september some of the beach establishments were closed but we found plenty of places to sit and relax in the sun,it was in the low 20s degrees C but getting chilly in the evening.We had a great view of the Apuan Alps from our balcony and sat there in the sun each morning.Overall a nice place to stay and this just proves its very valuable to read the reviews on trip advisor before booking.

  • Liked — good sized room/bathroom,lift,ramps,friendly staff,good food
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank forfararab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Mids
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2007

What a brilliant hotel! We booked this for 6 nights based almost solely on price and were really pleased with our choice. On arrival we were given a choice of rooms including one with 2 bedrooms which we took at no extra cost (65 euros between us per night - bargain). It was clean and spacious with a safe, balcony and decent bathroom with hot water at a decent pressure. The hotel staff were polite and friendly - including reception, cleaners and dining room staff. There was a good continental breakfast selection each day and a bar and restaurant available for those who wanted it. All areas were clean and well-maintained. There's a really good sun terace with extensive views towards the Apuan Alps and it's only a few minutes walk from the sea , restaurants and bus-stop for the station etc.

I wouldn't hesitate to stop here again and have already recommended it to several friends as a cheap and friendly base for getting around Northern Tuscany.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and friendliness
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PigeonCoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2007

Stayed here June 2007. Family with children 7 and 9. We had a quad and it was great because there were two separate rooms, one for the kids with two twin beds. Only two blocks from the beach. They have a relationship with a beach establishment where you rent an umbrella and they were very nice. We really relaxed at the beach and walked along the promendate next to the beach which goes for miles. Wonderful breakfast. Extremely friendly and helpful staff. An excellent alternative to Viareggio, it's right next door and we biked in 10 minutes one morning. We would stay here again.

  • Liked — Two Blocks from the BEACH and Great Friendly staff
  • Disliked — No beach view from our room, but we were not inside much so it didn't matter
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank dkfalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2007

Owners were very friendly and welcoming. Rooms were decently sized and bathrooms were clean and functioning. Breakfast was tasty. Location was about 2 blocks from the sea and they had a good deal with a private beach club. Good place to park your car for the night and leave to any place in tuscany for day trips.

  • Liked — nice owners
  • Disliked — thin walls
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank hazeldoydum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lido Di Camaiore hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Giulia
Hotel Giulia
#4 of 50 in Lido Di Camaiore
4.5 of 5 stars 223 reviews
0.5 mi away
UNA Hotel Versilia
UNA Hotel Versilia
#1 of 50 in Lido Di Camaiore
4.5 of 5 stars 972 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Cirque Club Hotel
Le Cirque Club Hotel
#6 of 50 in Lido Di Camaiore
4.5 of 5 stars 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sirio
Hotel Sirio
#10 of 50 in Lido Di Camaiore
4.5 of 5 stars 256 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Fortunella
Hotel Fortunella
#2 of 50 in Lido Di Camaiore
4.5 of 5 stars 255 reviews
0.4 mi away
Petit Hotel
Petit Hotel
#3 of 50 in Lido Di Camaiore
5.0 of 5 stars 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dei Tigli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dei Tigli

Property: Hotel Dei Tigli
Address: Via Roma 222, 55041 Lido Di Camaiore, Camaiore, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Camaiore > Lido Di Camaiore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Lido Di Camaiore
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lido Di Camaiore
#9 Family Hotel in Lido Di Camaiore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Dei Tigli 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Dei Tigli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dei Tigli Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing