We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a miserable experience”
Review of Hotel Dei Tigli

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Dei Tigli
Ranked #12 of 50 Hotels in Lido Di Camaiore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 17, 2011

We were booked into this holiday for a week as part of a package holiday and it was a most unpleasant experience. The staff were generally unfriendly and, at times, seemed reluctant to help. We were condemed to eat five evening meals and they were mostly tasteless and virtually the same each evening. The choice of drinks at the bar and at meals was very limited and they even posted a set of rules which we were required to follow. definitely a place to avoid in my opinion.

I find it difficult to reconcile my experience with some of the glowing praise in others - Who wrote them?

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank wilkidyserth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (271)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Dei Tigli
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 271 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2011

My friend and I stayed here end of september. We were supposed to stay in montecatini spa town. we did not book a beach holiday as we live by the sea. We rated it as two star looked nothing like brochure. bare dirty sunbeds on roof no cushions on beds no umbrellas or plants. No veg with meals, salad appeared three times. shower dispenser empty. Gin and tonic 3euros end of week charged 8euros. No fruit with breakfast, no toast pretty poor.
I have been to Italy several times and enjoyed the food this was awful.
There was no warm welcome infact felt a nuisance. Only thing I will say it was clean. The trips made up for the quality.

Room Tip: at least a balcony. But bitten to death
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jeannette d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2009

Best advice: book in the June - August period and treat yourself to the 'Pensione Completa' (full board). Quiet neighbourhood (just one block from the boulevard guarantees total silence), very friendly staff. Mostly Italians during our stay (good thing: if THEY can't eat well they won't come!). Uncommon amenities like valet parking and free bikes.
Plus: Lido di Camaiore residents are way more relaxed than neighbouring Forte dei Marmi's.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JvdP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2008

We stayed here for 4 days at the end of september 2008 and as the previous reviews have said found it a very friendly,family run hotel.As many of the local restaurants were closed(end of season)we had an evening meal,in the hotel, each night and we were quite pleased with the quality. The price was 20 euros and for this you could have soup,a pasta course,a fish or meat(normally veal)course and finish with a sweet. The house red was excellent at 8euros. As it was the end of september some of the beach establishments were closed but we found plenty of places to sit and relax in the sun,it was in the low 20s degrees C but getting chilly in the evening.We had a great view of the Apuan Alps from our balcony and sat there in the sun each morning.Overall a nice place to stay and this just proves its very valuable to read the reviews on trip advisor before booking.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank forfararab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2007

What a brilliant hotel! We booked this for 6 nights based almost solely on price and were really pleased with our choice. On arrival we were given a choice of rooms including one with 2 bedrooms which we took at no extra cost (65 euros between us per night - bargain). It was clean and spacious with a safe, balcony and decent bathroom with hot water at a decent pressure. The hotel staff were polite and friendly - including reception, cleaners and dining room staff. There was a good continental breakfast selection each day and a bar and restaurant available for those who wanted it. All areas were clean and well-maintained. There's a really good sun terace with extensive views towards the Apuan Alps and it's only a few minutes walk from the sea , restaurants and bus-stop for the station etc.

I wouldn't hesitate to stop here again and have already recommended it to several friends as a cheap and friendly base for getting around Northern Tuscany.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PigeonCoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2007

Stayed here June 2007. Family with children 7 and 9. We had a quad and it was great because there were two separate rooms, one for the kids with two twin beds. Only two blocks from the beach. They have a relationship with a beach establishment where you rent an umbrella and they were very nice. We really relaxed at the beach and walked along the promendate next to the beach which goes for miles. Wonderful breakfast. Extremely friendly and helpful staff. An excellent alternative to Viareggio, it's right next door and we biked in 10 minutes one morning. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank dkfalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2007

Owners were very friendly and welcoming. Rooms were decently sized and bathrooms were clean and functioning. Breakfast was tasty. Location was about 2 blocks from the sea and they had a good deal with a private beach club. Good place to park your car for the night and leave to any place in tuscany for day trips.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank hazeldoydum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lido Di Camaiore hotels
823.0 mi away
UNA Hotel Versilia
UNA Hotel Versilia
#1 of 50 in Lido Di Camaiore
1,165 reviews
822.2 mi away
Hotel Giulia
Hotel Giulia
#3 of 50 in Lido Di Camaiore
287 reviews
822.2 mi away
Hotel Sole e Mare
Hotel Sole e Mare
#30 of 50 in Lido Di Camaiore
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
822.5 mi away
Hotel Fortunella
Hotel Fortunella
#2 of 50 in Lido Di Camaiore
333 reviews
822.1 mi away
GrandHotel Riviera
GrandHotel Riviera
#4 of 50 in Lido Di Camaiore
336 reviews
822.6 mi away
Hotel Lido Inn
Hotel Lido Inn
#10 of 50 in Lido Di Camaiore
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dei Tigli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dei Tigli

Address: Via Roma 222, 55041 Lido Di Camaiore, Camaiore, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Camaiore > Lido Di Camaiore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lido Di Camaiore
#9 Family Hotel in Lido Di Camaiore
Price Range: $78 - $599 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Dei Tigli 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Dei Tigli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dei Tigli Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing