We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Eat here if you like good food, good service and you are very hungry.”

Ristorante La Cantina da Bruno
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $54
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: La Cantina da Bruno, founded in the 1960 by Bruno and his wife Rosetta, has always been governed by the Poli family. Simplicity and passion, and with this combination Poli won their bet, reaching important goals, securing a loyal customer base and never tired of the house specialties. Gianni in the kitchen, Annalisa the pizzeria, Rosetta, the backbone is always present at the restaurant, flanked by daughter Angelita and all the staff are the real reason for the success of this establishment. In the kitchen among the specialties, the world famous Panzerotti with ham and soft cheese, we can find the cut of beef cooked in a wood oven, the Florentine, the typical tordelli di Camaiore, local seafood including Seafood Carbonara the Lighthouse of the Fisherman , delicious Crustaceans Catalan, mixed grills, only to end up with desserts all made in-house. Closed on duty all Thursday and Friday for lunch.
midlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Eat here if you like good food, good service and you are very hungry.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2011

Customer service friendly, helpful and genuine. The food is excellent and lots of it. Menu in Italian, as it should be. Waiter spoke excellent English and was very helpful and helped us choose..

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank MidlandsSixtyish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

876 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    314
    364
    121
    53
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dortmund, Germany
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Food and good service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2011

Our Hotel (UNA) suggested this one to us and it was that good, that we went several times. The pizza is excellent and one of the best we had in Italy. The warm sea food salat as starter you must try - perhaps the best I ever had. The black pasta - excellent. This place looks very low end, but cooking is really good. The service is fast, friendly and very effective and can help in German and English when you get lost in the Italien Menue. The place is busy EVERY night - and you shall book a table if you come later than 19.00 h.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank tradergo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great traditional Italian restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

We have spent 1 week using different restaurants on the promenade which were nice family tourist places to eat but on the Sunday might we found cantena.

This was a different class of meal for the same sort of money we had paid all week. No English menu or speakers but the waiter was very helpful and with a bit of help from google we had fantastic meal with nice ambience. It seemed busy as a pizza take away as well for the locals. Lots of mature Italian families were there for their Sunday night meal. Well worth making the effort to find but it was not too far away from everything

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Eatalotta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandefjord, Norway
Level Contributor
141 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“GREAT!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2011

The place is a must to visit if you are in the neighborhood. The food is excellent and the staff is great. We kept on coming back and after the 4th visit we still were surprised of new exiting tastes of the recommended dishes. Remember to book a table.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Oistein_O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2011

No other English reviews so it shows that this is a secret from us Brits! We were recommended by Tony at the Hotel Europa and they did the first booking. We went twice more after that as we enjoyed it so much. We had tried a couple of restaurants along the main promenade and been charged 55 Euros for very ordinary two courses and a bottle of wine. La Cantina was a little more expensive but we were eating three great courses, a litre carafe of very nice wine for 7.50 Euros and a buzz inside.
It was a Wednesday the first time 150 Italian diners and us, only one waiter speaks English and the menu is only in Italian, if you have no idea of the language a phrasebook is handy! You can order some meats and fish by weight but we just went for standard choice. Recommendations are-- Antipasta, we choose one seafood and one terra (meat based) and the selection of dishes is amazing. I ate mostly different veal main dishes but my partner had terrina manzino con verdura a sea bass dish (I think) covered with vegetables under the grill. Any dessert is good and they will bring you a dessert wine or digestive for no charge. Best fun was being kissed by the matriarch 'boss', the only time in my travels I have been kissed by front of house!!
Tip is to get your Hotel to book if you are not Italian.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank flyingsquad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante La Cantina da Bruno also viewed

Lido Di Camaiore, Camaiore
Lido Di Camaiore, Camaiore
 
Lido Di Camaiore, Camaiore
Lido Di Camaiore, Camaiore
 
Lido Di Camaiore, Camaiore
 

Been to Ristorante La Cantina da Bruno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing