We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good and Really Bad”
Review of Quinta de Santana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Quinta de Santana
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good and Really Bad”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Good - grounds are extremely lovely, pool area very nice, security very good

Bad to Really Bad - first night - my mother-in-law woke up in the morning with bite marks on her arm & legs...we ignored it that day
second night - again my mother-in-law woke up with bite marks, she said she was scratching all night. She did not sleep the 1st or 2nd night.

We lifted up the mattress and there was a dead bug...really big and thousands of ants..the type of ants that bite!!!!!!

We called the front desk and they said they will send someone to vacuum. No apologies no nothing!!!! You would think they would have offered us something, a free night, a free meal, a bottle of wine, something! The worst part is they seem like they were put out, an apology would have been nice.

A week later our bathroom was crawling in ants. All over the walls, floor, bathtub, sink, window sill. Again we called and they seem like they were put out. And again no apologies!

If that isn't already bad, the place is situated very near to a fish factory. During our stay there were 3 days were the smell was so bad we couldn't sit outside or open our windows/patio door. It was really bad, it seemed like sewage. Quite disgusting.

Our unit was very dark and had a terrible mildew smell. We put our clothes in the closet and drawers and we would have to put on our clothes that reeked of mildew. Under the kitchen sink was terrible.

Some solutions for the resort to think about regarding the mildew smell - invest in a
de-humidifier!!

Our beds were rock hard. And the pillows were lumpy, old & smelled of mildew.

We have travelled all over the world so we know that not everyplace is going to be great but this was by far the worst place we stayed in.

That rotten fish stench was really bad. We talked to a maintenance guy there and he said the fish factory as been there forever and why did they build this resort near a fish factory is beyond my understanding.

When we checked out, they took our money and nothing from them, like "how was your stay" or "thank you for staying with us", nothing, just a quick thanks for the money, that's it.

Anyway it really is too bad as Sao Miguel is a beautiful island. Go to the Azores but do not stay here!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank snoots14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    47
    14
    9
    7
See reviews for
46
55
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We liked the place and I am giving 5 stars although it does not deserve it fully. It is so beautiful and great around. This place has special atmosphere and feels the attitude of the island's nature. Our apartment was not in a great condition but it had plenty of space. The apartment had fully furnished kitchen and a second level where was situated the bedroom.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loco_loko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belgium
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

This not as hard to find resort - if you take the time to look it up on the internet, that is - is located central at the north coast, which makes it ease to go where ever you like to go and still be close to the airport when its time to leave.
We had an apartment next to the reception which provided some noise at evening and confused some guest who though our door was that of the reception.
The apartment was new and fully furnished with Ikea furniture, which was nice but I don´t believe in its quality.
If you stay here, I must recommend you two great restaurants : the associacao agricola and o pescador both in less than 5 minutes of your location, See my reviews on both

Room Tip: Try to get an apartment at the back of the property to have less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank degenhard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hingham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
96 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2011

Where else but the middle of the Atlantic for a Viennese bride to marry her Boston groom. Our 1-bedroom apartment (Gladiolas) was brand new with a great view of the ocean in the distance and a lovely, large terrace. There's a large deck around the pool to gather, lovely landscaped gardens, a breakfast room, and free WIFI at reception. It was great bumping into people walking the grounds and getting to know all the guests there for the wedding. There's also a large ballroom on-site which was used for the reception and day-after brunch. San Miguel island is lush and beautiful although it was a bit cool to enjoy the volcanic, black sand beaches. It was fun to drive the winding roads, and you don't have to worry about going fast since everything is so close by. Ponta del Gado has lots of restaurants and a lovely promenade along the waterfront, and the people were friendly and welcoming wherever we went. The extent of my Portugese is "obrigado" (thank you), but we had little trouble communicating.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dennis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Quality of accommodation varies greatly. Some friends had a decent room, but mine was musty and dark. Decor was terrible. Shower was small with a mildewed mat.
Not enough blankets or towels. Administration was only minimally helpful when they could be tracked down. All very unfortunate given the fact that the property itself is cute and has potential

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank younghusband
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisboa, Portugal
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2010

With friends or family, a place fantastic, a wonderfull place to spend some days !

Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank MargaridaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernalillo, New Mexico
Level Contributor
207 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2009

I would disagree with previous traveler's reports. But first, I do want to commend the owners for their hospitality. They are wonderful people who go the extra mile to help visitors. They are the best.

We did not feel that this property was a good value as compared to other places we stayed on the island. The location is in an area where a lot of new development is being done in a very cheap and ugly manner. We did not like the immediate area at all! The price was quite expensive as compared to other places we stayed on the island. The apartment had very garish colors, hot pink, red, yellow, etc and was not at all in keeping with the lovely Azorean decor we'd seen in other lodging.

Also disappointing to us was the condition of the gardens which were in need of tending and loving care. Other places, with far less rates, had much better tended gardens and views. Sorry, won't be back, and just can't recommend at least at these prices.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mandre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rabo de Peixe
14.1 mi away
Terra Nostra Garden Hotel
3.0 mi away
Pedras do Mar Resort & Spa
Pedras do Mar Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Fenais da Luz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
7.2 mi away
Caloura Hotel Resort
Caloura Hotel Resort
#8 of 41 in Sao Miguel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Hotel Talisman
Hotel Talisman
#2 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
6.6 mi away
Lince Azores Great Hotel
Lince Azores Great Hotel
#8 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
14.7 mi away
Furnas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta de Santana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta de Santana

Property: Quinta de Santana
Address: Canada de Meca 4, Rabo de Peixe, Sao Miguel 9600-160, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Azores > Sao Miguel > Rabo de Peixe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Rabo de Peixe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Quinta de Santana 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quinta de Santana - Tourist Apartments are surrounded by gardens providing a quiet and relaxing environment. The apartments (T1 or T2) are equipped with air conditional, telephone and television and have complete bathroom, kitchenette and living room. They are carefully decorated guaranteeing a comfortable and familiar atmosphere. Our guests can delight themselves in the most varied palate in the kitchen of Jo o, restaurant that unites typical and traditional essence to the most exotic international flavors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quinta de Santana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta De Santana Azores/Rabo De Peixe, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing