We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, nice food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ristorante le Vele

Ristorante le Vele
Ranked #21 of 110 Restaurants in Lerici
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The restaurant is centrally located, a few steps from the pier receiving travellers from nearby cinqueterre. Has a modern and covered outside patio where you can enjoy many of the specialties of traditional seafood dishes. Restaurant Le Vele also offers a good variety of modern crudite'and tapas style dishes.
Reignier, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great service, nice food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014 via mobile

We visited as a couple in August. The owner is clearly passionate about the restaurant and him and the staff were very attentive to our needs. The fish was excellent and a good choice of local wines. Recommended.

Helpful?
Thank Bikey_74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simone P, Proprietario at Ristorante le Vele, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
It was a pleasure having you here and transmit our passion to you...

See you soon!

Simone - titolare ristorante Le Vele Lerici
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    60
    22
    6
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

As many of the other review has shared, the food, service, & location are excellent. We were welcomed by Simone, who speaks English well, and offers informed suggestion about the menu. The wine selection is quite good and very reasonable. The entire family makes it a memorable experience. Overall, a wonderful evening in Lerici.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RRSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simone P, Proprietario at Ristorante le Vele, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Thank you so much for your review!
It was a pleasure knowing you and your family: a big hug from us all!

Un saluto dall'Italia

Simone - Owner of ristorante Le Vele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sedona, arizona
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“perfetto”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

There are three outstanding things about Le Vele: The location, the food and the hosts.

The location is right on the main Piazza on the waterfront of Lerici, one of the nicest towns I've ever been to.

The food is wonderful: Freshly made and delicious, using high quality ingredients and prepared with care.

And then there are your hosts. The family that owns and runs Le Vele is as nice as they come.
On our first visit we were seated and served by Simone, an outgoing young man eager to practice his english with us. Simone told us all about the menu, and about his family and the restaurant of which they are so justifiably proud. It was a quiet night, due to the world cup being played, and Simone dropped by our table to chat several times. We even heard about the branch of his family that ended up in Yonkers, New York, fifteen minutes from where I grew up and five minutes from the school where my wife and I met.

We liked Le Vele so much we went back two nights later. It was a bit busier that second night, but Simone still found the time to stop by and chat with us. The food was every bit as good as the first night.

We've been to Lerici three times in the last three years. We've tried almost all the restaurants on the Piazza, several others tucked away up side streets , and a few in San Terenzo as well. We've eaten in nice places with good views and fair food, we've eaten in places with good pizza and lousy service, we've eaten in places where the pizza isn't so good, the service is worse and all you're left with is the view, and we've eaten in a few places where the food is very good but the view is of an alley.

What can I say? We went twice.
And we'll be back again soon (though not soon enough)
Ci Vediamo, Simone!
and grazie.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank coyote521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simone P, Proprietario at Ristorante le Vele, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you so much for your review: I really appreciated!

Next time you and your family' ll come back, you'll find our new wine shop open: I have a lot of stories to tell you in front of some glasses of good italian wine :)

I hope you'll come back soon! Un abbraccio alla vostra famiglia da tutti noi!!

Simone - Owner of Ristorante Le Vele - Lerici
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pretty restaurant, great service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

We chose this restaurant based on TripAdvisor reviews. We were warmly received (even with three tired children in tow) and the service was excellent. Some dishes were better than others -- the pesto pasta and seafood pasta were excellent, the octopus appetizer less so. The wine, recommended by the owner, was fantastic and very reasonably priced. Recommended!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank afgsocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simone P, Proprietario at Ristorante le Vele, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Thank you so much: a hug to you and your family from Lerici!

Simone - owner of Ristorante Le Vele - Lerici
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem in Lerici”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

We were looking for something a little more authentic than what wasmon offer on the main promenade and luckily we stumbled upon this gem. The menu was simple which mesnt everything we sampled was prepared perfectly and with care; the food was incredibly fresh and tasty and our host Simone was so generous and gracious with his time, this was by far one of most memorsble experiences in Italy to date. Hopefully we will have the chance to return. Definitely worth seeking this place out and supporting this wonderful establishment. Thank you Simone, from Domenico and family from Australia.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dreamyholidays2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simone P, Proprietario at Ristorante le Vele, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Google Translation
Thank you so much Domenico: it's been a pleasure for me to meet you and your wonderful family!

Un saluto all'Australia!

Io e tutta la mia famiglia vi mandiamo un grande abbraccio dall'Italia: a presto!

Simone - titolare ristorante "Le Vele" Lerici
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante le Vele also viewed

Lerici, Italian Riviera
Lerici, Italian Riviera
 
Lerici, Italian Riviera
Lerici, Italian Riviera
 
Lerici, Italian Riviera
 

Been to Ristorante le Vele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing