We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Byron

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Byron
Ranked #18 of 18 Hotels in Lerici
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great Location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Our stay in Lerici was rather last minute and the Hotel Byron was one of the few places available at the time. We chose the Byron due to it's brilliant location, it's literally on the beach and the little town/port area full of vibrant restaurants, gelaterias and cafes are a leisurely 10 minute stroll.
The hotel itself was great for what we wanted. The rooms are clean, spacious, comfortable and more than adequate for a short stay. Although there isn't parking directly at the hotel, the manager directed us to the free car park a couple of hundred meters away near the Venere Azzurra beach.
The staff we encountered at the hotel were really friendly, helpful and spoke very good English, which is a bonus if you only know basic Italian. Breakfast is typically continental with more than enough choice.
Overall, we were pleasantly surprised with the hotel, it's a great place to stay and would definitely recommend.

P.S: We'd like to thank the manager who was extremely helpful upon our arrival in Lerici. The centre of town in summer has ZTL restriction and unfortunately our GPS was struggling to find a way to the hotel without avoiding the limited traffic zone. A quick call to the hotel, the manager assured us we could drive through the restricted zone and he'd simply put our car registration into the system meaning we'd avoid the penalty, something we were unaware of at the time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank danyelle1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    6
    15
    9
    6
See reviews for
7
15
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I arrived in Lerici without booking ahead so just walked into this Hotel in search of a room (had been looking for an hour). The reception was kind enough to allow me to look at the room first and I found it extremely clean and light. It was not at the front but at the back beside the elevator. Breakfast was exceptionally good with a variety ranging from the typical packaged food to fresh fruits and cereal. With my art and renovations background I wanted to give them some decorating advice on remodeling the foyer and dining areas. It would have been much nicer eating breakfast looking out the front windows rather than being tucked in behind the half walls. I have a feeling however that they are making plans to remodel already. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joey0921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

For a 3 star hotel this surpassed all expectations. Cracking location overlooking the sea and close enough to the lively central square but not too close for it to be noisy at night. Hotel and room decor fairly basic and functional but a very large bedroom, which was always immaculately clean each evening when I returned. Room also had a generous sized bathroom and a balcony looking down onto the beach. This is a small family hotel and the staff could not have been more accommodating, friendly and helpful. Breakfast very good; fresh fruit, fresh bread, a good selection of local sausage and ham and unlimited Italian coffee in whatever form I wanted it. I was on a business trip but would not hesitate to take the family (although the slightly low balcony rail might be a bit dodgy for younger kids who like to climb on things). Two slight criticisms: firstly, a lick of paint in the foyer, some more modern fixtures, a few pictures etc, would quickly give this place the feel of a 4 or 5 star. The only other drawback was that the air conditioning is controlled centrally and it had been switched off at this time of year. Only an irritation for one night when the weather was uncharacteristically hot and humid for late September.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

Great location, friendly staff and good size rooms with wonderful views from large balconies/terrace however the hotel is in serious need of modernisation and refubushment.Decor is dirty and very dated.
Has potential to a 4 star hotel but today I would give it a 1 or 2 star.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Curvy_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

This hotel was everything we could desire – seafront with gorgeous view, perfect breakfast with fresh delicious coffee and a lots of varieties of food, very friendly owners and nice clean room. We would stay there again and again!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jane_2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Termoli, Italy
Level Contributor
63 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2008

i booked via phone a double room in this hotel, but the evening before arrival i received a call from my roomate who had high fever, so it was impossibe for her to come. Then i called the hotel letting them know the situation and they assured me i would have had a discount on the room rate.

Next day i went to the hotel and i was rudely said that the price were fixed, so i had to pay the whole rate, even if i was alone. However the room is confortable, but there is absolutely no possibility to shade the room from outside light, just a light curtain.
Breakfast was ok, even if the room is quite shabby.

  • Liked — Panorama
  • Disliked — Price
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Domenico D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lerici hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Florida Lerici
Hotel Florida Lerici
#1 of 18 in Lerici
4.5 of 5 stars 360 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Venere Azzurra
Hotel Venere Azzurra
#16 of 18 in Lerici
3.5 of 5 stars 108 reviews
0.5 mi away
Doria Park Hotel
Doria Park Hotel
#2 of 18 in Lerici
4.0 of 5 stars 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Shelley Delle Palme
0.0 mi away
Piccolo Hotel del Lido
Piccolo Hotel del Lido
#4 of 18 in Lerici
4.5 of 5 stars 92 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Europa
Grand Hotel Europa
#3 of 18 in Lerici
4.0 of 5 stars 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Byron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Byron

Property: Hotel Byron
Address: Via Biaggini no 19, 19032, Lerici, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Lerici
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 18 Hotels in Lerici
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Byron 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Byron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing