We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Best in Lerici” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Doria Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Doria Park Hotel
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Lerici
Certificate of Excellence
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Best in Lerici”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Advantages:

! Easy booking via official web site. Room plans on web site.
! Fast transfer from Sarzana station to hotel by shuttle bus 10 eur.
! Location among garden with Golfo dei Poeti view.
! Kindest and helpful greeting by Marina.
! Room upgrade
! Not large but comfortable room with nice interior
! Tea&coffee in the room
! Every day cleaning
! Gorgeous breakfast on terrace with panoramic Golfo view

In vicinity:
Piazza Garibaldi (main city square)
CONAD Supermercato
Bus stop to Tellaro, Fiascherino
Boats to Cinque Terre, Portovenere, Portofino from Piazza Garibaldi.
Restaurants (we like Ciccillo a mare), pizzeria, small shops.

You need to know:

! Stairs from Piazza Garibaldi. Not convenient with stroller or suitcase.
! Nearest equipped beach on 7-10 minutes walk.
! Standart room not large for two and suitcase

Room Tip: With Golfo dei Poeti view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tatiana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    204
    48
    18
    7
See reviews for
67
270
8
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
73 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

I've stayed at this hotel about a half dozen times and its one of those hotels that feels like home. It isn't perfect: the rooms are small drop the soap in the shower and you'd better get another bar as there's no room to bend over to pick it up. The amenities in the room are sometimes odd and the wifi is of variable quality. One minute great and a few minutes later terrible.

If at all possible chose a room with a view of the harbour and the town of Lerici. Better yet a balcony with a view of the harbour. The view is stunning - especially at sunset. You'll want to set as side at least an hour a day to enjoy the view and all the sounds of the town below. Early evening is a good time - while you're waiting for the restaurants to open (8 pm at the earliest)

As much as I like the view, the food in the hotel restaurant is even better. It's best if you like sea food. This is a fishing village and fish features prominently in the menues of all the mica restaurants. The portions are the right size so you can enjoy a couple courses and not feel overfill (north Americans may feel "ripped off" by the modest portions but unless you're a triathlete and need several million calories a day you are much better off with European portions).

The town of Lerici is quite charming. You can spend a very enjoyable couple hours walking from one end to the other along the waterfront. There is a ferry that will take you to Cinqua Terre.

The driveway to the hotel is a real "wish I'd left the range rover at home". Narrow, long, winding and a very steep descent. I find it very appealing - probably helps that I don't own a range river.

A GPS is also highly recommended - or at least look at the map as the hotel is not especially easy to find.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank H2912412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

I accompanied my partner on a business trip and had an amazing time, the staff made me very welcome and comfortable while I was on my own and I spent many a happy hour sat on the balcony of our room admiring the fantastic view with a book and an expreso. Even the spa bath in the bathroom had a view. Breakfast was superb with a huge choice.The resort is very pretty with a huge bay to walk around. At this time of the year it was a little quiet with some restaurants closed but we still had a great time and even the weather was kind to us.

Room Tip: Room 341 has excellent sea view from balcony, room and bathroom !
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank njmCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorba Linda, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

You couldn't ask for a more beautiful view! Absolutely breathtaking. Bed was comfortable and bathroom was extremely nice with a huge tub. We stayed in a junior suite and had a good sized balcony with a couple of lounge chairs with nice comfortable cushions and a table and chairs. They have a sizable breakfast spread, and we appreciated the fresh juice maker. They have fruits and vegetables available where you can make your own juice to order. It's a nice walk downhill to the harbor where there are many restaurants with good food where you can enjoy that gorgeous view.

That being said, the service at the hotel was not very good.--The directions the hotel sent us were incorrect. We tried to call the hotel for directions because we got lost. I was put on hold for 5 minutes and I finally hung up because it was costing me roaming minutes on my cell phone. There were ants in the room when we arrived. When we told the person at the front desk, he said that it is to be expected because they are out in the country. We asked the front desk about getting to Cinque Terre. He suggested we take the boat versus the train. We asked if the Lovers Trail was open; and he said he didn't know. I would think the hotel should have knowledge of this since I would assume most visitors are interested in visiting the Cinque Terre. Anyway, the boats were not running that day because of the roughness of the water; so we took the train. Most of the ride is through dark tunnels--no views. I would recommend taking the boat, if possible. And the Lover's Trail had been closed for some time. We might have decided to skip the trip if we had known this in advance. We got only one terrycloth robe in the room. This was really Ok because my husband doesn't really care for the room robes; but what if he did want one and it wasn't provided? We tried to call the front desk multiple times; but the line was always busy. The elevator is tiny, especially for a hotel this size--holds three people max. No one offered to help us with the luggage checking in or checking out. We ran out of tissues the first day and they were not replaced the second day. Also didn't get any water glasses the second day. Both mornings we ate there the eggs and some other items at the breakfast buffet were not replenished until a guest told the staff. It's a shame because the area is beautiful. They apparently rely on the beauty of the area to continue to get customers.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

The hotel is very small and cozy. It is the ideal place to come if you want to relax on their terrace or in their garden (which has an incredible view over the city/port).
The only thing that would make this place perfect would be a pool.
The staff is welcoming and prompt with any requests that you may have.
I would definitely go there again for the week end.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AquarelleNice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

This is by far the best hotel in Lerici, it has the best view of the Golfo dei Poeti and it also had a Michelin star restaurant "i Doria" which is amazing, with breath taking views of the Gulf of Poets marina. This is also the same dining room for the defined by Sharon Stone as "orgasmic" and I must agree with her, the breakfast buffet has everything, from American eggs and bacon, to Italian breads, cheese, cold cuts, fresh baked cakes, crossiant (called brioche in Italy) and fresh squeezed juices.....need I go on? There is a private parking area for the hotel and a beautiful patio for relaxing and having a drink while taking in the amazing view. We had a nice spacious room on the top floor with a balcony where we had coffee in the mornings enjoys the amazing view and listening to the church bells...it is so peaceful and at the same time a very quick 5 minute walk down some stairs to the main square of piazza. The only down side since we were traveling from the US and had several suitcases was there were porters to help us with our luggage when we arrived, but there was someone there to help when we left as there are a few stairs to get thru from the parking to the main lobby. The port where you can get tickets to see the Cinque Terre again is a 5 minute walk (i suggest not taking you car to visit the 5 Cities, as the best way is by boat. But in my opinion the nice city was Portovenere (across the bay from Lerici), which is not even part of the Cinque Terre, but the boat does stop there. Overall we stayed 3 nights and it was a great way to end our 3 week vacation in Italy.

Room Tip: Make sure you request a room with a balcony and also on the higher floors for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diego S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowmanville, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is perched above the town looking down on the Bay of Poets. We had one of the suites with a lovely terrace overlooking the bay. As with most hotel rooms in Italy the rooms are not huge but well appointed with a very nice big shower! The terrace is a huge bonus- perfect for enjoying a glass of prosecco watching a beautiful sunset. We were able to take an easy ferry ride to visit the villages of Cinque Terre which made a great day trip. Although this hotel appears to be quite a hike from the main town it is actually a quick 2 minute walk through a back lane( more like 10 minutes back up due to the very steep incline:) ).I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sjcrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lerici
0.7 mi away
Hotel Florida Lerici
Hotel Florida Lerici
#1 of 18 in Lerici
4.5 of 5 stars 377 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Europa
Grand Hotel Europa
#3 of 18 in Lerici
4.0 of 5 stars 277 reviews
0.5 mi away
Piccolo Hotel del Lido
Piccolo Hotel del Lido
#4 of 18 in Lerici
4.5 of 5 stars 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Fiascherino
Hotel Fiascherino
#2 of 3 in Fiascherino
4.0 of 5 stars 111 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Ristorante Cristallo
Hotel Ristorante Cristallo
#1 of 3 in Fiascherino
4.0 of 5 stars 160 reviews
1.5 mi away
Baia Blu RTA
Baia Blu RTA
#5 of 18 in Lerici
4.5 of 5 stars 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doria Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doria Park Hotel

Property: Doria Park Hotel
Address: Via Carpanini 9, 19032, Lerici, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Lerici
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lerici
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Doria Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Located in the historic center of Lerici. The view is wonderful and you will be immersed in the silence and tranquility. We report the presence of many steps to reach the hotel from the parking and other steps from the hotel to the city center! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Doria Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doria Park Lerici
Hotel Doria Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing