We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Florida Lerici
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Lerici
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 27, 2011

We stayed at Lerici Florida hotel in Sept 2011 and though the views and the breakfast (included) were simply wonderful. The staff was friendly. The electricity requires that you insert your room card into the electrical unit to have power. This was not explained and so a trip to the front desk was required. Great place to stay.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for the Ocean front rooms
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wandererJL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (483)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Florida Lerici
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 483 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2011

My husband and I stayed here as part of a 2 week tour of Italy. Our room was on the 2nd level facing the ocean, across the street from the beautiful beach. We loved staying here as opposed to one of the towns in Cinque Terre, it is so beautiful and laid back. You can walk into town easily from here, (10 min), and also walk to San Trazano another small town to the North where there are good restaurants as well. It is a short walk to the ferry that will take you to Cinque Terre. We parked on the street in front of the hotel or in a lot next door with their permit in our window. Yes, the room was dated furniture, carpet was worn, but for the time we spent there it was well worth it. The breakfast was good and staff friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for oceanview room
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 150Riverview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

My husband and I spent two nights at the hotel Florida as part of a two week tour of Italy. The hotel is pretty easy to find and we were able to park right in front of the hotel. The room was very small and the carpets were well worn. Our bed (two twins pushed together) had indentations on each side denoting the fact that the mattresses were pretty old. There was a fairly musty smell to the room and we did have some small ants in the bathroom. Other than that, the bathroom was pretty nice and our view of the mediterranean from our balcony was spectacular. There is a public beach directly across the street from the hotel. The town of Lerici is quaint with a few decent restaurants but everything closes down from about 12 - 2:30 or 3:00. There is a ferry that goes directly from Lerici to the Cinque Terre towns, which is a really nice boat ride. Staff was friendly and english speaking.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Artist1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2011

Based on the Tripadvisor reviews and a recommendation of someone we met in Rome my husband and I headed to Lerici for a beach holiday. I find it hard to understand how people find this area relaxing. We had a terrible experience at the Hotel Florida and ended up checking out after only one night.

1.) The price-180 euro a night is not a good value in my opinion, you can find apartments for much less in Cinque Terre.

2.) The location-We did have a room overlooking the bay with an incredible view. The problem is the balcony to the room (and the whole hotel) is on the main road running through San Terenzo to Tellaro. There is CONSTANT noise from passing cars, motorcycles, trucks until at least midnight and starting again at 5AM. We tried to leave the shades and window open but it felt like we were on a freeway. So, we ended up closing the metal shades and window to partially block out the noise and then the room is totally dark and you could be anywhere.

3.) The service-When I asked if there were rooms higher up or in the back of the hotel the person working the front desk just said no. When we checked in we asked about a bus schedule to get to Tellaro for dinner reservations at Hotel Miranda Locanda and were given a bus schedule (we later realized it was only valid until the end of August and the bus had already stopped running to Tellaro for the evening). When we aksed the front desk person to call us a cab he said "none would come" and told us to walk to Lerici where we were unable to locate a cab, causing us to miss our dinner in Tellaro.

4.) The room-very odd lay-out. Large area with no furniture on other side of the bed looking out onto balcony. As I said, we did not find it at all pleasant to sit on the balcony with a constant stream of loud trucks, motorcycles, and cars going by just under you. The shower was also broken which we didn't even bother to report.

5.) The beach-there is a 28 euro fee/day to use the beach club across the street. It is a small strip of sand. It didn't look very relaxing, mostly because it is right on a busy road. The advertised path between San Terenzo -> Lerici - Tellaro is actually a path along the beach and the main road so is not very relaxing.

We did end up eating dinner in downtown Lerici which has a nice plaza. It might be better if you have a car to stay further down in Tellaro off the main road. Be warned, all the hotels in this area are on the main road so will have issues with constant road noise. We ended up leaving the next day (we had arrived late the night before or I would have left the day of arrival) and took the train to Riomaggiore where we found an amazing 1BR apt (use Edy's booking agency) for 100 euro a night overlooiing the water with windows from the LR and BR. I found both Lerici and Cinque Terre equally touristy (more Italians in Lerici) and would HIGHLY RECOMMEND avoiding Lerici and heading north to Cinque Terre instead where there is beautiful hiking, good food, a free beach.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Melicent P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

My wife and 18 month old son stayed here for four nights and our experience could not have been any better. We were warmly greeted by two ladies at the front desk upon check in. We were then shown to our fantastic room overlooking the bay. Yes, we were fortunate in that we had one of the rooms that directly faced the water but from what I could tell every single room had a terrace that also had a view of the water. The room (baby bed was already in our room) and bathroom were spotless (almost felt brand new), the bathroom and shower were very large for European standards. The maid service was excellent in that they not only conducted their normal duties but also went as far as to clean our wine glasses and leave them beside our open bottles of wine. Our private terrace was perfect for relaxing on and sharing some vino in the early afternoon after a long day of doing absolutely nothing. Breakfast was wonderful and the two girls that looked after the breakfast room were extremely attentive. The hotel offers incredible value and I would not hesitate in recommending anyone stay here if ever visiting Lerici. The hotel itself is about a 10 minute walk from the main piazza of Lerici (or San Terenzo in the opposite direction) which actually adds to the experience as there was noting better than a short after dinner walk along the promenade with a gelato in hand. As nice as the hotel is, it's the staff that make this hotel so special. I wish I could remember their names but the two ladies and one gentleman who worked the front door are simply amazing. They genuinely were interested in what we had to say, were always willing to go out of their way to provide insight on Lerici and the surrounding areas and they adored our little toddler, Lucca.

Lerici itself is wonderfully quaint little seaside village that truly has managed to escape the crowds that are so often present along this coastline. Other than the menus in the main piazza, we rarely ran into any other foreign tourists as Lerici is very popular with vacationing Italians. Lerici is a perfect little village with an fantastic seaside promenade, great beaches (or rock outcroppings) and is easily accessible from the La Spezia train station (approx 20 Euro metered cab ride) which connects you to the rest of Italy.

I'll write a seperate review in the restaurant section but do not miss dining at Pizzeria Tavola Calda "Il Giogo". It is located just up from the main piazza and the food is incredible. One gentlemen runs the entire restaurant (hence he's very busy so don't expect him to chat it up with you) while another one cooks. The atmosphere is authentic but nothing fancy. The pizza is the best I have had outside of Napoli (and I've spent a good portion of 5 of my last 7 summers in Italy) Pasta and salads were excellent. Only downfall is that it can get very warm in the restaurant due to the close proximity of the wood burning forno oven which also explains why you smell like a campfire after visiting here. Avoid the boring restaurants in the main piazza and stop in here. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GoldenBeav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Very friendly staff, helped us a great deal when we had problems getting to Verona on a day the italian trains were on strike. The 2 rooms we had were both excellent, views were out of this world. Short walk to good restaurants. Breakfast was a good standard. My daughter and grand-children used the beach infront of hotel and found it good. My husband and I spent the day at the private beach club that met all our needs. Would love to go back to this hotel and would difinitely recommend to others.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeanne86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

This hotel reminds me of the hotels of my childhood when famlies stayed in hotels for their summer holidays. relaxed, easy, friendly, helpful are some of the words that sum up this establishment. This is the place to stay when you rather want to spend your time on the beach, (directly across the road) eating seafood in nearby restaurants and exploring the Cinque Terra which is close-by and can be accessed by road or a little boat from Lerici's quaint harbour. I found the hotel and town to be an authentic, Italian experience.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ilwolfaardt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lerici hotels
0.6 mi away
Doria Park Hotel
Doria Park Hotel
#2 of 18 in Lerici
609 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Europa
Grand Hotel Europa
#3 of 18 in Lerici
338 reviews
0.1 mi away
Piccolo Hotel del Lido
Piccolo Hotel del Lido
#4 of 18 in Lerici
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Ristorante Cristallo
Hotel Ristorante Cristallo
#1 of 3 in Fiascherino
201 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Venere Azzurra
Hotel Venere Azzurra
#17 of 18 in Lerici
155 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Shelley Delle Palme
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Florida Lerici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Florida Lerici

Address: Via S. Biaggini 35, 19032, Lerici, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Lerici
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lerici
Price Range: $147 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Florida Lerici 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Castellanotti family welcomes you to the Hotel Florida in Lerici, a three star hotel equipped with all the necessary comforts to make your stay unforgettable in “Il Golfo dei Poeti”, the bay wher Byron, D. H. Lawrence, Shelley and Virginia Woolf were once inspired by the surrounding beauty.Each bedroom is well furnished and equipped with a balcony, air conditioning, tv and sky, a safe, a minibar, extra services and the possibility for internet connection. There is also a free internet point down in the reception area.Every morning in the breakfast room, complete with sea view there is a buffet, which offers a variety of both sweet and savoury delights to begin the day with.On the 5th floor one may sit back, relax and enjoy the view from the open roofed terrace, which gives onto the beautiful bay where Portovenere is visible and on an exceptionally clear day more distant islands appear on the horizon.For those who are particularly eager for exercise and enjoy sport there are four tennis courts, a golf course and two swimming pools close by the hotel.If you are travelling with a car, the hotel will provide a parking permit, which is necessary in order to park in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Florida Lerici reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Florida Hotel Lerici

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing